We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family hotel and great value!”
Review of Hotel Mar Blau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mar Blau
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly family hotel and great value!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights and returned to the uk today. It's just a ten minute walk to the beach and old town and has a lovely pool area. The rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. I would recommend staying here; we booked for bed and breakfast and there was lots of choice at breakfast! Lovely seating area and there's a great fresh omelette chef! Aqua aerobics every morning and I don't have kids but if I did I would definitely feel happy bringing them here. The entertainment is great without being overbearing; it's based around the kids but the staff were fantastic. What was also nice to see was a lifeguard at the pool every day. As a guest, you get 5% off drinks at the bar and lunch/ evening meal at a discount if you wish to eat there. Highly recommend it here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazdeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    167
    49
    5
    5
See reviews for
156
159
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a nine day stay at Mar Blau. We stayed here once before about 5 years ago as a "Plan B" when another arrangement fell through, and we noted many familiar faces amongst the staff from our previous visit, which is usually a good sign. Again we found the hotel clean and comfortable and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient, especially Jacqueline and Ava at reception. The food was again good and in plentiful supply, and we were impressed by the daily organised activities/entertainment available, particularly with regard to families with young kids. For those who cannot be without their daily internet fix, you can connect your device to the internal wi-fi for 6 euro's per week. We made good use of the pool and sun loungers, and our son enjoyed the internal kids play area and outside playground.The other guests were an interesting mix of nationalities, and it appears that the area has become increasingly popular with Russian holidaymakers since our last visit. There are supermarkets, bars and alternative restaurants within a short walk, the beach is not far, the old town within easy reach, and we walked to and from the station with our luggage without being excessively tired. Calella is an ideal base for other excursions such as Barcelona, Blanes, and the WaterWorld at Llanet de Mer. On both occasions we have stayed here, we found it relaxing and good value for money and with no significant negatives to report, and on that basis would certainly consider returning again in the future, and therefore have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Mar Blau to others. For the overall experience spanning both visits, this 3 star hotel certainly gets an extra star from us!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A highly recommended hotel. Very clean throughout. The room was cleaned every day and the beds changed every other day. The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice for everyone and every nationality. The pool was very clean and staff were more than helpful. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night only. My daughter and I came to see her husband in the Triathlon. We chose the hotel because it had car parking. This proved very satisfactory. The hotel was clean and we had breakfast and evening meal which were most acceptable and very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I travel a lot and I saw many hotels of 3 and 4 stars. This 3 star hotel deserves 4 stars! It is super clean, the stuff is very friendly and fluent in English, some can also speak German. The choice of food is various and it is very tasty. Rooms are very nice, clean and each has its own balcony. We had a room with a swimming pool view (most of them have it), the stuff cleans it every day and very properly. The beach is very close and is also clean. A lot of russians and germans in the hotel. The air conditioner is a bit low-powered but working. On the 2nd floor I could still catch some WiFi from lobby, so I had Internet directly in my room :)
The hotel also has a very big luggage room with a free guest shower and towels.
The train station is about 15 minutes away, but you go through the shopping street and won't be bored. Calella is in general very nice and clean city.
Minus: Whirpool and sauna are opened only for 3 hours a day (17-20) :(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Olgii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

For the first time ever we went three star full-board this summer at this hotel. The second week of our holiday we were cruising out of Barcelona so full-board was a good way of keeping within our budget at the start of our holiday. I have to say that we are foodies - and one of the highlights of our holiday is always eating out - so I was apprehensive. We decided that if the food was poor we would eat out and as full board wasn't that expensive we wouldn't worry. I have to say that the food was very good - there was always a very good range of salads, fruit to eat as well as a range of main courses. The restaurant also had themed lunches and dinners during the week. The staff were extremely pleasant and worked very hard. The restaurant was kept very clean. When we got cabin fever we simply ate out (which wasn't very often) Our children really enjoyed the poolo area and although they didnt go to the kids club they did really enjoy the pool activities such as aquarobics and games for children. The entertainment staff were all really good with the kids. There was a Disney parade which came to the hotel with all the kids loved, a really good snake show and a parrot show. We didnt get involved with the evening entertainment as we preferred to go for a walk and an icecream. There is good crazy golf very close to the hotel. It was a very good base for a good value holiday - we spent as much on food in two days at the end of our holiday in Barcelona as we did on going full-board at this hotel. So it really was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: It depends what you like .. we had a room over the pool area which was nice but then it was also noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxfourontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel was clean and the food was basic but good value. The rooms were clean with good air conditioning. The entertainment was adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the waiters and waitresses.

On a negative note, I would have preferred a list of pickup for airport on the wall in reception as the time was changed to 8:15 from 9:30. I ended up in a mad rush to get on the coach. One of the receptionists said that the times were faxed to the hotel and put under the door. As it was Sunday I was unable to ring the pickup company to confirm. All other hotels I've been to had clear indicators for return pickups. Make a point of asking a day before to check, as they do have a list.

Overall! I would recommend this hotel as a good 3 star choice. You will get what you pay for.

Room Tip: All the rooms stemmed to have a balcony with at least some part of the day with sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#13 of 43 in Calella
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#9 of 43 in Calella
1,335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#6 of 43 in Calella
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Blau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Blau

Property: Hotel Mar Blau
Address: C/ Valldebanador, 23-29, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#3 Family Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mar Blau 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mar Blau hotel in Calella (Costa de Barcelona-Maresme) is a 3* establishment, perfect for those ideal family holidays.Located only 450 metres from the beach, in a quiet area but also close to the shops and the main tourist features of Calella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mar Blau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Blau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing