We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrific!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of H.TOP Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
H.TOP Olympic
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
London
1 review
“Horrific!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Without prejudice: Friendly hardworking staff – but what foul clientele. Yikes! They seem to attract the scum of the earth, rowdy and violent football fans who drink all day (all inclusive) and fight all night. I got beaten up by 4 blokes (although I dropped two I couldn’t manage four), as were several others. They beat the heck out of me. Two broken ribs, chipped thigh and a cracked spleen. I’d not touch this place with a barge pole again! My advice? Stay away and choose one of their other hotels. They seem like good people, but don’t stay at this one, is my advice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTonytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    377
    561
    390
    784
See reviews for
805
685
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent 5 nights there over the last April weekend. All the other one star revues are being charitable.
I genuinely can't believe these places still exist, I thought they'd all disappeared in the 70/80s. Ok, I got a cheap deal but a week in The Scrubs would have had higher standards.
The staff were miserable, not that I blame them. They had to spend their days watching fat tattooed Brits getting more and more hammered as the day went on. The food looked inedible as we didn't try it after the first morning breakfast deciding from then on to eat in the Old Town. A lovely cup of coffee and croissant was less than €2 and lovely meals in local restaurants for about €10 or less.
The rooms were tiny with thin mattresses and threadbare sheets and blankets. They were also stuffy and the staff refused to switch on the aircon.
Finally, thanks to the couple who stayed in the room below us and had a full on drink fuelled, smash the furniture fight for most of the last night and further thanks to the staff who ignored mine and other residents complaints.
The town itself and the locals are lovely but that hotel was a disgrace

Room Tip: A good room? Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Copland741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calella hotels

Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

we were staying for a 4 night break alinclusive on 22nd to 26th of april hotel we were checked in quick and staff were friendly and helpful we were in room 707 elevator was quit quick didnt take long to get upto our room. room was clean and bed was comfortable but it does need updating bed old but comfy covers need replacing but usable bathroom clean balcony door and window do need replacing as unsafe glass to thin just be careful you dont fall against it and it dosent keep alot of sound out. there was good amount of hanging space for clothes and storage space for other things it was abit of a sqeaze going past the bed room was abit small but your only sleeping in it there was one english channel on the tv. you have to use a key to open and lock you room door i found it abit of a pain at night when you had to lock your door but on the keys is the card to keep you lights and electric on in your room you had to take the card out and try locking your door in the dark. halls were clean and tidy bar was good you had a choice of peach and apple schnaps and rum whisky beer vodka. there was a coffee machine in the bar and pool bar to. the drinks card was a pain it will take abit of time to get used to and you can only have 1 drink at a time. food was ok freshly done and replaced not much selection there was one fish dish one meat mostly pork and then peas carrots some times potato together and 2 different pastas with pasta sause seperate they had salad and bread rolls some times potato wedges but that was about it dessert was pots of ice cream and about 3 different cakes and jelly angel delight and rice pudding. there was 3 pools they looked all clean some of the sun beds were abit dirty could of just had abit of a wipe over. you are close to town and there is a little train that goes around the town beach is by the town there is a htop bar on the beach that if your alinclusive you can have drinks half price. there was a market by the town that was on saturday and wednesdays.this hotel was good for a cheap break im not fussy and had a good time yes it needs things doing to it but i was happy. i would not go high season to this hotel tho as the drink cards are a problem and you can only have 1 drink at a time.

Room Tip: i would go for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwales24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel thinking it was a 3 star, to find out when we got there it was more like a 1 star. Rooms very small and not clean, no clean sheets or towels in the time that we stayed. The food was not great, did not eat much has was not sure what we was eating.!!! There was lots of school kids on holiday there at the same time, they was just running around like it was their hotel and the other people should not be there. On the Friday nite same of the school kids was outside the hotel shouting because they had been kick out of the restaurant at lunch time. This went on all nite till about 12.30. We will not be going back!!!!! Swimming pool was very cold lots of kids running around.!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having stayed in a HTop Hotel before we chose one again.This Hotel requires alot of work and we found the rooms very small.
Unfortunatly the hotel was full of children and youths on school trips with every part of the hotel having groups giving you verbal and physical problems.
As our travel agent Lowcost did not advise us on what to expect on this trip .
The evenings was also taken up by the school groups

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I took my 2 kids here on a cheap Easter break so was mentally prepared for nothing much .
The rooms were basic but clean ( we were on 6 floor) tv had some English channels . Found room quite hot as no air conditioning apparently it was too early in the season. Rooms were small but ok for money. The food was fine lots of selection suited my kids . The pools were nice and no fighting for sun beds . The main problem for me and this seems to be the common theme in the reviews was the number of foreign school parties in the hotel they were noisy , rude , had no manners teachers seemed non existent you would not see this type of behaviour from british school children. They knocked on doors , messed with lifts and were loud at night. Spoilt the holiday. Hotel should be at most 2 star !! However will say the lady receptionist was really great sorting out my transfer. Would go back to calella but not there !

Room Tip: High floor away from school kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canary Islands, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I will never be returning to this hostel..i mean hotel. The bar staff are rude and the bar cups are dirty. The rooms are very unkept with firnishings that need replacing. The tv works when it wants,the balcony is full of fungi and the sheets smell. The only good thing is the location. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonlegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
4.7 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#24 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#22 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
11.0 mi away
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
H.TOP Palm Beach & SPA
#78 of 127 in Lloret de Mar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.2 mi away
H.TOP Cartago Nova
H.TOP Cartago Nova
#14 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Olympic

Property: H.TOP Olympic
Address: Carrer de Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Olympic hotel is in a quiet residential area of Calella in Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east Spain), just 350 metres away from the beach. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated at 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport. Calella is a family tourist destination, a lively city where you will find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife. Calella boasts its own mini train that circles the town during the summer and stops right outside the hotel, so getting around couldn’t be easier. Clients from H·TOP Olympic can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offer sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. The classical 517-room H·TOP Olympic provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • 2 Social rooms (billard and recreatives) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools (three for adults and one for children) • Sun terraces • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* • Discounts Bar Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your H.TOP Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Olympic Calella
Hotel h Top Olympic
h Top Olympic Hotel
Hotel Olympic Calella
h Hotel Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing