We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for 3 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALEGRIA Espanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ALEGRIA Espanya
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for 3 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is good hotel for its 3 stars. Rooms are clean and looking fresh. Food is good, but if you stay longer than for a week, it's getting bored. You are lucky if you get room which windows going to the backyard. In front of the hotel, from about 5 a.m., all the time going noisy train. We were there with the kid, so he was afraid that noise while sleeping. But service is good, we changed the room without any problem!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Lu L,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us. All the staff is grateful for your words. Our hotel is in the center of Calella, the advantages are the beach, the train station just five minutes walking, and the proximity to the main road, full of pubs, cafes and shops. But this also has some disadvantages like the sound of the train, or the noise in the summer when the city is more crowded. We are happy that the problem was solved with the change of room and your kid could sleep well and also enjoyed the family holidays.
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    113
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
83
106
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Me & my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the 3rd October for 5 days. Can't really complain really. Our first night wasnt a really good start. My boyfriend could not get his case opened the lock on it was jammed. I went to reception and spoke to a young woman who really wasnt helpful at all. Woman advised handy man would be in tomorrow morning could
Get case opened but that was no use to us. I know it wasnt really her fault but she didn't seemed to want to help us. Also we were charged 15 euros for all inclusive bands which know one told we had to pay for she advised
We would get this back
At the end of the holiday but we never did . These were the only
Faults of the holiday and the hotel
Is quite hard to find
When you come off your
Transfer luckily there was another
Couple on the same bus as us that showed us to hotel. Anyways that was the only
Fault. Samuel at your bar kindly offered to help get our case opened and managed to get this opened , all the other staff were lovey behind the bar. The food was good loads to
Choose
From
And the buffet snacks available throughout the day. The roof top pool was lovey bit of a pain there isn't a bar there
But guessing this is for health and safety reasons. Pool was freezing
Maybe should have it heated in the colder months ? Maids were great they left the room spotless every time they cleaned. The manager was lovey too always said hello which I thought was nice. I think the hotel should play more music In the bar areA maybe a bit of everything . All round was a great wee hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VGKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear VGKM,

Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us in Tripadvisor Community!
First of all, we are very sorry to read that not all has been like you expected. All our staff is very helpful and always makes all is possible for made the stay of our guests the best as possible.
About the all inclusive, I don’t know what happened, we always give a paper with all the information. For that reason I think that was a misunderstanding.
On the other hand we are very pleased to know that despite the drawbacks you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and all our staff is glad for your words, the maids, the kitchen workers, the bar staff, in special Samuel.
We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I can only echo all thet has been said,exellent hotel and staff,the espanya is ideal for friends,couples or family,the rooms are very clean,with beach towels robes also provided,making this hotel an exellent place to stay.

Room Tip: front of the hotel if you do not mind the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steverobert-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Steverovert,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of us on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are happy to read that your holiday meeting your expectations and all our staff is glad for your words about us. We always try to make all possible for guarantee a nice stay in our hotel.We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had a four day stay last month whilst holidaying through this side of Spain,the staff are all exellent,all are very pleasant.The buffet breakfast and buffet evening meals were of a good standard,i had a top floor room with miles upon miles of sea views,the room was furnished to a high standard.The hotel is only three minutes from the railway station,and nicely placed for the old town or a ten minute walk to Roca Pins cliff beaches,the espanya offers real good value,it would not be easy to fault this hotel.

Room Tip: a room at the front the sea views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevedgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Stevedegal,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Fergus Espanya within the Tripadvisor Community.
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and also in our city.
We already passed your kindly comments to our staff, and I am sure it will encourage them to continue improving! In special the kitchen staff is really pleased to read that you enjoy with the food.
We appreciate your words about Calella. We are lucky for our location, near to train, perfect for make excursions and discover other beautiful places of our coast. And in front of our beaches, offering us and our guests a wonderful view.
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great for adults everyone from the reception to the cleaning staff were friendly polite and a pleasure to be with. Only drawback is its not for children as the roof pool was not a great idea with a little toddler in tow and some nights the food was not to my liking but there was always something to eat from the menu. I would totally recommend this hotel for adults as the beach was amazing and we had a wonderful time in spite of the drawback of the pool. Callella was having a three day fiesta which was awesome to say in the least.

Room Tip: opt for the front facing rooms on 6th floor would be my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann marie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Ann Marie F

Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us.
We appreciate all the comments as they are valuable in order to improve our services.
We are sorry to read that our food wasn´t always to your liking and we hope that our swimming pool don’t supposed a drawback if you decided to choose us again for a next holidays.
On the other hand we are glad to read that you are happy with our hotel and our staff. It’s a motivation to keep providing the best service possible. We also like that you get out the most of Calella and the festival.
We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Can't agree enough with all the good comments below .Luis (the manager) the receptionists, the three Annas ,Elizabeth, Samuel ,Mohammed the rest of the staff (we did not get to find out their names) were all great. We even managed to get a smile from Mohammed !! Guests all seemed to enjoy each others company, I think due to the lovely staff. The hotel has a great situation, even with the railway line, so near to town and beach. Calella has a really wonderful Catalunian atmosphere especially during the Festival which happened during our first few days there. Thank you all from the 6 ladies who had a great holiday and are now home for a rest!

Room Tip: Pot luck- some may like front or back or some courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meglargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Meglargs,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
It´s a pleasure read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciate the work that we make together for made the holidays of our guests the most pleasant as possible. Be sure that we will transmit your kindly words to all our staff to motivate them even more.
For us is also a satisfaction your words about our town. Calella is a fantastic place to get what you are searching, doesn’t matter if you look for relax or festival ambient. There’s a place for everyone.
We hope you choose us for a next holiday; you always are welcomed to our hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

First Impressions:
firstly your transfer bus drops you off about 300yrds from hotel as the streets are very narrow. wasn't a problem for us at midnight, but if you have young children, i could imagine it could be.

Was given room 113 on arrival. please beware this room has no privacy as it overlooks courtyard on corner where everyone is drinking and smoking .. very noisy. did not help the fact we were very tired and a guy was wailing and playing guitar! night staff advised us there were no other rooms available and to return to reception in the morning..

Woke the next morning..went to reception and advised Anastasia on reception there of our lack of sleep and privacy....(Now this is where Fergus Espanya shines.. the staff)... she was very helpful and apologetic for our lack of sleep and insisted she would find us a room elsewhere. we informed her a little noise is ok but no privacy is unacceptable. another room was found on the back of the hotel 319b which we accepted with a great view over the old town to the mountains in the distance..ac remotely controlled and ice cold at the touch of a button ...

the hotel itself kinda has a small cosy feel .very clean.. unlike some of the large hotels we have stayed in before and wow what a location!!!! virtually on the beach 50 yards from all the shopping you could want and 100yrds to the train station with opportunity to travel all along the coast to Barcelona very cheaply unlike trains here in the UK.

Food And Drink:
We always found something tasty to eat every meal.have read reports of food being cold but this was not an issue during our stay.our drink requests where taken as soon as we were seated and the staff are always working hard to ensure food items are replaced and dirty dishes are removed.. always with a smile and a hola!!! even though these are some of the hardest working staff i have encountered..Well done!! easy to tell the eastern europeans though with there plates piled high! amusing :)

Calella And Surrounding Area:
Calella is a beautiful town steeped in history and culture.there is a main shopping street which stretches for over a mile towards Pineda with a vast array of shops. not all selling the same tourist tat you see in some resorts.nice cafe/bars to people watch and pass the time of day..
Calella felt very safe and doesn't seem to have too many problems with anti social behaviour.. which is reassuring if travelling with children.. The beach is a gem.. a little coarse but plenty of room for everyone with very reasonable beach bars..Glad we stayed towards the old town end as i would imagine the western side of Calella with all the larger hotels could get a bit rowdy..a very clean resort and i mean clean . no litter anywhere.. it seems like the catalonian people take pride in their towns.I guess calella is a little more authentic than most resorts with a mix of locals and tourists..

Overall:
Im not going to bore you any longer but if you are looking for a nice, small friendly hotel with beautiful views. Where every staff member from cleaners to the manager..(who incidently was always mingling with guests asking if everything was ok...top marks for this) has a smile and are very helpful. a good solid 4 1/2 out of 5.. would have full 5 if the balcony doors were double glazed.. (slight noise issues) ,a fridge in the room and free safe...

Special mention to Anastasia who was very helpful and always had time to chat to us asking how our day had been and offering advice.. was hard to find anything to critisise and thoroughly enjoyed our stay..will return but will use train to transfer due to frequency and closer than drop off point.. a little gem of a hotel.....

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the inner courtyard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sufcgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Sufc gav,
Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us.
All the staff is really grateful for your kindly words. The opinion of our guests is very important for us, and all the reviews are helpfully for know what we can improve or change.
We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and also in our city. We are sorry for the first day that you couldn’t sleep well, we know that the rest is very important in a hotel, but we are pleased that we could change the room and solve the problem.
The double glazed is a project in progress. All the staff is really grateful, the kitchen staff is happy that you relished with meals, also bar staff is thankful for the mention and Anastasia is really delighted for your words about her. All the fergus staff works together for make the holidays of our guests the most pleasantly as possible.
We also appreciate that you like our city. Calella is an interesting city full of activities for all ages, shopping, cafés, sports, aquatic activities…night clubs... but at same time is quiet and relaxing place.
We will be pleased if you come back to our hotel in next holidays.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#3 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#11 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Espanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Espanya

Property: ALEGRIA Espanya
Address: Carre Anselm Clave 80, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Espanya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Espanya 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your ALEGRIA Espanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espanya Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing