We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't hesitate to book again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ALEGRIA Espanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ALEGRIA Espanya
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wouldn't hesitate to book again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My Partner and I stayed here 17th -31st July '14 on an AI basis and were very pleasantly surprised after reading the negative reviews on here. We arrived a little early to check in to our room as check in is not till 2.00 but this was no problem as reception gave us our bands so that we could have drinks and lunch while we were waiting. We stayed in room 509 the room was spotless, we had a little balcony with two chairs on which was a bonus !! and we were lucky as we had a partial sea view.The Safe is 20 euros a week but then air-con is free and we have had to pay for both at other hotels !! The room is cleaned on a daily basis and you have the option to have clean towels and sheets by either leaving the towels on the floor or by leaving a card on the bed for clean sheets. I don't personally know anyone who has clean sheets every day at home but expects them on holiday !!. You can also have large towels for the beach from reception at no extra cost. YES !! you can hear the trains sometimes however they DID NOT interfere with our sleep, the trains stop 12 ish and the hotel does not hide the fact that it is next to a railway line !! rather this then the madness of staying near the Strip !! The food was very good the choice was not massive as this is a very small hotel however everything that was served was hot and very tasty. A member of staff cooked eggs and omelettes and the breads and croissants were cooked on the premises fresh every morning. There is a great choice on the AI drinks and a reduced cost menu for branded drinks if you are AI.
One of the things that I personally liked was the fact that there was a courtyard where you could relax and have a coffee during the day with no-one screaming and running around as the pool is on the roof !! In the evenings the courtyard was lovely and the bar serves you in glasses and not plastic.
The beach is a two minute walk under the railway line and there is a very pleasant promenade along the beachfront for after dinner walks.
The entertainment is minimal but again we actually liked that. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have children as the facilities for children are practically non existent.
Every single member of staff were exceptional and could not do enough for you and my partner and I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimb066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear kimb066,

Thank you for your lovely comments of our hotel!
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    113
    25
    14
    5
See reviews for
83
106
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July and was disappointed with parts of the hotel. There was a kids club advertised at the hotel although during our weeks stay we only saw the animation staff walk round the hotel. I never saw them engage with any children. This was a real disappointment for our 11 year old Son. This hotel is not for children. The rooftop pool is too small and the area is run down. There is around 20 beds there but no parosols. This area is in desperate need of upgrading. If you want a drink while on the roof you have to go down to the bar in the lift and then back up in the lift which gets tedious are a couple of trips. Our bedroom was too small to sleep 3 people it was realy a double room with a single bed pushed in. On a good note the hotel staff and reception staff couldn't do dnough for you. The hotel is kept clean and you never had to que for long. This hotel should only be for adults. I wouldn't recomend staying here with children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear helen w,

Thank you for sharing you opinion with us and the Tripadvisor community.
We are sorry to read that the animation was not what you expected from it.
We will revise the animation program in order to improve in that aspect.
Your lovely comments about our staff will be forwarded to them so they will be even more motivated..

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Espanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

reception staff friendly and helpful. rooms at the front are too noisy.these rooms need double glazing or soundproofing as the trains run until 12.30am and start again at 5am so keep you awake . ok if you survive on only 4 hours sleep a night but i dont!
room/bathroom clean but not under beds.sheets not changed all week though.breakfast had a good choice..main moan is reception and bar area had no aircon and was hot an humid.hotel is across the rail tracks from the beach which is handy ,a nice beach too. rooftop pool is very small and could not find the fitness centre at all.

Room Tip: dont stay at the front unless you want trains keeping you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Joanne1973,
Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip advisor Community.
We are sorry for the drawbacks suffered during your stay with us; we take note of all of them.
We also hope that even this you enjoyed with us, our staff always try to give the best service possible to all our guests. If you decided to comeback with us do not hesitate to ask for a room on the other side. About the fitness center, we don’t have it, we have Therapy Massages, but you have to order previously in reception.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in a future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

8 family and friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights 10th-13th July 2014.
Basically the break was to attend the Wigan Warriors v Catalan Dragons match that weekend.
It was all booked directly with the hotel, and we were all inclusive for the four nights.
Read all the recent reviews about this hotel, so my advice about this hotel is as follows.
The Hotel appears to cater mainly for Germans and Russian/East European who appear to be this hotels main source of income, so as a result they obviously cater for the guests who are in the majority. The only other English people who were at the hotel apart from us were also there for the rugby. But do not let this put you off if you want a short break. Everything about the hotel has been described correctly by other contributors.
If you are English and say that the food is not up to standard and state that the only thing to eat is Chips, then you are FUSSY. Nobody is fussier than my elder brother, but even he found something to eat at every meal, and did not have any cause to complain.
So if you are one of those who goes to Spain and wants to drink Tetley bitter and have a Sunday roast then don't bother, as you are fussy and you won't like this hotel.
For me this hotel is between 3 & 4, but I give it 4 due to the pleasant staff who made our 4 day break enjoyable. We will be attending next seasons match and we will certainly consider going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oggy7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Oggy7224,
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion with us and the Trip advisor community.
Is really gratefully for all the staff to read that you enjoyed your holidays and you will consider to comeback with us. We will continue working everyday for make special the stay of all of our guests.
Looking forward welcome you back again!
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First impressions on entering the foyer of this hotel are favourable. Reception is bright & welcoming and the staff are a delight, however, on entering my allocated room on the second floor, I discovered that the balcony is almost non existant, there being room for only 2 plastic chairs. In addition, one of the chairs is next to the aircon fan which inevitably leads to warm legs if the aircon is on. There is also the view from the balcony...a derelict hotel, the rear of a very popular restaurant and another derelict house which is overgrown with weeds. This was a big disappointment to me as I like to sit on the balcony of an evening and perhaps enjoy a beer or a glass of wine after coming off the beach. The room itself, although small had everything I needed and was spotlessly clean. Maid service and towel changes are daily and the staff are unfailingly cheerful despite the long hours they work. There is also passable free wifi in the rooms which was a big plus as I have had to pay extra for this in other hotels. The restaurant, like every part of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are all chatty, multilingual, and friendly however the food can be a bit boring after a while as there is not a great choice in the buffet. This is probably because this is a small hotel and there would be far too much waste to offer endless choices. Evening entertainment, 3 days a week, is in my opinion mediocre and one of the acts is a diabolical singer, think poor karaoke. He is however a talented wind instrumentalist and would be well advised to stick to his flute & clarinet. Children's entertainment seems to consist of one poor young man who works like a trojan baby sitting other peoples kids at all hours of the day and night. There are daily activities but he seems to be on duty most of the day & night and they flock to him whenever he appears. All of the staff are really good and this is a tribute to them and to management re motivation. The manager greets the guests in the dining room several times a day and is really hands on. There is also a spa but my spa days are long gone so I won't comment. The pool & Jacuzzi on the roof was popular with the teenagers but the loungers are really uncomfortable. Perhaps, at my age, I long for real comfort which is not offered by hard plastic. Why, after all this the slightly negative review? As stated I enjoyed the food but found lack of variety a problem and the view from the room & tiny balcony was a real turn off. Whilst I won't return to the Fergus Espanya, I saw enough to ensure that I will return to the Fergus Hotel Group as they really do try to make the guest feel welcome & special. Top marks to Anna in the restaurant, Samuel in the bar and my room cleaner whose name I never saw.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms that overlook the beach as the view on the other 3 sides is diabolical. Beach f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Colin,
Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip advisor Community.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and all the staff, in special Samuel and Ana-Maria, is very gratefully for your words, we think that your words will motivate them. About the negative points we take note of them and we will work every day for still improving and try to give the best service possible at all our guests.
We hope welcome you back again in a future, in this hotel or in another Fergus.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I've just returned back to the uk following a 3 night stay at this hotel.
We were a party of 6 ladies 2 of which were celebrating special birthdays.
We were given rooms side by side which were allocated through a secure door.
The rooms themselves were very clean, maintained on a daily basis with the most amazing shower!! The only possible downside was the lack of plug sockets or rather the poor positioning of plug sockets..., but this wasn't particularly a hindrance.
Our balcony wasn't very big but wasn't the end of the world.
We found 3 key members of staff.... All worked very hard and were extremely pleasant....they must be praised on their language knowledge as this hotel is visited by numerous nationalities!!!
Anastasia on reception was a absolute star, extremely friend, a smiley friendly approachable person who will go above and beyond in the name of customer service.
Sam (Samuel) is mainly on the bar, again another friendly face, who seems to take a natural role as bar manager.
Anna-Maria would seem to be restaurant manager, a great mantra de, turning tables fast during busy periods adhering to customers needs.
The food itself in the restaurant I can only describe as amazing!!!
Fresh omelettes cooked to order in the morning as well as cereals, fresh fruits and meats and cooked breakfasts and toasts... The lists on offer are endless!
The same applies the lunchtime and evenings too!
The variety over the few days we stayed was endless but I was mostly surprised by the seafood on offer!
Unfortunately the roof top does let this hotel down.... The pool offers no heat and is minimal in size and also the jacuzzi is neither use nor ornament!!
However this is balanced out by the deal agreed by the beach bar number 9.... The let hotel residents hire a sun lounger and purchase 2 soft drinks for only 6 euros!!!
This hotel would appear to bd based in the old town, lots of Spanish atmosphere lovely little tapas bars and a beach that is hardly used by anybody!!
All in all this is a 3 star hotel but definately one of the best 3 stars I've ever visited!!!
Fingers crossed we return next year!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear JuliesWay,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip advisor Community.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We will make sure to forward your words to all staff and we take note about the negative points in order to improve every day more.
We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a mini break with some girlfriends and can honestly say I don't understand the negative reviews on this hotel. Yes it's right by the train track but google earth would have shown this and contrary to previous comments the trains are not that noisy! The staff are incredibly friendly and work very hard , especially Anna Maria, Annatasia and Samuel who always greeted us every morning and evening. We were staying on an all inclusive basis and found the selection of food available all day very good and varied- yes, there were chips available at every meal,but there was also, pasta's, fresh salad, fruit,roasted vegetable,a selection of hot and cold meats as well as fish dishes and rices. Fresh omelettes were cooked every morning to order and desserts were prepared while you waited. The rooms were a good size for 3 adults, very clean and cleaned daily. This is a 3 star establishment- if you want 5 star accommodation and food then pay for it!

My only criticism ( and it's a small one!) is the description of the roof top pool and jacuzzi. The pool was tiny and freezing and , at best, should really be described as a plunge pool. The jacuzzi jets were pathetic and is was also very cold. There is however ,a fabulous beach over the road and a deal with the beach bar allows you to hire a sun bed and get 2 soft drinks for 6 euro's a day. On the whole a great little gem of an hotel in a fabulous location and perfect for a long weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaB510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Donna B,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of us on Trip advisor.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are happy to read that your holiday meeting your expectations and all our staff is glad for your words about us, in special Ana-Maria, Anastasia and Samuel. We always try to make all possible for guarantee a nice stay in our hotel.
We take note about the complain of the swimming pool and we will try to solve the problem of the cold water but about the Jacuzzi we had to say that it’s not a Jacuzzi, it’s a small swimming pool for the children.
We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays!
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#3 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#11 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Espanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Espanya

Property: ALEGRIA Espanya
Address: Carre Anselm Clave 80, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Espanya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Espanya 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your ALEGRIA Espanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espanya Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing