We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of H.TOP Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Olympic
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel beginning of September, me and my girlfriend 22 & 19, came for a budget few days away, after reading the reviews I kinda wondered what I let myself in for.. but overall this hotel really isn't that bad. I payed next to nothing for 4 days all inclusive. The room was of a good size with a balcony, the bed was comfy, the (main) pool was clean and had an outdoor bar that was great! The staff were all friendly and I didn't have any problems communicating with them. The only thing I would say that let the hotel down was the food, pretty bland but as we didn't pay much and the hotel did have to cater for a lot of people all inclusive,we really didn't mind, we mainly had breakfast in the hotel and had dinner out for a good price. Also being able to use the neighbours rooftop hot-tubs and bars is an added bonus! I read a few times about a club next door keeping people awake, this didn't happen once. This hotel is a 'get what you pay for' hotel it's as simple as that. I am going back next year! Thanks HTOP :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Akightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,491 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

It was very welcoming the food was good and varied was cheap and cheerful enjoyed the break for a first time the staff were very helpful had no problem understanding them all in all had a nice holiday.Within walking distance of the beach which was clean,near to shops restaurants and pubs if you wanted to go out of the hotel for a drink,there was a bar in the hotel with something different on most nights if you didn't want to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 719Milo_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The real "problem" of this place is the old fashion design and build, but what you pay is what you get and it's alright! The room were clean every day, the receptionist was nice, quite area, a little walk away from the beach in this lovely town... and a little advice - go out! There is so much to see, you don't need to stay all the time in the hotel :)

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Roei_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel was ok you get what you pay for, was quite rammed for the end of oct but it was one of few hotels open so can understand why. Everything ok until we had a miss understanding with one of the female reception staff, she got quite rude when she could not understand our english and one of our group members was having a private conversation aside and laughed resulting in the receptionist refusing to deal with us from that day onwards and called the manager down who was also very rude to speak to us, well i say speak... We felt like we were in the head teachers office at school!! I could understand but we were on a family holiday with a child not a young group on a pi** up.
Other than that the we never had a problem but all in all i have stayed in better hotels & wouldn't stay again even without the rude staff. Calella on the other hand is a lovely place that we can't stay away from so we will be going back just not to olympic... Ever again. Dont be put off though, you will be fine aslong as you dont have a sense of humour.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just returned from a 4 day all inclusive stay at the Olympic and travelled there with my husband and 12 year old daughter. Yes the hotel is dated but it is clean, rooms are adequate (we had 3 singles pushed together), adequate bathroom and a TV with English channels.
The hotel does seem to house school parties but the one's we came across were no different to how my husband and I would have acted at 14/15 yrs of age!
The entertainment is typical cheese but great for both adults and kids alike and the staff did not appear particularly miserable at all and I think if you engage them in a bit of conversation it will go along way.
The rooms having thin walls is quite true but again we read the reviews and my husband prepared and took his ear plugs whilst my daughter and I did not really find that there was a significant amount of noise but we were at the end of season really.
The food is ok and it is edible. Breakfast is good really and even the fussiest of eaters can get a piece of toast so there really is no issue here. We didn't do lunch as managed to fill up from breakfast but the dinner selection was ok too. Typical all inclusive food really - fresh food station cooking something different each night - we really liked the night the mussels were on the menu and the next night there was fresh pancakes for the kids. Nice salads too!
The place of Callela itself is nice and has lovely streets to walk around with a vast beach promenade and I would definitely recommend a day trip to Barcelona, we paid 27 euros return for the three of us but it is a fantastic bustling city with some beautiful architecture.
All in all a great break for all three of us for little more than £350 - well worth it!
On a final note Mamma MIa's just down the road serves up a great pizza and would definitely recommend the one with parma ham and the last one on the menu which has some kind of smoked beef on it. This is very thinly cut on a bed of fresh tomato and rocket and is similar to carpaccio of beef.
Don't be scared and book yourself a good value for money break!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheWards2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

i went here with my sister from 24th to 28th oct & dispite the negative reviews i read on here b4 i went....we had a fab time!! dont know what people are moaning about!! yes the the hotel is more dated than others but it reminds me of style spanish hotels that are more traditional....anyway food was good...hotel staff from receptionists barstaff night porters all very smiley & helpful...drinks system was ok when u got used to it...if you are polite then u will get the same response bk....hotel room was a key to door & thats the only thing i can say could be changed to a card key system as its safer....but we had a great time & are planning on going again next year....you get what you pay for

Room Tip: rooms on the main enterace view get the sun all day & same as the 2 swimming pools at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

a very busy hotel,with alot of families ,teenagers,mixed ages really,the weather was fantastic for the time of year,food was good,pastas,salads,fish,meats,very nice staff,rooms cleaned every day.we were on the front of the hotel so heard the coaches arriving/departing.the hotel was handy for the train station just an hour away from barcelona.the hotel could do with being refreshed but that was prob because it was end of season.entertainment was a bit basic

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#12 of 43 in Calella
1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
442 reviews
4.7 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
919 reviews
10.9 mi away
H.TOP Royal Beach
H.TOP Royal Beach
#77 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Olympic

Address: Carrer de Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £27 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Olympic hotel is in a quiet residential area of Calella in Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east Spain), just 350 metres away from the beach. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated at 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport. Calella is a family tourist destination, a lively city where you will find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife. Calella boasts its own mini train that circles the town during the summer and stops right outside the hotel, so getting around couldn’t be easier. Clients from H·TOP Olympic can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offer sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. The classical 517-room H·TOP Olympic provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • 2 Social rooms (billard and recreatives) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools (three for adults and one for children) • Sun terraces • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* • Discounts Bar Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Olympic Calella
Hotel h Top Olympic
h Top Olympic Hotel
Hotel Olympic Calella
h Hotel Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing