We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate to say this, but I really wish I had stayed elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Miami Park
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Let me begin by pointing out the positives about this hotel, and there are many: The General Manager, Isabel, and the front desk clerk, Diego, each go out of their way to help and assist. Those two individuals made our almost 3-week visit at this hotel bearable. The hotel is well-kept, clean, and quite functional as a resort property. They do in fact attempt to create a resort-like atmosphere, especially good if you have children traveling with you.
The location isn't bad but it is a long five city blocks to the beach and then you need to travel three more city blocks South to get the the railroad crossing. Add another three city blocks to cross the parking lot and sand to actually get to the Mediterannean. All in all, that can be quite a hike twice a day especially if the temperatures are high. About four blocks from the hotel is a pedestrian mall for shopping, some dining, etc.
There is a moderate-sized grocery store (Spar) on that pedestrian walkway that has a fairly good selection. The hotel rooms all feature a kitchenette with basic utensils, cookware, etc. all of which makes that morning coffee (instant) a lot easier than dressing and walking downstairs. There is also a marvelous patisserie right around the corner with fresh out of the oven pastries every morning for about a Euro each.
Now the downsides... when we arrived we were given a room on the 2nd floor. Now they advertise free wi-fi throughout the hotel but we were never able to get a signal. Each day they said they didn't know what was wrong but they were "working on it." Much to my dismay, I then went back and found reviews online going back 2+ years all complaining of the same "no internet on the 2nd floor" issue. In fairness, Isabel moved us to a different floor where internet wifi was available.
The hotel, on various booking websites, advertises other services that aren't quite as advertised. The complimentary "toiletries" in the bathroom is ONE bar of tiny hotel soap. The "free" newspapers at the front desk are 2.20 Euros, the restaurant in the lobby (during the majority of our stay) is in the lobby of the hotel across the street... as is the lobby entertainment (across the street). Now I will admit the restaurant in the lobby opened just before our departure with an evening buffet... no menu service.
It seems the hotel is shuttered closed 1/2 the year and only re-opened a few weeks before our arrival. Not all services were available yet and the majority of the staff were all newly hired and just learning their positions.
Our biggest complaint was the "air conditioning". Air conditioning IF you arrive after June 15th (or so I was told). The temperature in our room never dropped below 82 degrees Fahrenheit (28 degrees Celsius) during our entire stay. Most nights we slept on the outside balcony. At first we were told the air only comes on if the sliding door (no windows in the units) is kept tightly closed. We did that and the fan came on but only to blow warm air into the unit all day while we were gone. The desk then explained the air was controlled outside and only came on after June 15th. So we began to leave the sliding door open when we left for the day hoping the outside air would lower the temperature but the cleaning staff daily closed the door while we were gone.
There is a safe in the room but you have to pay additional each day for the key. Parking, if you should chose to rent a car, is available across the street but is an additional $15 per day as well. The buffet dinner, whether across the street or inside the hotel is 12 Euros per day. There is a "business center" where you can rent a computer by the minute but be aware there are no printers so you will need to find another source to print your return airline tickets, travel vouchers, etc.
I was also told that as the season progresses, some of the evening entertainment returns to this hotel from across the street.
Bottom line is "buyer beware" in booking with this hotel. Check first to see what facilities will really be functioning and which will not. Peak season this may be a great place to stay but they don't do anything to increase their own occupancy in the pre-season.

Room Tip: If you need internet, stay off the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Aparthotel Miami Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

arrived at the miami aparthotel on the 15th may for 4 nights and on first impressions it seemed like we were the only people staying there.
the hotel accomendation was very good and clean and the beds were very firm and the rooms were cleaned in a daily basis which was good.
all in all it was great value for money and if you want it busier then i would suggest going in the summer hols

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theentrepreneur1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

If you really HAVE to go to Calella this hotel is probably one of the better ones! altho the rooms are very basic they are very very clean. The poolside rooms and balconies look over each other but if you like more privacy the street view rooms would probably be better. The staff are excellent and very helpful, even the young lad that cannot speak English tries his very best to help you. We used the hotel just as a base and went further afield as Calella was not at all to our liking, apart from the busy main street that is littered with cafes, bars, and plenty of shops etc,everywhere else is covered with graffiti, run down and very dirty! We had a lovely day out to Tossa de Mar, to get there take the train at the bottom of the road to Blanes (5euro return) get off (you will think its in the middle of nowhere but its not)and just outside the train station there is a bus to take you to Tossa de mar(2.50 euros each way) it stops at Lloret de mar bus station and everyone gets off but Stay on and then it is another 10 to 15 mins (a lovely scenic route)to Tossa and WELL WORTH THE TRIP, it is a lovely beach town with lots of winding, CLEAN streets with lovely shops and it has a castle at the top of a hill, there is even a bar to stop off at half way up to the castle! Its a lovely day out with some lovely views.
In Calella we found an excellent bar/restaurant called CAN PINXO that serves a fab chicken dish that has thick succulent chicken peices on a large hanging skewer with chips for around 8 euros, it is excellent quality chicken cooked to perfection and the couple that run it are great, if your a garlic lover ask for their 'pan ajo' (garlic bread to us) it is a large toasted bread and they put a garlic clove and tomato on the plate and bring you olive oil, you rub the garlic clove over the bread and cut the tomato in half, rub that over then drizzle with the oil its fab!! and very different. to get to Can Pinxo you turn left out of hotel down to the 'main street', turn left, go past all the shops about 200 yards and its not far passed the large lit up ice cream cone thats on the wall on the right hand side. give it a try you wont be disappointed. I think it has a website 'canpinxo.com' check it out, its one of the cleanest and typically spanish Catalan Restaurants. Hope this report helps

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank malpal1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I are retired and enjoy traveling the world at low prices. Europe is one of our favorite destinations.
We really loved the aparthotel Miami in Calella, Spain. We were able to cook and have breakfast in the buffet (open until 11am) for a very reasonable/affordable price. We don't like to depend on schedules so that's very convenient.
Realized in this trip how amazing the Mediterranean cuisine is. We had delicious paellas in a few restaurants in town.
The night shows were a lot of fun. My favorite was the flamenco.
We might go back to Calella. We exercise quite often and are big fans of nordic walking. Surprisingly the area has some routes and Barcelona city has a few more.
I want to point the kindness of the staff. Definitely recommendable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th Floor with a huge terrace and sun-beds.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Nice Clean Good standard well situated apartments...Free Wi-Fi too...good pool...very limited cooking facilities...Restaurant facilities cramped and next to the bar...Don't even attempt to park in Calella as space is really limited and a towing fee of 100 euro common...you can park opposite Miami in an underground car park but it costs 15 euro a day through the hotel so can work out expensive...Staff were very courteous...Calella is great for shopping although quite pricey....eating out can be costly but try Gringo Joes near to the HTOP hotels...run by Mary...a fillet steak is less than 10 euro...kids meals 3 euro and a pint of San Miguel 2 euro...there's a club underneath that welcomes kids too for after...it was also extremely hot at the beginning of Sept 2011 so the free air conditioning at the Miami was a blessing...Good base to visit Barca as train station is minutes away.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool....don't expect to be able to cook more than soup or noodles in the r...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Superlammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

apartments clean fresh towels daily, near to supermarket, shops and restaurants. close to railway went to Barcelona and Malgrat for the day. our apartment had a sun terrace as a balcony with two sunbeds, pool very good and lots of sunbeds did not need to reserve beds, Calella is a lovely place to stay with narrow streets and very spanish, would return again to these apartments.

Room Tip: 4th floor has sun terraces and pool view would be best as on a street at other side of hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cmw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

very nice hotel, huge with many rooms and a great hall!the room was big with a kitchen and regrigetor. tv, air conditioned included. In fact it was a real small apartment. The terrace was great, useful for having dinner at home making a break from the sun. In summer it is full of teens and families.
Good the breakfast, it offers also service to have buffet dinner at the hotel (10 euros).
The only thing I disappoint is the noise coming from the street even if the windows was closed.
500 m from the beach

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabrieleSpagnoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Miami Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Miami Park

Address: Monturiol Street 34 | Costa Barcelona-Maresme, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £42 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Miami Park 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Aparthotel and its familiar atmosphere enjoys a ringside seat to Barcelona's region. Right in the heart of the coastal town of Calella, and just a stone's throw from the train station and from beautiful beaches. This special spot on the Mediterranean is only 50km from Barcelona city, in an outstanding bay, right steps away from the Costa Brava. At Miami Park our goal is to make you feel like at home and this is the reason why we work day after day with enthusiasm to offer you the best experience during your holidays. We have over half a century of experience in customer care and a history of clients that have celebrated plenty of milestones with us, for generations. We are committed to help you make your stay an unforgettable time. The Aparthotel Miami Park offers 102 apartments of different sizes and features: Studios, Apartments and Junior Suites. This family-oriented resort offers multiple services such as swimming pool for adults and kids, lounge, snack bar, restaurant, barbecue grill, pub, private parking garage, bicycle garage (cycle-tourism), free bicycle rent and a large daily animation program that includes a wide array of activities for adults and kids. On top of it, our guests will enjoy of special rates at our affiliate beach bar. It will be a real pleasure to help you organizing other activities such as water sports at the beach, trekking, hiking, Nordic walk, bike excursions, wellness treatments, and much more. The Aparthotel Miami Park perfectly combines fun, culture and relax, being the ideal choice for families with kids as well as for couples and friends that look forward to discover and explore such a great area of Spain. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Miami Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Miami Park Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing