We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here. Belongings stolen!”
Review of Mont-Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont-Rosa Hotel
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We where a large goup staying in this hotel. In several rooms belongings where stolen. Someone wiho must have asset to key entered the rooms. The hotel stuff didn't help at all. Keep out of this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

The hotel is prominently situated on the front opposite the railway line where the trains go past about every 20 minutes but not through the night. Small mercy. You have to go through an underpass to get to the beach. The hotel is spotless but marred by the staff who really do not want to help you albeit for a very nice gentleman who is mainly there during the day. There is no inside bar but a small street front one outside.
The rooms are very old but clean. But believe me when I say it and others have said it, ITS THE NOISIEST HOTEL EVER.
You will not get a full nights sleep! The doors constantly bang shut everywhere, traffic noise and people just shouting all the time. The worst of it is that the hotel houses one of the three nightclubs for teenagers from Germany. The staff dont care about the disturbance but encourage them to parade through the streets for miles with a megaphone shouting. You can hear them coming for miles. We spoke to others and they said that every hotel was blighted with the teenagers. A German club called FunReisen brings them in and they are alone. Running wild. They have a mentor who is about as useless as a chocolate teapot. This resort is all German so for English forget it.
The hotel food is nondescript and for a vegetarian give up. You can only get salad and chips every day. You cant get a full English breakfast its only hard toast or croissants and cereal.
This hotel doesnt have English as there is nothing English in it not even the tourist boards are English.
If you are offered a room dont ask for poolside like we did, it doesnt exist. The pools in Calella are small, you are expected to go to the beach every day where it will cost you 4 euros for a sunbed and euros for an umbrella. The beach is vast but its small shingle and very hot, Shoes are needed not flip flops. Kids cant build sand castles here. The bars and restaurants are OK but a small meal for one will cost from 6 euros upwards. So when you cant eat the hotel food you booked its expensive.
Maid service comes everyday and changes the towels but not bedding. The balconies are grubby and there is no double glazing so you hear it all outside that is if you get a balcony. We spoke to others who had been squashed into a single room witha camp bed passing it off as a double and had no balcony and the room overlooked a massive building hole at the back. Nothing like saving the better rooms for the German teanagers!!! Overall we wnt because it was cheap and chearful, we got just that. The nightlife is good for shopping and strolling along the bars, but the German kids ruin it. If you took them away everyone would be happy. The locals throw water at them at night and wish they could move. Think very carefully before booking this one or any others along the front of Calella.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Springy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

was a bit nervous about staying here after reading previous reviews on this site and others and my fears were founded. we were put in a single room with a cot for my teenage daughter. the furniture was old but i did like that. the bathroom unfortunately was also old and not very nice - 1/2 baths which you don't bother with as baths are not somthing you want to lie in. you have no control over the air conditioning, it only comes on when the balcony (not that we had one) door was shut and the room got to a certain temperature, not sure what this was but it was unbearable so had to have the door open. beds are made every day, but sheets were not changed during our stay!

i have stayed in a lot of hotels and i have to say this was the nosiest, inside and outside. hotel is used in the summer by groups of german teenagers so avoid in july, august and september if you want a quiter holiday. we were half board and the food was buffet style, we only eat 3 evenings as the food was not really to our liking but there was always plenty and hot. staff were friendly and most spoke some english.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyrobier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We've stayed at the hotel in a perfect period: 27 September - 4 October and we had the luck to find in the city the Ocktober Fest Festival, a period with musing and a lot of beer.
The hotel is very clean, every day our room was cleaned, and we had a beautiful sea view.
The furniture is old, but it is OK, the beds have very pretty decorations, and were very comfortable.
We had breakfast and dinner and the food was OK. Many dishes to choose from, fruits, cakes and ice cream. The prices for drinks were not high.
The personal was very nice, but didn't speak English, it was more with 'hands language'.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank iulias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evgeny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank carlos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Возможно,не интериор симпатичнее.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#20 of 43 in Calella
228 reviews
0 mi away
Haromar Hotel
Haromar Hotel
#31 of 43 in Calella
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
ALEGRIA Espanya
ALEGRIA Espanya
#13 of 43 in Calella
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Safari
Aparthotel Safari
#19 of 43 in Calella
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont-Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont-Rosa Hotel

Address: Paseo De Las Rocas, 13-25, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range: £28 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont-Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mont-Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing