We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“16th-20th sept Calella ! Gem of a hotel”
Review of ALEGRIA Espanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALEGRIA Espanya
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

First Impressions:
firstly your transfer bus drops you off about 300yrds from hotel as the streets are very narrow. wasn't a problem for us at midnight, but if you have young children, i could imagine it could be.

Was given room 113 on arrival. please beware this room has no privacy as it overlooks courtyard on corner where everyone is drinking and smoking .. very noisy. did not help the fact we were very tired and a guy was wailing and playing guitar! night staff advised us there were no other rooms available and to return to reception in the morning..

Woke the next morning..went to reception and advised Anastasia on reception there of our lack of sleep and privacy....(Now this is where Fergus Espanya shines.. the staff)... she was very helpful and apologetic for our lack of sleep and insisted she would find us a room elsewhere. we informed her a little noise is ok but no privacy is unacceptable. another room was found on the back of the hotel 319b which we accepted with a great view over the old town to the mountains in the distance..ac remotely controlled and ice cold at the touch of a button ...

the hotel itself kinda has a small cosy feel .very clean.. unlike some of the large hotels we have stayed in before and wow what a location!!!! virtually on the beach 50 yards from all the shopping you could want and 100yrds to the train station with opportunity to travel all along the coast to Barcelona very cheaply unlike trains here in the UK.

Food And Drink:
We always found something tasty to eat every meal.have read reports of food being cold but this was not an issue during our stay.our drink requests where taken as soon as we were seated and the staff are always working hard to ensure food items are replaced and dirty dishes are removed.. always with a smile and a hola!!! even though these are some of the hardest working staff i have encountered..Well done!! easy to tell the eastern europeans though with there plates piled high! amusing :)

Calella And Surrounding Area:
Calella is a beautiful town steeped in history and culture.there is a main shopping street which stretches for over a mile towards Pineda with a vast array of shops. not all selling the same tourist tat you see in some resorts.nice cafe/bars to people watch and pass the time of day..
Calella felt very safe and doesn't seem to have too many problems with anti social behaviour.. which is reassuring if travelling with children.. The beach is a gem.. a little coarse but plenty of room for everyone with very reasonable beach bars..Glad we stayed towards the old town end as i would imagine the western side of Calella with all the larger hotels could get a bit rowdy..a very clean resort and i mean clean . no litter anywhere.. it seems like the catalonian people take pride in their towns.I guess calella is a little more authentic than most resorts with a mix of locals and tourists..

Overall:
Im not going to bore you any longer but if you are looking for a nice, small friendly hotel with beautiful views. Where every staff member from cleaners to the manager..(who incidently was always mingling with guests asking if everything was ok...top marks for this) has a smile and are very helpful. a good solid 4 1/2 out of 5.. would have full 5 if the balcony doors were double glazed.. (slight noise issues) ,a fridge in the room and free safe...

Special mention to Anastasia who was very helpful and always had time to chat to us asking how our day had been and offering advice.. was hard to find anything to critisise and thoroughly enjoyed our stay..will return but will use train to transfer due to frequency and closer than drop off point.. a little gem of a hotel.....

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the inner courtyard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sufcgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Sufc gav,
Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us.
All the staff is really grateful for your kindly words. The opinion of our guests is very important for us, and all the reviews are helpfully for know what we can improve or change.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and also in our city. We are sorry for the first day that you couldn’t sleep well, we know that the rest is very important in a hotel, but we are pleased that we could change the room and solve the problem.
The double glazed is a project in progress. All the staff is really grateful, the kitchen staff is happy that you relished with meals, also bar staff is thankful for the mention and Anastasia is really delighted for your words about her. All the fergus staff works together for make the holidays of our guests the most pleasantly as possible.
We also appreciate that you like our city. Calella is an interesting city full of activities for all ages, shopping, cafés, sports, aquatic activities…night clubs... but at same time is quiet and relaxing place.
We will be pleased if you come back to our hotel in next holidays.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

stayed at espanya sept 06 to 13 2013.superb, from when we arrived receptionist really helpfull.room 201 brilliant very spacious cleaned everyday clean towels: looks out to med:.restaurant great lovely choice of food even for fussy eaters.anna the waitress could not do enough for you she seems to be there all the time.bar area and outside area compact but always clean,only down side was mohammed the barman could be grumpy.samuel was fab always cheery.defo stay here again .train station 5 min walk away great for days out,train line run in front of hotel but you hardly notice it room tip:front facing

Room Tip: front facing look out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pimbo2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Pimbo2401,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and our city. All our staff is grateful for your words, the kitchen staff is really glad to know that you relished with the food, also the reception staff is delighted to have been helpfully in your arrival. Specials regards from Ana-Maria and Samuel. Mohamed is really sorry if he sometimes has been grumpy with you. We hope that you decided to come back to our hotel soon.

Kindly regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just returned from 12 nights stay at this hotel. We enjoyed our stay at Espanya and we got what we expected. The rooms are little small, but we only used it for sleep , so no problem. The food was pretty good, with lot of choice, fruits, vegetables and sweets.Really enjoyed Catalan and Andaluzian evening in restaurant. We were AI-good variaton of drinks on bar, coffee, tea-
really satisfy. Thanks go to really nice staff-especially i must mention Samuel at bar and Anna
in restaurant, but all the staff were helpful and nice with smile on face. I like to say helllo to 3 Czech girls at restaurant-Dakujeme a prajeme všetko dobre!
We didnt have problem during our stay, so we had very good and memorable holiday.
I fully recomend this hotel and i would definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fruscie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Fruscie,

Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, the kitchen staff is very happy to know that you relished with the food, and all our workers are glad for your kindly words, in special Samuel, Ana and the three Czech girls.
Don’t hesitate to visit us if you decided comeback to calella.

Srdečné pozdravy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our first family holiday abroad, so we were a bit apprehensive about what to expect, but we were put at ease as soon as arrived at our hotel. The receptionist was easy to understand and she understood us too. Hotel was lovely and clean, we had two rooms but were a little disappointed to find out rooms were not next to each other, but wasn't a problem. Had a fantastic choice of food, waiters and waitresses were very efficient they cleared our tables very quickly, served us drinks during lunch and dinner and were all very pleasant. Bar staff were also very helpful. we were very happy with everything in our hotel. Entertainment was just enough in the evening. we were all inclusive which gave us food and drink all day which was very good as it was so hot children were able to drink as much as they wanted. there is a train track at front of hotel but again isn't a problem very useful if you wanted a trip to Barcelona only an hour away. The town of Calella can be noisy but not a problem as noise doesn't last long. Hotel is very close to shops and there are a good variety shops. Overall this hotel was lovely and made our holiday perfect, a big thank you to everyone at the Hotel Espanya :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Dear Lynette S,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
We are sorry if we couldn’t give you rooms next to each other, we always try to put friends or families together, but sometimes when the hotel is full it’s not possible. If you decided to come back, you can request it in your booking.
We are delighted with your nice words. All the staff of the hotel is happy to hear that you enjoyed your first holidays abroad. Calella could be a little bit noisy in summer because we have a lot of animation, locals, bars, pubs, restaurants...Also discos and concerts...But in the winter it’s more quiet.
We will be pleased if you come back to our hotel.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We got back yesterday from Espanya , Hotel is very clean, staff from the manager to chamber maids and the maintenance guy are always polite helpful and cheerful.

The children were given a lovely gift of a lucky bag type thing with sweets and small toys, on arrival that's was a great touch.

Rooms were nice a bit small for 4 of us but how much time do u really spend inside the room, air con was cool and individually controlled, bathrooms were lovely providing you with some toiletries and again very clean, not a lot of storage space that is the only down side, but you know what you just suck it up!

The hotel manager is completely approachable, and comes around the dinning room talking to guest which is lovely, he even spoke to my son who is Autistic, O never talks to strangers' but was so pleased the manager new his name and asked him how is Asthma was, O ran back to me to tell me about his conversation I felt this was a lovely personal touch and lovely that he finds the time to talk to all guests, (we never told anyone about his Autism so they would not have known, but he made O feel so comfortable).

The food (we were All Inclusive) was of a great standard always on the hot side of warm, lots of choice, not just the usual A.I stuff, every night had a theme and the menu was according to that, even little props around the room changed to match the theme, they have a chocolate fountain and fresh made pancakes for desert with fruits, flambés and sauces, the kids loved choosing what to have, the record was set as 7! ( I'm not surprised my eldest ( age 13) was feeling sick after!,also fruit, ice cream and cakes.
Breakfast was also great again lots of choice different types of cakes and pastries, croissants the usual continental ham and cheese, fresh bread rolls bacon eggs cereal etc etc

The bar you hand over cards and get what you like to drink in a lovely glass not the normal plastic cups, so a pint was actually a pint! when u take your glass back to the bar you get your card back, if you want to take a drink up to the pool you just say and get a large plastic beaker, Spanish law prevents having glasses at a pool side, the same return the cup get the card back, which also means 1 person can order all 4 drinks if they have all the cards, a lot easier with a family. also keeps the hotel tidy as you don't see It littered with plastic cups, you can have crisp and chocolate snacks peanut M and M things from the bar on your A.I.

At meal times they bring your drink to the table the waitress takes your drinks order.

The pool is small but we never found it overly busy always a sun lodger/chair, but the beach is a stones throw away, when at the beach be careful with little ones as the water suddenly drops from knee/thigh high to above your head in one step, was rather funny watching my husband run in showing off the disappearing coming up spitting mouth full of sea water!!

All in all this was a great hotel, we always go some were different every year to show the children different parts of the world, but we do have a Hotel Espanya bug and are already looking to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bell19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear bell19,
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
We are delighted with your words and it’s a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed completely your holidays in our hotel and in our town. We take very seriously the reviews of our guests, and we feel so proud to know that all our work makes your stay in our hotel a great experience. All our staff is glad for your mentions, we always work together to try to meeting the expectations of our guests. We will be pleased if you come back to our hotel.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Me my husband and son hve just returned from eho espanya, thoroughly enjoyed our holiday lovely staff especially samuel the barman, very close to the beach and surrounded by proper spanish tapas bars, half price drinks after all inc finished, food fine good variety, only downside pool very small with no bar. Overall a great holiday thoroughly enjoyed it, manager was very friendly and u know u cld approach him with any problems

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieennis1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear marieennis1968,
Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, it’s very important for us the opinion of our guests, and we are delighted with your kindly words, especially the barman who send you regards. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you come back to Spain.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location of the hotel is very good as it is right on the front so just 2 min walk to the beach. Also, they have a deal on with a beach bar where you can get 2 drinks (incl. alcoholic) and 2 sunbeds for 6 euros which is held for you all day.

We had a slight issue where a twin room instead of a double had been booked. They didn't have anything available for us to change to that day but the manager (nice man with glasses!) made sure that as soon as possible we were moved. Special mention to this manager and to the barman (with the spiky hair) who were lovely and helpful. The other barmen and night manager were surly at best.

The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean and very adequate. If possible ask for a sea view bedroom as it will be quieter (and obviously nicer view)

The food was pretty awful, I'm not sure where the other reviewers have been eating. Luke warm and none of it seemed to match. I am a vegetarian so the selection for hot food was very pitiful. The rest of my party said the meat options were a little better. I will note that the salad selection was good.

Bar selection was varied and you could choose either brand names or cheaper local ones. The local beer was very good.

Overall the hotel is quite good value, in a good location and with *some* excellent staff members but if you are a foodie type I would not recommend eating here.

Room Tip: Sea view - it is quieter (and obviously prettier).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear ezNW,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. We found the online reviews very helpfully for know what our guest think about us and it’s a way to try to improve. So we shall note about the point of the food. We are happy for your words and we are sorry for the misunderstanding with some workers, we assure that all the staff always does everything possible for meeting the expectations of our guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can demonstrate the level of service that we are known for.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summer Hotel Calella Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#20 of 43 in Calella
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Espanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Espanya

Address: Carre Anselm Clave 80, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Espanya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £32 - £819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Espanya 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Espanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espanya Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing