We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Mont-Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont-Rosa Hotel
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed here for a week end September enjoyed our week there. Food was edible although not great bus was usual buffet fare. Only thing lacking was some music would have made a difference. Staff was pleasant and room was comfortable enough. Plenty of bars and eateries round about and just across from the beach. All in all an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

booked a weeks holidy with co-op travel did'nt check up about the hotel wish i had would never have gone .
the room looked like a converted store room with two beds only room for 1 chair on the so called balcony never sleept in the room ,the room was old and dirty and not enough room to swing a cat in it.
The air vent was full of dust and dirt god knows what we would have been breathing in ,this hotel doesn't need a refurb its need demoloshing. also had a problem with holiday taxi.com just be aware double check every thing with them not the best transfer company in the world, only good thing was richard the med hols rep who got us moved within ten mins so they must get complaints galore about this hotel
If you are thinking about going to this hotel DON'T!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garcal5664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

its cheap and i travelled in Aug when prices are quite high everywhere so i didnt expect much, but i was surprised that food (apart from breakfast which was average) was very good, plenty of choice, meat, fish, paella, salad bar, desserts, fresh fruits, soup, every day there was something different and really tasty, i put on weight a bit after that holiday, and desserts were delicious, water wasnt included which was a bit of a shock. Location is good, it wasnt noisy as i read in some reviews before i went and i hardly noticed the trains, staff..we argued with one receptionist and yes she wasnt very nice apart from her they tried their best. We only stayed couple of days so basic room wasnt a problem, the most important for us was beach right opposite and good choice of clubs and pubs. I would recommend it to ppl in their 20' or younger although if you want a cheap holiday in the town centre, its ok

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aniaj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

When arriving the hotel was clearly run down although the receptionist was very helpful despite being harassed by many Russian guests. The rooms had old furniture, uncomfortable beds, the floors were not that clean but overall we could have coped due to the location right opposite the beach.
The trains running right in front between the hotel and the beach made the balcony vibrate but the worst bit was the noise at night. The hotel has a night club to the side of the entrance and every night for 4 nights we were woken up in the early hours for several hours due to drunken shouting etc. Shutting the windows did nothing to stop the noise.

If you are up for a cheap stay and are a night owl out to party then stay here. If not, then stay away!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed in the Mont Rosa from 18th September -24th September all we paid for this holiday was £88 each for full board in this hotel and £88 each for a flight from Liverpool. Bearing this in mind we had pretty good value for money. Breakfast was continental with fruit, cereal ham and cheeses, tea, coffee or chocolate.
Lunch and Evening meal were all self service eat as much as you like and there was something there for everyone with soup, salad , main meal and dessert. Drinks with meals could be purchased in the restaurant.
We were initially on the 6th floor a room with a full sized patio door but NO balcony just a tile and a railing , to be honestly it looked totally UNSAFE, we had 2 nights of no sleep due to a noise up above, on enquiring at reception we were told the Laundry was on the 7th floor and was not supposed to be used between midnight and 7am , this was not the case it was going all night. We were offered a room on the 1st floor with a balcony , to be honest I think this was a single room that they put 2 beds in but at least we got sleep for the rest of our stay and got to sit on the balcony in the evening
The hotel was mostly Russian and German occupancy. The owner of the hotel is a Russian lady who did actually eat all meals in the dining room with guests.
There is NO bar inside the hotel only on the street outside and the hotel was not very happy if you took drinks inside, in fact one or two guests were stopped!
The pool area was very quiet but the pool was freezing!
We never found the bowling alley in the hotel? And Bob's disco was closed.
Alcohol prices were cheap in the hotel compared to other bars and restaurants
The furniture in the hotel was very dated and the whole place looked like it needed some TLC
Rooms have to be vacated at 10am on day of departure and we were initially told there were NO courtesy rooms, then the gentlemen on the desk said he would find us one but didn't know if there would be a shower, we never found out about one as on our last day it rained so we didn't need to freshen up before leaving
The beach is amazing, but beds and parasols cost 4 euros each but with your ticket you get a free beer at the beach bar.
Spaniards are few and far between in Calella, lots of Kebab shops, a lot of the gift shops are run by Asians and to be honest I think we only saw a handful of Spanish people. We did not feel that we were holidaying in Spain
If I had my time over again to do this holiday would I? Yes for the price I paid I would. Would I go back there again? To the hotel definitely not, to the resort? Probably not
There is also a nudist area at the far end of the beach which unfortunately we stumbled on when going to look at the caves. This is not advertised and there are no signs up.

Room Tip: I pretty much doubt there are any good rooms there if you are travelling from the UK it seems to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaz4rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

On arrival at hotel,greeted by miserable reception staff.Collected room key and used very
tiny lift up to the 6th floor.On entering room we were disgusted at the size and the furnishings with-in,It was nothing short of a dungeon,it was dark,stuffy and claustrophobic as well as extremely noisy, as the only small window looked out onto the air condtioning unit's of the other rooms.I agree the booking made was for an interior room,but it did not occur to us that this would not include a balcony of some sort.Lights were required constantly whilst in the room,and unsuitable if you are a reader.On enquiring of the possability to change room we were informed that over the last 12 months they had been in-undated with complaints by UK tourists as to the suitability of the hotel accommodation,also we were told that the hotel was not geared to the UK market as the Hotel was designed for eastern block countries only.

Room Tip: Never book an int room and try confirm room as requsted at time of booking,because you stand little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Disgruntled258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed at Mont Rosa as second part of 9day stay in calella-booking 3nights half board from 5th September. This whole holiday had been budget based but my husband & I know the area very well and aren't afraid to take a chance if reviews are otherwise unfavourable!
The facade of the hotel harks back to probably the seventies in its concrete blandness but inside the furnishings and decor are reminiscent of past grandeur in a very catalonian style, with large mirrors and paintings [take a look on the higher level corridors and stair wells], rickety, wooden, carved tall chests etc.
I had booked through my personal favourite website, taking "internal facing" to mean at the back of the hotel, probably looking out to street. That is what I got but unfortunately the only wondow was high up the wall with no view at all. The room was otherwise beautiful in its quant retro style and exceptionally clean but I'm a terror for a balcony so happily paid more for a beach facing room with large balcony! This room was huge, with an old wood door to entrance, corridor with 3 immense cupboard/wardrobes, decent size bathroom, which although very 70's in the ceramic department was fully functioning, clean and not at all slippy [unlike our previous hotel].
The staff were absolutely lovely and the food offered a good choice at evening meal, hot, with delicious desserts. Although my husband was disappointed to find only continental breakfast on offer, I couldn't find fault.
Being right opposite the long, shingle beach with the town 2 minutes away and the delights of the next town [Pineda] within a 40minute interesting and beautiful walk away, I can't think of anything that anyone could justifiably complain about. I'm saving up already to go back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a beach facing with balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#20 of 43 in Calella
228 reviews
0 mi away
Haromar Hotel
Haromar Hotel
#31 of 43 in Calella
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Espanya
ALEGRIA Espanya
#12 of 43 in Calella
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#29 of 43 in Calella
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont-Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont-Rosa Hotel

Address: Paseo De Las Rocas, 13-25, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range: £27 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont-Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mont-Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing