We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rich
Beverley, United Kingdom

Lovely location and friendly helpful staff.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2024via mobile
A lovely location and friendly helpful staff. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Disappointed however with the lack of electrical points in our room and the noise from the street and adjacent rooms. The TV has only one English speaking channel.
Very good quality of food for breakfast and evening meal.
Thankyou to all the staff.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £145
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.8 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £179
  • Expedia.com
    £197
0.8 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Pool
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Algotels
0.8 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Free Wifi
Pool
que colchón, que sábanas y que buen edredón!
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Expedia.com
    £97
0.8 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £149
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from KAKTUS Hotel Volga
View more hotels in Calella
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveller rating
458
221
70
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
458
221
70
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel nui beach breakfast and dinner beach bar half board small balcony top floor pool view evening entertainment train barcelona cava balconies sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 779 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Reception when asked for water, told us it was one euro, we then asked if there wasn’t a free option, he then told us to follow him to the bar as he filled our water bottle with tap water, we then asked if tap water in spain was drinkable and he answered no, then rushed us out the bar saying “if you want the good water, you pay 1 euro”. He was trying to poison us.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Hello, Carmen P:
Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our hotel.
We are sorry that your experience at the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We would like to clarify the misunderstanding with our receptionist, about the water. The water, in the hotel, in Calella and in the rest of Catalunya and Spain is and has been drinkable today and always.

There are many brands of bottled water such as Viladrau, Bezoya, Font Vella, Veri, Solan, Evian, Buxton, Volvic or Nestle Purelife……. all of them, bottled and drinking waters and all of them, with different characteristics and differences in flavor.

The same happens with tap water, even if it is drinking water and complies with the regulations, the characteristics and flavor are different between then. To be different does not mean, not being drinkable.

I think the receptionist wanted to say that the taste of bottled water is more neutral in flavor than tap water.
I assure you, that we have no intention of poisoning anyone, even I think you know it too.

Best regards,
Ana Ruiz
Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Just spent a week at this hotel as we wanted a central hotel near to the Ironman event as we were out there supporting our son and his tri club, we booked this following reviews on this site for location. it was perfect , practically opposite the bike transition, there were plenty of the athletes staying in the hotel , who provided a very early breakfast from 5 am on race day. We booked a week as we wanted to make the most of the last of the sun, the hotel was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, great choice of cooked and cold everyday, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was spacious and clean , the shower was large with plenty of hot water and towels. The hotel wasn’t busy as it’s near the end of the season , the pool area was well kept and access to the bar for snacks and drinks. The train station was a short walk away with easy frequent trains to Barcelona, very cheap and efficient.If you are supporting or competing in Ironman 2024 perfect central hotel

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lovebeachholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Hello lovebeachholidays,

Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation.

We are very happy to know that we have met your expectations during your stay at the Volga Hotel.

Our main objective is to make our guests' experience unique and unforgettable and to this end we put all our commitment and dedication on our part. Especially for this event in which our clients not only enjoy their stay but also must give their best in the competition.

Thank you very much again and we hope to see you very soon,
Ana Ruiz
Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Reception staff super helpful (Bridgette) she really helped make the stay a pleasure and helped with car parking and general stuff to make the stay more easy. We has a jacuzzi room, balcony was big and good for storing bike and bags, Room was a decent size, equipped with a small fridge and coffee machine, hotel well kept and clean, Breakfast was Excellent, lots of choice.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank deniscannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Hi DC,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you felt so comfortable thanks to the attention and kindness of our college Brigitte from the recepcion department. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home.

Please come back to Hotel Volga, we would love to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Ana Ruiz.
Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2023

The hotel had a bad smell, the noise cancellation in my room was terrible, the door to my room didn't work properly, and a random person stepped into my room while I was asleep.

The bad smell was noticeable as soon as I walked into the hotel. It was a kind of musty, mildew smell that made me feel sick. I tried to ignore it, but it was hard to do.

The noise cancellation in my room was also very bad. I could hear everything that was happening in the hallway, and the traffic outside was very loud. I tried to use earplugs, but they didn't help much.

The door to my room didn't work properly either. It was difficult to close and lock, and I felt like it wasn't very secure.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edgar p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Hello Edgar,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the problems you describe. We inform you that we have taken note of this and have shared it with the respective department (housekeeping and maintenance department) in order to implement the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again.

We always advise our guests to inform us of any incident that occurs during their stay so we can attend to it immediately and make their experience perfect. We could have changed rooms.

Thank you very much again for your comment and above all for helping us improve.

Greetings,
Ana Ruiz.
Quality Manager, Kaktus Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2023

I stayed in the hotel only 2 days but i really enjoyed the place ,hotel and the most welcoming reception lady named Katia made my stay even more memorable.Thank you for that and she is a good asset for the hotel.Hotel was clean,room and balcony with nice views.Very warm welcome on check in.For sure will be back.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EmiliaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana Ruiz, Other at KAKTUS Hotel Volga, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2023

Hello Emilia,

Thank you very much for your visit, it was great to have you with us.

We hope you enjoyed your stay very much. We are also very proud to know that thanks to Katia's professionalism and friendliness you felt at home. We are also very happy that you mentioned the excellent work done by our housekeeping team, which is always so important to us.


Come back anytime to Hotel Volga, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely.

Ana Ruiz
Quality Manager, Kaktus hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews