We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good typical holiday style hotel”
Review of GHT Hotel Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GHT Hotel Maritim
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good typical holiday style hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Room comfortable, clean & well serviced. Restaurant good for 'buffet style' breakfast. Dinner not the best , all the hot dishes appeared to have a taint of fish, including the vegetables. Reception very helpfull with good bagage and changing facilities available for guests with a late departure time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynx003uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at Marítim of in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    165
    91
    22
    14
See reviews for
127
179
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Maritim:
Hotel:
Excellent location.Right on the sea front.Trains do run past right along the front,but not really noticable.Great resturants close by aswell as main shopping area.
Rooms:
We had a very good room on the top floor with a sea view to the left and mountains to the right.Very clean and serviced daily.Do take a travell kettle if you want that morning cuppa!!! We also hired a fridge for 18 Euros which was vital for milk,water,etc.
Staff :
Very helpfull and friendly.One in particulal girl spoke very good English.
Food:
Breakfast very good.Do your own toast.Always bacon,eggs,cereal,fruit.Do try the pate.Evening meal was sadley disapointing.Only ate there twice.Bit like a school canteen.No atmosphere.Felt like you had to be straight in and out.Didnt like the table being cleared as you were still eating.Found the food over cooked and tasteless.Didnt expect to find fishfingers for an evening meal!!! However,drinks very reasonable and cheaper than alot of bars.
Summary:
All in all,avery good hotel for the money.Would stay again but only on a B&B basis.Roof top area very nice.Pool area small but didnt use it as beach so close.Not alot of English people around but not a problem for us.Good steak at Casa Carlos but not cheap.The resturant round the corner,next door but one,(cant remember the name) is much cheaper and better.Mostly Spanish eating there.Beach bars expensive for even botteles of water.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This hotel was much better than expected. Very clean, great service. We were half board and this was a great option - plenty of choice for breakfast and plenty of choice for dinner. Food was really good and exceeded our expectations.
Great location 5 mins from the beach, 10 mins from train station (only 1hr and 7 Euros to Barcelona and trains every 20 mins) - we werent aware of trains going past as some reviews state that the hotel is close tothe railway.
Quite a small pool but was able to get 3 sun loungers - nice poolside bar. The best bit was the sun deck on the top of the hotel - great views, artificial grass, sun loungers and two jacuzzis!!
Some staff on reception were more helpful than others, service in the restaurant was great as was the maid service - room cleaned and beds made every day.
Short walk to bars, clubs, bowling, crazy golf etc. Only downside was that the resort was quite full of German teenagers but none were staying at this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck82_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at Marítim or in any other of our hotels strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We returned back from our holiday in Calella on the 10th August. I travelled with my 15 year old daughter. The hotel was in a great location, minutes from the beach. I didnt hear the trains after the first few had gone past. The room was clean, if a little small and the chica that cleaned it for us was so helpful as were all the staff.The roof terrace was a real bonus when you needed to come away from the beach...so quiet. didnt spend time at the pool as it was a bit too crowded for us and we prefer the beach. A tip for beach lovers.....buy a parosol from the beach shop opposite the hotel for only 12.95 euro as the beach charge 4 euro per day for each bed and parasol. We went to Barcalona for the day 7 euro each for a whole day return, it was so easy as the station is a very pleasant walk along the beach front 15 mins.We also went for a whole day trip on a boat that picks up from the shore line, it calls in to every little resort along the coast until you arrive at Tossa de Mar which is beautiful. We did all the tourist walk and then had the most fantastic Menu del Dia in one of the beachfront restaurants 3 courses plus wine 12 euro. I highly recommend this hotel and Calella for a peacful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueanchor2520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHT_Hotels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest,

We wish to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at Marítim or in any other of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed four nights at Sea and was with his wife on their honeymoon. I paid for "Sea View" and so I did. Hotel location is very good, 5 minutes from the beach, one drawback is that noise from train to browse the entire beach is quite annoying, but after one day get used. The hotel's facilities are numerous: indoor and outdoor pool (rather small), find a jacuzzi on the roof, rather small restaurant, but with a small terrace overlooking the pool. Rather small room with matrimonial bed, antique television and the remote had to leave 10 euros deposit at reception to receive it. But the view from the 4th floor was great.
Staff very friendly, English speaking, less than the night shift who did not speak any English. Overall hotel is with pleasure that I recommend to other tourists. We had half board, breakfast and dinner and was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IASI-Romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Just got back from a week at the Maratim. The hotel itself is very good, rooms small but clean. We did enjoy the rooftop terrace. It was quiet and had a great view.

The breakfast was good but we eat out a couple of nights as we were disappointed with dinner. We did swop one day and had lunch instead of dinner, the lunch seemed to have more choice.

Enjoyed Papas Bar and would recommend this bar. The staff are fun and they do a great game of bingo. Very funny.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzalfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and teenage son (17 years) for a week, we were basically looked for a base to stay to visit my older son who works in Barcelona. Staying outside Barcelona seemed to be a lot cheaper than the city itself, we hired a car to commute from the airport and to and fro from Barcelona. If we were to return we would take a train (10 minutes walk from Hotel) which was under 5 euros to go to Barcelona and use a Taxi for the airport. There was no parking versility at the Hotel and were force to find day parking at 6 euros a day in and around Calella. Transport in around Barcelona is cheap and organize, we traveled on both the Metro and Trams.

The hotel facilities were very good, we never used the pool as it was quite small, however my son used the fitness suite every day which he thought was sufficient. The room was a good size, we asked for three beds in our room which we're clean and comfortable. The only fault of the room was the size of the balcony, it was barely big enough to dry our towels and a chair would not fit to sit out on, the option to upgrade to a better balcony was 60 euros per week, per person, which would have worked out very expensive.

As a family we were extremely impressed with the restaurant considering it is a 3 star, the staff were always on call replacing crisp linen tablecloths to every diner. Breakfast consisted of numerous cereals, fruits, breads, and a selection of cold meats and cheeses, as well as a hot English breakfast, with plenty of beverage. The evening meal also had a large variety of foods, extensive salad dishes (meat & veg) were always on offer, hot main courses consist of a array of fish, white meat and vegetarian dishes, we found the food to be of good quality and plenty to choose from! Which one could return to again and again. Drinks to accompany the evening meal were very reasonably priced and wine could be kept for following days.

To sum up Calella: is a small town with a clean stretch of sandy beach, the sea is unpolluted and crystal clear. and very pleasent to swim in. In the evening a strole along the main street with soveniers shops and bars keeps you busy. It has a railway running adjacent to the beach (you do not notice the train). My son went out to nightclubs and although there wasn't many English in the resort, mainly young German and Polish, he had not problem socializing.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#9 of 43 in Calella
1,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#6 of 43 in Calella
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHT Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHT Hotel Maritim

Property: GHT Hotel Maritim
Address: Carrer del Mar 2 | Passeig Les Roques, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calella
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — GHT Hotel Maritim 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your GHT Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calella Maritim Hotel
Maritim Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing