We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Mont Rosa”
Review of Mont-Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont-Rosa Hotel
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Retro Mont Rosa”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed at Mont Rosa as second part of 9day stay in calella-booking 3nights half board from 5th September. This whole holiday had been budget based but my husband & I know the area very well and aren't afraid to take a chance if reviews are otherwise unfavourable!
The facade of the hotel harks back to probably the seventies in its concrete blandness but inside the furnishings and decor are reminiscent of past grandeur in a very catalonian style, with large mirrors and paintings [take a look on the higher level corridors and stair wells], rickety, wooden, carved tall chests etc.
I had booked through my personal favourite website, taking "internal facing" to mean at the back of the hotel, probably looking out to street. That is what I got but unfortunately the only wondow was high up the wall with no view at all. The room was otherwise beautiful in its quant retro style and exceptionally clean but I'm a terror for a balcony so happily paid more for a beach facing room with large balcony! This room was huge, with an old wood door to entrance, corridor with 3 immense cupboard/wardrobes, decent size bathroom, which although very 70's in the ceramic department was fully functioning, clean and not at all slippy [unlike our previous hotel].
The staff were absolutely lovely and the food offered a good choice at evening meal, hot, with delicious desserts. Although my husband was disappointed to find only continental breakfast on offer, I couldn't find fault.
Being right opposite the long, shingle beach with the town 2 minutes away and the delights of the next town [Pineda] within a 40minute interesting and beautiful walk away, I can't think of anything that anyone could justifiably complain about. I'm saving up already to go back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a beach facing with balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    41
    43
    34
    42
See reviews for
46
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Got there early hours and couldnt get through reception doors for large group of youths outside. night club next door. reception staff not very well versed in procedure. tiny lift. room was dark dingy and stank. with two rickety beds and no windows. it was like a storage cupboard and not much bigger.
next morning changed to room with balcony and sea view. DO NOT BOOK internal room - depressing prison cells. but new room was 100% better. cleaned every day to good standard. furniture bit old but okay and tv waste of space - but didnt go to watch tv.
food was quite good. Variety and menu changed every day. clean and good staff. pool was good plenty sunbeds clean and nice size. more than one lift in hotel but night porter didnt tell us.
read reviews regarding theft so booked safe box @ 5 euro per day with 12euro deposit. but no concerns regarding security. left some stuff in original room and staff returned it to us.
location is excellent. Roll out of bed onto beach. train line was no problem and is recommended for trips. barcelona was 7 euro return and included barca metro travel. well worth visit. beautiful journey.
calella is good. plenty to do. loads to see. Not many english....but that was good if two groups on plane on way to Lloret were anhthing to go by. older group and an embarrassment. so glad they were no wrre near calella.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pd0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

At a loss for words at the bad reviews for the Mont Rosa! Certainly not a luxury venue but has all your essentials, is clean, friendly and in an ideal location. Literally a 5 min walk to the main town and directly opposite the beach - from room to sunlounger in a couple of minutes! We went for a half board option and found the meals varied, well presented and well stocked (all meals are buffet style). You also have the option to choose whether you have your main meal at lunch or at dinner - which means if you want a meal out in town, you don't lose out on one of your prepaid meals! The rooms were cleaned daily and were big, light and airy with ensuite. The furniture is quite old fashioned but in a more homely way than dated. Perhaps we were fortunate with our stay and escaped the groups of teenage boys as this certainly wasn't in evidence and as for the train going past outside - it does and yes, fairly regularly, but we are talking a couple of seconds and during the day (they don't go past at night) and as we prefer to spend our days out and about raher than inside our hotel room, I can't see this as a problem. All in all, a great holiday and a stay in a hotel run by hard working and very helpful (especially female receptionist) staff - this hotel thorouhly deserves a good review and I hope future guests enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iloveholidays048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The hotel is located very close to the beach but the railway runs just in front of it so avoid the hotel if you are a light sleeper. Drunk teenagers roaming the streets were also heard some nights.

The breakfast selection is poor while lunch and dinner is just passable if your stay is short. You'll get bored by the food. The rooms are cleaned OK but there was no attempt at fixing a broken window (not broken by us). On the last night we threw a plastic container that had held some ice cream into the thrash bin, only to find a rather huge ant invasion the next morning. The locks on the doors are poor and there were multiple burglaries of other guests during our stay. In my view the old fashioned system of leaving the keys in the reception for everybody to see who is out is an open invite to thiefs.

The hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for so the value is decent enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calella hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We were rather apprehensive about staying at this hotel after reading reviews, we booked it as a last minute cheap holiday and it was value for money. Yes the German teenagers were very noisy but they were not drunk and fighting as w have seen with British lager louts, We had a room on the east side of the hotel first floor with a balcony and we enjoyed our stay ( without losing any sleep)The downside was that we did not have a fridge in the room which would have been helpful but the staff were helpful and friendly , especially the Austrian waitress in the dining room. The food was adequate and well cooked, the selection was limited but we were able to eat every night, Shopping center was very varied and snacks were quite expensive at midday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We where a large goup staying in this hotel. In several rooms belongings where stolen. Someone wiho must have asset to key entered the rooms. The hotel stuff didn't help at all. Keep out of this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

The hotel is prominently situated on the front opposite the railway line where the trains go past about every 20 minutes but not through the night. Small mercy. You have to go through an underpass to get to the beach. The hotel is spotless but marred by the staff who really do not want to help you albeit for a very nice gentleman who is mainly there during the day. There is no inside bar but a small street front one outside.
The rooms are very old but clean. But believe me when I say it and others have said it, ITS THE NOISIEST HOTEL EVER.
You will not get a full nights sleep! The doors constantly bang shut everywhere, traffic noise and people just shouting all the time. The worst of it is that the hotel houses one of the three nightclubs for teenagers from Germany. The staff dont care about the disturbance but encourage them to parade through the streets for miles with a megaphone shouting. You can hear them coming for miles. We spoke to others and they said that every hotel was blighted with the teenagers. A German club called FunReisen brings them in and they are alone. Running wild. They have a mentor who is about as useless as a chocolate teapot. This resort is all German so for English forget it.
The hotel food is nondescript and for a vegetarian give up. You can only get salad and chips every day. You cant get a full English breakfast its only hard toast or croissants and cereal.
This hotel doesnt have English as there is nothing English in it not even the tourist boards are English.
If you are offered a room dont ask for poolside like we did, it doesnt exist. The pools in Calella are small, you are expected to go to the beach every day where it will cost you 4 euros for a sunbed and euros for an umbrella. The beach is vast but its small shingle and very hot, Shoes are needed not flip flops. Kids cant build sand castles here. The bars and restaurants are OK but a small meal for one will cost from 6 euros upwards. So when you cant eat the hotel food you booked its expensive.
Maid service comes everyday and changes the towels but not bedding. The balconies are grubby and there is no double glazing so you hear it all outside that is if you get a balcony. We spoke to others who had been squashed into a single room witha camp bed passing it off as a double and had no balcony and the room overlooked a massive building hole at the back. Nothing like saving the better rooms for the German teanagers!!! Overall we wnt because it was cheap and chearful, we got just that. The nightlife is good for shopping and strolling along the bars, but the German kids ruin it. If you took them away everyone would be happy. The locals throw water at them at night and wish they could move. Think very carefully before booking this one or any others along the front of Calella.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#21 of 43 in Calella
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haromar Hotel
Haromar Hotel
#32 of 43 in Calella
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#12 of 43 in Calella
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Checkin Garbi
Checkin Garbi
#27 of 43 in Calella
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#19 of 43 in Calella
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont-Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont-Rosa Hotel

Property: Mont-Rosa Hotel
Address: Paseo De Las Rocas, 13-25, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont-Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mont-Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing