We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of GHT Hotel Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GHT Hotel Maritim
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Stayed for two weeks at the Maritim with my partner in June 2008.
I was a little disappointed with the food which was always a combination of chips, salad and whatever they could mix up.
There were a couple of good nights of entertainment involving flamenca and disco but several nights with no entertainment at all which is not good considering the price we paid.
The rooms were ok, but there was no fridge to hand so it meant buying drinks constantly.
Pool and jacuzzi was nice indoor and out.
Overall a standard hotel with need for great improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank susan050708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

First, we want to thank people who take the trouble to write a criticism of their stay. The menu is carefully designed by our Head Chef, and is intended to satisfy a range of clients of very different tastes, which is always a difficult goal to achieve. Furthermore, there is entertainment 6 nights per week (from mid June to mid September). The mini-fridge can be rented for the modest price of 2.50 € / day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

The hotel was very clean. Pools OK but a little small. The indoor pool was handy when the weather wasn't too good. Other facilities were also good . Breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereals, English, continental, breads fruit, yoghurts etc. We tried lunch one day, which was OK but a bit limited in choice. The biggest drawback were the evening meals. Although generally OK, particularly given the price, it would have been better to let one dish become empty before topping it up. Paella with rice from 4 different top ups wasn't particularly enjoyable. Helping yourself to as much as you wanted was good with a hungry teenager in the party. Also, drinks with lunch or dinner were extra - to be expected with beer or wine, but a bit of a surprise if you just wanted a glass of water - the water dispenser available at breakfast is turned off for other meals.

Staff in the dining room were helpful and friendly. This varied a little more with the staff on reception. Using the occasional Spanish, or better still Catalan phrases was always appreciated.

The hotel was well situated, just across the road from the beach and the main shopping streets are only a couple of minutes walk. The railway station is about 10 - 15 minutes away. Rail travel is cheap, clean and reliable. Overall I think the hotel offered very good value for money, although I would go B&B next time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HullOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

just spent a four day break here. The hotel is spotless, room cleaned to a very high standard. Worth paying the extra for a sea view. The roof terrace is fantastic 2 hot tubs and plenty of loungers. Food - plenty to choose from. Staff always friendly and helpful. Plenty of shops. No too far from train station, journery to Barcelona 6 euro 40 return. Would go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We wanted a cheap bank holiday break and were delighted with this hotel. Getting a sea view is a worthwhile extra as it is wonderful and better than staring at other less-looked after hotels.

The roof terrace is a great way to soak up the sun and views while the pool downstairs offers another secluded area, with the beach only metres away.

Also getting full-board is really cheap considering there was lots of food to choose from and it was all pretty good.

The guest are mainly German, French and Spanish although there were a few English (mainly sunburnt with England tops), so its a good get-away.

If you are staying longer than a few days then its worth taking the train to other resorts or Barcelona, it runs beside the beach and is very efficient, clean and cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MyRating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We stayed at the Maritim Hotel for a week in September having stayed there on several previous occasions. The rooms are a reasonable size and are cleaned daily. The rooms to the front of the hotel have an excellent view of the sea and are worth paying the extra for. The overall standard of cleanliness within the Hotel is excellent. The staff have always been very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has recently added a roof top terrace with two jacuzzis. It also has an in door pool and sauna along with an outside pool with a very small pool for children.

The food is typical buffet fare with two or three different meat dishes, a fish dish and an excellent selection of salad items and various fresh fruit for the evening meal. However, there is not a great deal of choice if you are vegetarian other than the salads and there are no specific children's meals.

We particularly like the Hotel for its location as there are plenty of places to walk to and Calella has retained its Spanish feel . If you time it right in September there are lots of local festivities including free concerts in the squares and definitely not to be missed is the "march of the animals". This is a procession of paper machier animal heads some of which have fireworks exploding from their mouths. Makes UK firework displays appear quite boring as Health and safety does not appear to be a priority so stand well back!

If you are felling energetic you can walk along the coast to the next resort of Pindeda or even to Santa Susana (one hour and half approx). In the other direction is the lovely village of Sant Pol (30 minutes). There is also a lovely Park (Parc Demau) in Calella which is worth looking around as from one of the higher points there are excellent views over the town.

The train from Calella runs regularly to Barcelona and costs approx 8 euros return. It is a picturesque journey as it mainly travels along the coast taking approx one hour.

We book the Hotel through the Hotel website as we have found that taking into consideration flights, and transfers it still works out cheaper than booking through Thomson etc but that could be dependant upon time of year.

The beach is a bit gritty and appears to drop quite sharply into the sea. I would not necessarily recommend the resort or the Hotel to young families as there does not appear to be many activities but for a relaxing beach holiday or a place from which to explore the area the Maritim is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsRepton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alio49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#10 of 43 in Calella
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHT Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHT Hotel Maritim

Address: Carrer del Mar 2 | Passeig Les Roques, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calella
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £36 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GHT Hotel Maritim 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GHT Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calella Maritim Hotel
Maritim Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing