We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value 3* Hotel - great for family holidays”
Review of H.TOP Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H.TOP Olympic
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Value 3* Hotel - great for family holidays”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was a bit wary after reading some of the reviews for this hotel, but have to admit that this is not a bad hotel as long you know what to expect before you go.

The hotel is situated in a fairly central area, a 10 minute downhill stroll from the beach and start of the shopping area. The Calella Land Train stops right outside the reception, and is a great way of getting around the town - just €1.50 for a single journey or €2.50 for 2 trips on the same day.

This is very much like a British holiday camp in the sunshine. Plenty of entertainment day and night, a good choice of hot and cold food 3 times a day, with unlimited snacks in between and drinks on tap from 10am to midnight!

Calella is a nice little town - good shopping, nice beach and easy access to Barcelona for sightseeing. Just €9.60 return on the train, with a lovely journey all along the coast.

As with all H TOP hotels you can visit any of the other hotels in the chain during the day between 1000-1900 hours, although you need to make a reservation 24 hours in advance if you wish to eat at another hotel, and this isn't possible with some of their 4* hotels.

Choose your transfer carefully if you are arranging your own and flying into Gerona Costa Brava Airport, as Calella seems to be the last drop when you arrive, and first collection for the return flight. My flight home was at 0940 hours and I was collected at the hotel at 0425 hours and dropped at the airport at 0545 hours - far too early for the flight!

The room was clean and spacious, with a very clean bathroom and plenty of good towels. A nice balcony with table and 2 chairs, Air-Con in the height of the summer and colour TV with a few English speaking channels.

As with so many hotels these days, they make a huge amount of money by charging extra for the safe in the room (€7 per day) and even more for the WiFi that so many of us use now - this costs €20 a week for each device which is scandalous, but at least it is a very strong signal throughout the hotel including the bedrooms.

Overall a very good value holiday, but not sure that I could cope in the height of the summer...

Room Tip: High floor rooms at the rear of the hotel overlooking the main pool will be quieter, whereas high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinRBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    393
    595
    409
    833
See reviews for
844
730
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Only knowing a week before we left which hotel we were going to was a dreadful disappointment when we read the reviews!!! They were correct when they said the walls in the rooms were thin - it was ridiculous - you could hear everything in the adjoining rooms & I mean EVERYTHING, from the bedroom & the bathroom!!!!! The reception staff were lovely as were most of the bar staff. In place of the usual armband to indicate all inclusive you were given two cards, one for meals & one for the bar - only one drink per card per person so later in the evening the queues could get very long. Meal times got quite busy in the restaurant, sometimes difficult to find a table but the food was ok, you could always find something to eat. Plenty of sunbeds around three pools but none were heated. It was late April/early May so as the season goes on this might change. Don't go for the organised trips but take a train ride to Barcelona for a great day out. The station is only about a half hour walk & costs 19 Euros return each travelling along the coast. 27 Euros for a hop on/hop off bus shows you all the sights. On the whole the weather was good, we met some nice people & for what we paid it was value for money.

Room Tip: The walls are thin even on the 7th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My partner and I were looking for a cheap beach holiday so we picked this hotel. It was good value for what we paid. The staff were very friendly and it was a great location (next to the beach and a 40 minute train journey into Barcelona).

The hotel in general was clean and our room was serviced every day. The rooms are pretty basic but this did not really matter as we were out for most of the day.

The biggest problem with the hotel were the noise levels. They had a lot of children staying there on school trips and we didn't have a great nights sleep.

In future we would spend the extra money for a better hotel, but great if you just want a few days to enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Lottie122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

***£170 for 5nights all inclusive*** (I just wanted a cheapie for a few days in the sun!)..I wasn't expecting too much..Reception were friendly and helpful..Room was small, a bit outdated but I only sleep and bath/shower in it..beds and towels were changed every day..not the most comfortable but OK..Lovely hot water..Walls are very thin! Students are there but I had no problem..I was on the 7th floor..Food...Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was a bit busy..but you wouldn't go hungry as there's always something to suit..it really isn't as bad as some people are saying! No shortage of sun beds, but it wasn't quite the busy season..Sometimes you have to queue a bit for the bar and there's happy ones and grumpy ones..Location is good..10minute stroll to the beach and ask at reception for a voucher for the sun-beds on the beach 3euros each...also you can make day visits to all the other H.Top Hotels..a free bus will take you there after breakfast and you can have lunch at a 4star H.Top if you want to try them out..Evening entertainment may get better as the season goes on..but as I said you really do get what you pay for..My £170 paid for my flights, transfers, luggage and hotel..so I'm not complaining...if I wanted 4/5 star I would've paid nearer £400!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Hotel is dated but overall clean and tidy. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are a reasonable size and cleaned every day. However, the shower in our room had been replaced and no longer attached to the wall meaning it had to be held when used and the toilet seemed to have a will of it's own as it moved!! However DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT go there if you're hoping for peace and quiet, there is a constant stream of groups of students of various ages arriving and departing each day which causes nonstop noise and mayhem. We found the food OK with plenty of choice and the pools good but unheated. Entertainment mainly bingo and disco although flamenco one night.

Room Tip: The best rooms are probably on the higher floors but lifts sometimes v busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calella hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Without prejudice: Friendly hardworking staff – but what foul clientele. Yikes! They seem to attract the scum of the earth, rowdy and violent football fans who drink all day (all inclusive) and fight all night. I got beaten up by 4 blokes (although I dropped two I couldn’t manage four), as were several others. They beat the heck out of me. Two broken ribs, chipped thigh and a cracked spleen. I’d not touch this place with a barge pole again! My advice? Stay away and choose one of their other hotels. They seem like good people, but don’t stay at this one, is my advice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTonytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent 5 nights there over the last April weekend. All the other one star revues are being charitable.
I genuinely can't believe these places still exist, I thought they'd all disappeared in the 70/80s. Ok, I got a cheap deal but a week in The Scrubs would have had higher standards.
The staff were miserable, not that I blame them. They had to spend their days watching fat tattooed Brits getting more and more hammered as the day went on. The food looked inedible as we didn't try it after the first morning breakfast deciding from then on to eat in the Old Town. A lovely cup of coffee and croissant was less than €2 and lovely meals in local restaurants for about €10 or less.
The rooms were tiny with thin mattresses and threadbare sheets and blankets. They were also stuffy and the staff refused to switch on the aircon.
Finally, thanks to the couple who stayed in the room below us and had a full on drink fuelled, smash the furniture fight for most of the last night and further thanks to the staff who ignored mine and other residents complaints.
The town itself and the locals are lovely but that hotel was a disgrace

Room Tip: A good room? Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Copland741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#23 of 43 in Calella
1,891 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#9 of 43 in Calella
1,333 reviews
4.7 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
380 reviews
4.0 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Olympic

Property: H.TOP Olympic
Address: Carrer de Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Olympic hotel is in a quiet residential area of Calella in Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east Spain), just 350 metres away from the beach. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated at 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport. Calella is a family tourist destination, a lively city where you will find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife. Calella boasts its own mini train that circles the town during the summer and stops right outside the hotel, so getting around couldn’t be easier. Clients from H·TOP Olympic can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offer sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. The classical 517-room H·TOP Olympic provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • 2 Social rooms (billard and recreatives) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools (three for adults and one for children) • Sun terraces • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* • Discounts Bar Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Olympic Calella
Hotel h Top Olympic
h Top Olympic Hotel
Hotel Olympic Calella
h Hotel Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing