We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aparthotel Safari
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Les Palmeres(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
GHT Hotel Maritim(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Volga(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bernat II(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kaktus Playa(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mar Blau(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$60
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel President(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
B&B El Pekinaire(Calella)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
24
47
28
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
47
28
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkself cateringsmall poollarge roomfree wifibath showernight lifetwin bedstrain stationfirst floorpool areatoastersofafridgehobs5eurosbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2009

it all depends on your travel dates ive found.it is a basic place to stay our first room was to high for my wife/vertigo/ the next room the odd job guy came in with us with a bucket of paint plus roller and did some touching up. ? any way good food down stairs.good prices nice staff small pool great location 5 mins to brill beach lots to do. nice town.weather wise 5 days of sun 2 days of down pours and thunder . oh had to wash cutlery and plates in room though. it didnt spoil our week wont visit this part of spain again because of the chances of rain

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altitudeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We arrived at the Safari at approx 8:30am by coach from the UK, and were greeted at reception by 2 very pleasant receptionists, fluent in English, German, French, Dutch and Spanish.
The Positives:
Although room was not available until after 1pm, we were offered storage for our luggage and valuables, which allowed us to wander about until we could check in to our room. In addition, we were given a card entitling us to a 10% discount in the attached restaurant.
The room was typical of a 2-3* studio apartment, with basic cooking facilities and an en suite bathroom plus balcony wwith a view towards the sea (although the sea was about 1.5km away), and was immaculately clean, we considered this to be good value for the rate that we paid.
Free wi-fi high speed internet (although connection dropped frequently) useful for keeping in touch.

The negatives:
It would appear that Calella is the disco capital of the Costa Brava, and that the road outside the Safari seems to be a meeting point for the hoardes of "Club 18-25" revellers from across Europe. At about midnight EVERY NIGHT, then again at about 3AM, and again at 5AM, the crowds of party-goers gathered outside our accomodation, and to say they were loud would be an understatement! It was impossible to sleep with literally hundreds of teenagers shouting, screaming, laughing and singing at the tops of their voices for about an hour at a time whilst making transitions between disco's. Add to this the sound of dozens of cars and small motor scooters revving their engines and hooting their horns, and sleep was not an option.
I have nothing against young folk enjoying themselves, in fact I was also a teenager once, but PLEASE try to think of those who are trying to sleep and keep it down to a dull roar!!!
The staff offered to move us, but this woulkd have been to an apartment overlooking the inner courtyard, and without a balcony, so we opted to stay and suffer in silence.
The accomodation, as I have said, was basic and clean, and represented good value for the price, but I would not recommend it to middle-aged couples or young families. On the other hand, it is ideal for disco-freaks :)
Calella offers a long beach, but the "sand" is in fact sharp gravel, and very unpleasant to walk or lie on, plus there is a very steep slope into the sea, making it unsuitable for non-swimmers or younger children. We walked along the promenade most evenings, and stopped off at one or more of the beach-bar cafes for refreshments, and the commercial centre of the town has everything you would expect in a medium sized town, and is easily reached using the "Thomas" type road train, which did a return trip about every 20 minutes from the Safari to the town centre and railway station for €2.10 return or €1.60 single.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottyrafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This Hotel was very clean and staff very friendly. However very noisy at night. The Hotel was mainly full of young groups of girls and boys. Most of who were no problem. We had a few problems while on holiday, young boys setting of the fire alarms in the middle of the night, I had 2 young daughters wakened on a few occasions. We were not made aware of the amount of young groups that would be staying in the hotel by our travel agent. We had to complain to the manager on one occasion, and he was very nice and took our complaint on board. Over-all we had a good holiday at Safari and met alot of nice people, staff and other residents.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank jhytrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews