We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for a 3 Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent for a 3 Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Two prominent items are worth a mention in relation to the President.
Firstly the cleanliness. The staff keep it very clean. The bedrooms, the corridors, the bar, the pool, the restaurant, everywhere is kept very clean.
Secondly the food. The choice in the Restaurant for a 3 star is very good. The food is well prepared and the staff are always replacing items. We were there for only 4 nights, 3 of which were themed dinners, the Mexican one being our favourite.
The restaurant does get busy so they stagger your dinner times but this wasnt a problem. The drinks trolley staff are excellent and there is no evening dress code so for men shorts are not a problem.
We were also amazed at the drinks prices. 2.20 Euros for a pint of Estrella, 2.00 Euros for a Soberano, 6 Euros for a litre of house wine and 7.50 Euros for a litre of Sangria. Excellent value for a hotel.
The hotels has numerous nationalities as guests, you will not hear English spoken very often but all the staff speak perfect English. The guests are mainly Russian, French, Belgian and Spanish with other visitors from Czech Republic, Hungary and Scandinavia. There are no UK travel operators here but it doesnt cause a problem.
Wi Fi was free in the bar/ reception area.
Would we visit again, Yes, but next time we will pay extra for a Pool View Room as I believe they are the quietest. We were on the front and 2 nights out of the 4 suffered from noise in relation to the 2 nearby discos.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Pool View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    189
    56
    9
    5
See reviews for
162
145
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ELLESMERE PORT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are looking for a family hotel with great food,and friendly staff look no further than this 3* hotel.We arranged our 5 night stay as a last minute break booking direct with the hotel.We had stayed in Calella before but not at the hotel President.The room was perfectly adequate for our needs with a nice walk in shower which always had piping hot water.The food on offer was far better than one could expect for a 3*,the cuts of meat was of a very high standard and and there was no delay bringing out fresh dishes which were cooked to perfection with sauces to die for.The hotel was kept spotless by a large cleaning staff,and the whole of the hotel staff seemed to be a very happy bunch.The receptionist informed us that we would be picked up at 07.40 on our last day,and although breakfast was not served till 8am,she just told us to be at the restaurant for 7am and they would open it up for us,now that is what I call superb customer service but it was just typical of this lovely hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the hotel front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONTY2674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just got back from another holiday in Calella and always stay at the Hotel President, this must be our eighth stay and it was as good as ever. Its really good value for money, the rooms are basic but clean and each has a balcony and even free WiFi - it even worked in our room but no hairdryer. The food is always excellent - we prefer to stay half board - the bar prices are cheap - and the staff are great. There are supermarkets, entertainment, bars and fast food just across the road and its only a 10 minute walk to the beach or the main shopping centre. There are always spare sun beds around the pool if you prefer to stay close. Calella is a great place to stay as you can be in Barcelona by train in less than an hour or catch a boat up or down the coast to another resort. Plenty of shops and places to eat and many of them stay open late and its as safe to walk out as any place can be. There is a street market at the far end on a Wednesday with loads of stalls and in the centre there are often festivals taking place. Yes we've stayed in hotels at other resorts costing far more but for value for money its a winner and far better than the other hotels close by - we did stay at another Calella hotel once. If I had to criticise - there are very few English speaking TV channels in the room, it can get a bit noisy around the pool at night and the buffet times are very tight but that's about it - if you want a good holiday on a budget then Hotel President takes some beating

Room Tip: We pay extra to have a balcony overlooking the pool but it can get noisy at night around the pool if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel president is a fantastic hotel, it's staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are cleaned to a high standard as are the pool areas and seating areas, the nightly entertainment is very good and the food is to a high standard, we have used the President for many years an will use it for years to come

Room Tip: Family run hotel, warm and welcoming staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richmul24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent 10 days in September 2013, a good time to stay because it is not so busy, a lot of space on the beach and at the pool there is no problem with sun beds, good location only 5 minutes to town and the beach, very good food, rooms of a good standard,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lukasz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the President from the 2nd October to 11th October 2013 and found the hotel to be of a very good standard,the bedrooms were very comfortable we had a high floor room with pool view.The quality of food in the restaurant was very good,much better than hotels close to the President which we stayed in on previous visits to Calella,entertainment not really geared for the British,but Beach boys bar and Papas bar are both close by.The staff in general were very good,F
for the price paid the hotel was good value and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I must have been reading the wrong reviews or went to the wrong hotel, although the hotel was clean and most of the staff very helpful there are a lot of minor things that build up to spoil a holiday.
The rooms have 2 dining chairs in the bedroom to sit on ,not the most comfortable to sit and read, there are no hooks in the bathroom to hang your clothes on when you go for a shower.
No drawers in the room only open shelves, meaning that if the cleaner swept the floor any dust in the air went on the clothes.
I asked at reception where the nearest Taxi rank was and THE RECEPTIONIST SAID SHE WOULD RING FOR ONE AS THNERE WAS NO EXTRA CHARGHE TO PICK US UP ,HOWEVER WHEN WE REACHED OUR DROP OFF POINT THE DRIVER ADDED 1.20 EURO AS A CHARGE FOR COMING TO THE HOTEL HE SAID IT WAS STANDARD PRACTICE AND ALL HOTELS KNEW THIS.
On querying with the hotel on our return they admitted that it was correct but also let slip that they get a commission for every taxi booked .so they lie to make extra money.
The entertainment usually started at about 10.00pm and was not impressive at all.
A 3 star hotel that needs a lot of improvement it is no wonder no British tour operators will go there.
The food was only just passible I do not understand from what we were offered how people can say how great it is..
We had 2 days of sun and 5 of cold and cloudy including thunder, lightning ,and rain making it cold especially in the rooms ,but when I asked about using the heating part of the air con I was told it was summer and 16 degrees was not cold.

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron Findlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#4 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#16 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Valldebanador, 31-37, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Calella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel President 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Calella
Hotel President Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing