We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go if you're english”
Review of ALEGRIA Espanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ALEGRIA Espanya
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“don't go if you're english”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor, ok the staff were pleasant, nothing less than I expected, the room was clean again nothing less than I expected, the view from the hotel room was unpleasant as we were looking on ramshackle buildings and washing also a derelict property. the food was the problem, never in all the years of holidaying in Spain was I offered Pigs Cheeks, very boney rabbit stew I think it was, all you could see were bones, every meat offering was the very cheapest cuts with a lot of bones, there was salad from morning till night but it was sat out all day just being topped up, after evening meal it was collected and was out again next day.A few dishes if not eaten were back on the menu the next day cold. There was chips on for breakfast dinner and tea, is that all they think English eat?
I don't want to sound as if I'm very picky but never has this sort of food been offered, some days we could not eat anything other than chips and salad, I did complain to reception but as the manager was not in the hotel very much it was futile. I must say other nationalities seemed ok with it but they were all on Half board, all the English I spoke to were in the same mind as me but we were on all inclusive. We did have to eat out quite a lot.
I will just mention when we booked in we were given details as to the All inclusive it said that snacks of burgers, hot dogs etc would be available in between meals, this was not so as the snacks were the left overs of the previous meal, just left out. I don't blame staff, I blame the management, the kitchen is obviously on a budget and doing their best, but I can honestly say foodwise this is the WORST hotel I have ever been in.
If you are English don't book this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Vanessa E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and the Tripadvisor community.
We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your holidays as you would have liked.
Your feedback is extremely important to us, and you can be sure that we have noted your comments in order to improve the services that we offer day after day.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Spain.

Kind regards.

Management
FERGUS Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    130
    38
    17
    7
See reviews for
100
123
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the Fergus Espanya the first week in June, room cleaned everyday and spotless, the food was excellent very good variety and hot most of the time.
The only small gripe we had was the noise, while we were there a group of schoolchildren stayed for two nights fair enough they generally were quiet after 11.30 but otherwise they were running round corridors climbing over balconies and shouting from room to room, it was like a youth hostel at times. One has to wonder at who thought it was a good idea to book schoolchildren in a hotel full of mainly pensioners.
To be honest we never heard the train other noises drowned it out.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view on the front but the train passes every 15 minutes,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynneth n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear gwynneth n,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip advisor Community.
We like to read that our hotel meeting your expectations on the most important points. We know that Young people could be noisy, and we try to put order but not always is possible at 100%. We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays!

Kind Regards.

Management
FERGUS Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked this Hotel as had good reviews but no one mentioned this hotel sits right on the railway
line and the train to Barcelona clacks passed every morning from about 5.45am so it was nice to have a sea view but if you have a sea view you get woken up very early in the morning all other aspects of the hotel were ok central location average breakfast and clean rooms

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyDisco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear JimmyDisco54,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.

We hope you enjoyed your holidays with us despite the train. Is the drawback of our great localization, some people find it really useful for the coast trips but also could be noisy.
If you decide to visit us on your next holidays you could try the other side, the view is not so wonderful but is quieter.

Kind regards.

Management
FERGUS Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

my partner and i spent a week here 18.5.14. On arrival at Barcelona airport we were told by coach driver that there was a race on in Calella and we would be dropped off as near to the hotel as possible.on arrival at the hotel we discovered that the road was to narrow for a coach ! this is not mentioned on any travel websites. Hotel was very clean and staff excellent ! Rooms were very clean and beds quite comfortable (only one pillow each but requested another two which wasnt a problem). as for the food, lunch and dinner aways hot (which is unusual for buffet) lovely !! 1hr approx by train to Barcelona, station is a 10 min walk. we took the train to loret de mar, not direct though but train ticket includes 15 mins bus journey to centre. we will recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: other reviews mentioned railway right in front of hotel, but we can honestly say it didnt bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Keith M,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor Community.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We will make sure to forward your kind words to all staff in order to motivate them even more.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

3 of us (All male 28-29) stayed here August 2013, 5 day stay for my birthday. Got to say it was a great holiday! Made to feel very welcome by all of the staff the whole time, especially the young guy behind the bar (Sorry don't remember his name!)

Room was plenty big enough, we were facing out of the back of the hotel, but could still see the sea. Cleaned daily & well.

Food & drink was excellent, different themes of food every evening so we didn't get bored, plenty of it and never had to queue. Tried various alcohols, definitely wouldn't complain about any of them. I even asked about a cocktail that wasn't included in the All Inc, barman said hang on, and made me an identical one that was included. That's service!

We thought location was great, yes it's by a railway line, but it certainly didn't bother us. Very short walk to unnamed numbers of shops & restaurants, can definitely recommend the one right out of the front door of the hotel then right again. Chicken is to die for! (You'll see what I mean, won't give it away!)

It's a shame the pool is up on the roof, but the view is great, and we weren't really there for swimming anyways to be honest.

Once we've been to a few other places, it's definitely somewhere I'd go back to.

Room Tip: Lift was a bit of a pain sometimes (We were on 4th/5th floor) Would probably ask to be lower down ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Rich G,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor Community.
It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are so happy with the service we provided. We will make sure to forward your kind words to all staff in order to motivate them even more.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Luis Solaz
Fergus Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

well i spotted this hotel when we visited calella last year,its very handy for the shops bars and beach plus a short walk to the station,and we were not dissapointed,very clean good food and the staff very friendly,might be an issue for parents with small kids as the bus has to drop you 300mtr away as the street is too narrow,cant say enough good things about this hotel,even a beach towel in the room if you want one, ,,if we go to calella again this is where we will stop

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taxiforkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear taxiforkaren,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel!
It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will consider us for your next visit to Spain!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It is good hotel for its 3 stars. Rooms are clean and looking fresh. Food is good, but if you stay longer than for a week, it's getting bored. You are lucky if you get room which windows going to the backyard. In front of the hotel, from about 5 a.m., all the time going noisy train. We were there with the kid, so he was afraid that noise while sleeping. But service is good, we changed the room without any problem!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Lu L,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us. All the staff is grateful for your words. Our hotel is in the center of Calella, the advantages are the beach, the train station just five minutes walking, and the proximity to the main road, full of pubs, cafes and shops. But this also has some disadvantages like the sound of the train, or the noise in the summer when the city is more crowded. We are happy that the problem was solved with the change of room and your kid could sleep well and also enjoyed the family holidays.
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#8 of 43 in Calella
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
0.4 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#14 of 43 in Calella
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Espanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Espanya

Property: ALEGRIA Espanya
Address: Carre Anselm Clave 80, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Espanya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Espanya 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ALEGRIA Espanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espanya Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing