We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to be back”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our 4th visit to The President with our last one being about 6 years ago and it's still as good as our last visit. How this hotel can only be 3* i dont know given the high standard it is.
All the staff are still as friendly and helpful with many being the same ones from our 1st visit 10 years ago.
The rooms have been updated recently and are a good size and cleaned everyday to a very high standard, the same as the rest of the hotel.
The pools are very good with more than enough space around them for all the sunloungers so you never felt crowded and the pool bar is very good and provideds a small selection of bar snacks for lunch time but there is also waiter service provided from the main bar as well.
We stayed on a half board basis and the restuarant is more than big enough that you can always get a table no matter what time you decide to go in. The quality and choice of food is excellent,and is buffet style, with more than enough to chose from even for the most pickist of eaters. Whilst we were there we had 2 "theme" nights being Italian (our favorite) and Mexican.
The entertainment was ok but thats just me being hard to please as many people really enjoyed it.
After dinner we used to walk down to Calella town (only about 10 mins walk away) which has had a lot spent on it over recent years with the and now has a lovely boulavard with many street cafes.
There are very few English in the hotel with the rest being a mixture of mostly Spanish & French but with also a Germans, Poles and Dutch.
WiFi is provided but only in the Reception area (officially) but could also be picked up in our room (1st floor) but i don't know if it was just us but seemes to be a bit hit and miss at times.
We can't wait ot come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walsall22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    192
    56
    9
    5
See reviews for
164
150
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we came here after being recommended by me parents who have been here 5 times, we came i july 2013 for our honeymoon, then we came back july 2014 for our 1st anniversary.
hotel food is lovely,we went full board,
staff are great in the restaurant,very friendly. room cleaned every day.
everywhere clean,
5 mins walk to beach or you can get little train, drivers very friendly and helpful,
20 mins walk to main train station
only thing which isnt anygood is the entertainment, other than that i cannot fault the place, if you need to know anymore email me at scoupland@live.co.uk

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good location, about 350 meters from the beach, close to the town's main streets. Rooms are regular and moderate though clean. High quality and wide range of local and international food at the buffet restaurant make it the best value for money for a 3-star hotel. Every staff member is not only friendly but very helpful. Daily and nightly entertainment for adults and kids including mini-disco. President has always been the best holiday option in Calella for our family (with 2 juniors) as we had stayed three or four times there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank optimist03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Pros:
- rooms are basic, but clean (the cleaning process was made daily, including changing towels);
- the bed was large and comfortable;
- the view from the balcony wherefrom we could see the Mediterranean Sea;
- location of the hotel at approximately 7 minutes walk from the beach;
- the bus station in front of the hotel (for example, the cost of a trip for two persons to the train station is around 5 euros);
- the hotel's restaurant is the main attraction; the variety (from the Mexican night to the Sea Food night, American night or Italian night), taste and presentation could easily compete with a 4-star hotel;
- the staff was very nice and helpful, trying to do their best;
- night entertainment, including special surprises for kids.

Cons:
- poor room insulation;
- WI-FI only in the lobby area where the signal was weak;
- old safe box.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet night sleep, avoid the rooms with "pool view" and ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drogba0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 8 night break with our 2 sons aged 7 & 4. If you are looking for a great value family hotel, this is the place. We went full board in the hotel as I had read previous reviews which the standard of the food featured a lot. The buffet is excellent, quality of food is really good, and caters well for the kids. The hotel is spotless, rooms cleaned daily, and general cleanliness in and outside the hotel is at the highest level. We took a poolside view which I would recommend as it is very quiet, and you have a nice little view up into the hills overlooking the pool. Kids used the kids club towards the end of the holiday which they really enjoyed. There is also a nice little playground at the back of the pool area which is suited for smaller children. Entertainment in the hotel varied from local music and dancing to kids shows, but there was something on each night. Bar prices were very reasonable with a pint and bottle of local beer costing less than €4. One of the main characteristics of the President is the friendliness of the staff. From the receptionists, bar and restaurant, we were always greeted with a very warm welcome and top service. We will have no hesitation to go back to this hotel. If you are happy to go the route of a hotel room with balcony, the value for money for this hotel is excellent given the quality of food and facilities. The hotel is also nicely situated with a nice stroll to the old town, shopping and beach. I would like to thank the staff of the President for giving us a great holiday, we will be back !

Room Tip: Poolside is the quietest side to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It is the main feelings that stayed in my heart after my visit of this hotel - they are glad to see me. it is a very seldom feeling, frankly speaking. The staff is not simply kind and polite - they are very helpful and every minute are ready to asssist you. The hotel is very big and in June it was full of guests but (I can't understand how they did it) they always had time just for you personally. It was very pleasant. What is more, the hotel is very clean. The food was fresh and various:there were days of Italian, Mexican,Catalonian cuisines. I was pleased that the room was rather large with own balcony. The hotel has its own territory with two swimming-pools. Every evening they have special programm for guests. But take into consideration that this programmes last up to 01.00 a.m. So if you like to get sleeping early, ask the room facing not to the pools. it was not problem for us because we returned to the hotel rather late, but somebody can have problems...And a small disadvantage - a safe is old and has a fee. On the other hand- they guarantee a free wi-fi only in public places but there was a very nice connection in our room.

Room Tip: rooms face to pools have a good view but rather loud rooms face to the street don't have view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana_Jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Two prominent items are worth a mention in relation to the President.
Firstly the cleanliness. The staff keep it very clean. The bedrooms, the corridors, the bar, the pool, the restaurant, everywhere is kept very clean.
Secondly the food. The choice in the Restaurant for a 3 star is very good. The food is well prepared and the staff are always replacing items. We were there for only 4 nights, 3 of which were themed dinners, the Mexican one being our favourite.
The restaurant does get busy so they stagger your dinner times but this wasnt a problem. The drinks trolley staff are excellent and there is no evening dress code so for men shorts are not a problem.
We were also amazed at the drinks prices. 2.20 Euros for a pint of Estrella, 2.00 Euros for a Soberano, 6 Euros for a litre of house wine and 7.50 Euros for a litre of Sangria. Excellent value for a hotel.
The hotels has numerous nationalities as guests, you will not hear English spoken very often but all the staff speak perfect English. The guests are mainly Russian, French, Belgian and Spanish with other visitors from Czech Republic, Hungary and Scandinavia. There are no UK travel operators here but it doesnt cause a problem.
Wi Fi was free in the bar/ reception area.
Would we visit again, Yes, but next time we will pay extra for a Pool View Room as I believe they are the quietest. We were on the front and 2 nights out of the 4 suffered from noise in relation to the 2 nearby discos.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Pool View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wakor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#4 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#15 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Valldebanador, 31-37, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#5 Family Hotel in Calella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel President 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Calella
Hotel President Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing