We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”
Review of ALEGRIA Espanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ALEGRIA Espanya
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My family have just stayed here from august 18th to 29th and we had an excellent experience here, the food was great with a good choice everyday, the hotel was clean and tidy and the staff very helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The roof terrace is great to sunbath and the pool although small is good enough, also right next to all the shops, the beach and station everything you could need is here, we loved it.

Room Tip: choose 5th floor with sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Mark H,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.
It´s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay while visiting Calella and we hope to welcome you back on future occasions.

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Espanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just back from a lovely week at this great hotel. It is located in the old town overlooking the sea front. This part of town is charming and quieter than the other side of Calella which has more of the nightlife and bars. We were just around the corner from Calella's main pedestrianized shopping street which is full of quaint shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel itself is small friendly and spotlessly clean. The staff at the reception, restaurant and bar all spoke English and were always polite and helpful, a particular mention for Samuel who was happy to chat with us and let us practise our Spanish as he practised his English. We stayed on half board and were allowed to choose either lunch or dinner each day. The choice of food was vast with a massive selection at each meal. Breakfast had everything you could possibly require from cereals to yoghurt, fresh fruit ,croissants, full English and omelettes made to order ( even had real H.P sauce! ). At lunch and dinner there were at least 8 to 10 main hot dishes to choose from with numerous salads, breads, pastas and even a chocolate fountain every night! Meal times were also convenient with breakfast running from 8am to 11 am and evening meal from 6.30pm to 9pm. Our room was cleaned every day and towels and sheets were changed on request. The hotel asks you to put a small card on your bed if you require fresh bed linen. Our room had air conditioning and a small balcony overlooking the sea front and the café courtyard below. The hotel had only a few British guests and is the perfect base for travellers who do not require a 'Butlins' style of full entertainment. There was rarely any noise from the other guests at night and this meant that we had great quality sleep on the very comfortable wide single beds. I would not recommend this hotel for families with very small children as the pool is on a roof terrace and has a sudden drop from one metre to two in the deep end. The pool is on the small side at 7.5 x 4.5 metres but perfect for cooling off and was never busy. There were plenty of sunbeds available and I saw none reserved with towels early in the morning which was a pleasant surprise ! We were offered a free kayaking excursion which was great fun and had visiting flamenco and musicians throughout our stay. Overall we were very impressed and if we visit Calella on a future holiday would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank ladyofkent27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear ladyofkent27,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and the Tripadvisor community.
It´s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Espanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My Partner and I stayed here 17th -31st July '14 on an AI basis and were very pleasantly surprised after reading the negative reviews on here. We arrived a little early to check in to our room as check in is not till 2.00 but this was no problem as reception gave us our bands so that we could have drinks and lunch while we were waiting. We stayed in room 509 the room was spotless, we had a little balcony with two chairs on which was a bonus !! and we were lucky as we had a partial sea view.The Safe is 20 euros a week but then air-con is free and we have had to pay for both at other hotels !! The room is cleaned on a daily basis and you have the option to have clean towels and sheets by either leaving the towels on the floor or by leaving a card on the bed for clean sheets. I don't personally know anyone who has clean sheets every day at home but expects them on holiday !!. You can also have large towels for the beach from reception at no extra cost. YES !! you can hear the trains sometimes however they DID NOT interfere with our sleep, the trains stop 12 ish and the hotel does not hide the fact that it is next to a railway line !! rather this then the madness of staying near the Strip !! The food was very good the choice was not massive as this is a very small hotel however everything that was served was hot and very tasty. A member of staff cooked eggs and omelettes and the breads and croissants were cooked on the premises fresh every morning. There is a great choice on the AI drinks and a reduced cost menu for branded drinks if you are AI.
One of the things that I personally liked was the fact that there was a courtyard where you could relax and have a coffee during the day with no-one screaming and running around as the pool is on the roof !! In the evenings the courtyard was lovely and the bar serves you in glasses and not plastic.
The beach is a two minute walk under the railway line and there is a very pleasant promenade along the beachfront for after dinner walks.
The entertainment is minimal but again we actually liked that. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have children as the facilities for children are practically non existent.
Every single member of staff were exceptional and could not do enough for you and my partner and I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimb066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear kimb066,

Thank you for your lovely comments of our hotel!
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Espanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July and was disappointed with parts of the hotel. There was a kids club advertised at the hotel although during our weeks stay we only saw the animation staff walk round the hotel. I never saw them engage with any children. This was a real disappointment for our 11 year old Son. This hotel is not for children. The rooftop pool is too small and the area is run down. There is around 20 beds there but no parosols. This area is in desperate need of upgrading. If you want a drink while on the roof you have to go down to the bar in the lift and then back up in the lift which gets tedious are a couple of trips. Our bedroom was too small to sleep 3 people it was realy a double room with a single bed pushed in. On a good note the hotel staff and reception staff couldn't do dnough for you. The hotel is kept clean and you never had to que for long. This hotel should only be for adults. I wouldn't recomend staying here with children.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear helen w,

Thank you for sharing you opinion with us and the Tripadvisor community.
We are sorry to read that the animation was not what you expected from it.
We will revise the animation program in order to improve in that aspect.
Your lovely comments about our staff will be forwarded to them so they will be even more motivated..

Kind regards,

Management
FERGUS Espanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

reception staff friendly and helpful. rooms at the front are too noisy.these rooms need double glazing or soundproofing as the trains run until 12.30am and start again at 5am so keep you awake . ok if you survive on only 4 hours sleep a night but i dont!
room/bathroom clean but not under beds.sheets not changed all week though.breakfast had a good choice..main moan is reception and bar area had no aircon and was hot an humid.hotel is across the rail tracks from the beach which is handy ,a nice beach too. rooftop pool is very small and could not find the fitness centre at all.

Room Tip: dont stay at the front unless you want trains keeping you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0anne1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Joanne1973,
Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip advisor Community.
We are sorry for the drawbacks suffered during your stay with us; we take note of all of them.
We also hope that even this you enjoyed with us, our staff always try to give the best service possible to all our guests. If you decided to comeback with us do not hesitate to ask for a room on the other side. About the fitness center, we don’t have it, we have Therapy Massages, but you have to order previously in reception.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in a future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

8 family and friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights 10th-13th July 2014.
Basically the break was to attend the Wigan Warriors v Catalan Dragons match that weekend.
It was all booked directly with the hotel, and we were all inclusive for the four nights.
Read all the recent reviews about this hotel, so my advice about this hotel is as follows.
The Hotel appears to cater mainly for Germans and Russian/East European who appear to be this hotels main source of income, so as a result they obviously cater for the guests who are in the majority. The only other English people who were at the hotel apart from us were also there for the rugby. But do not let this put you off if you want a short break. Everything about the hotel has been described correctly by other contributors.
If you are English and say that the food is not up to standard and state that the only thing to eat is Chips, then you are FUSSY. Nobody is fussier than my elder brother, but even he found something to eat at every meal, and did not have any cause to complain.
So if you are one of those who goes to Spain and wants to drink Tetley bitter and have a Sunday roast then don't bother, as you are fussy and you won't like this hotel.
For me this hotel is between 3 & 4, but I give it 4 due to the pleasant staff who made our 4 day break enjoyable. We will be attending next seasons match and we will certainly consider going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Oggy7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Oggy7224,
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion with us and the Trip advisor community.
Is really gratefully for all the staff to read that you enjoyed your holidays and you will consider to comeback with us. We will continue working everyday for make special the stay of all of our guests.
Looking forward welcome you back again!
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First impressions on entering the foyer of this hotel are favourable. Reception is bright & welcoming and the staff are a delight, however, on entering my allocated room on the second floor, I discovered that the balcony is almost non existant, there being room for only 2 plastic chairs. In addition, one of the chairs is next to the aircon fan which inevitably leads to warm legs if the aircon is on. There is also the view from the balcony...a derelict hotel, the rear of a very popular restaurant and another derelict house which is overgrown with weeds. This was a big disappointment to me as I like to sit on the balcony of an evening and perhaps enjoy a beer or a glass of wine after coming off the beach. The room itself, although small had everything I needed and was spotlessly clean. Maid service and towel changes are daily and the staff are unfailingly cheerful despite the long hours they work. There is also passable free wifi in the rooms which was a big plus as I have had to pay extra for this in other hotels. The restaurant, like every part of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are all chatty, multilingual, and friendly however the food can be a bit boring after a while as there is not a great choice in the buffet. This is probably because this is a small hotel and there would be far too much waste to offer endless choices. Evening entertainment, 3 days a week, is in my opinion mediocre and one of the acts is a diabolical singer, think poor karaoke. He is however a talented wind instrumentalist and would be well advised to stick to his flute & clarinet. Children's entertainment seems to consist of one poor young man who works like a trojan baby sitting other peoples kids at all hours of the day and night. There are daily activities but he seems to be on duty most of the day & night and they flock to him whenever he appears. All of the staff are really good and this is a tribute to them and to management re motivation. The manager greets the guests in the dining room several times a day and is really hands on. There is also a spa but my spa days are long gone so I won't comment. The pool & Jacuzzi on the roof was popular with the teenagers but the loungers are really uncomfortable. Perhaps, at my age, I long for real comfort which is not offered by hard plastic. Why, after all this the slightly negative review? As stated I enjoyed the food but found lack of variety a problem and the view from the room & tiny balcony was a real turn off. Whilst I won't return to the Fergus Espanya, I saw enough to ensure that I will return to the Fergus Hotel Group as they really do try to make the guest feel welcome & special. Top marks to Anna in the restaurant, Samuel in the bar and my room cleaner whose name I never saw.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms that overlook the beach as the view on the other 3 sides is diabolical. Beach f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Colin,
Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip advisor Community.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us, and all the staff, in special Samuel and Ana-Maria, is very gratefully for your words, we think that your words will motivate them. About the negative points we take note of them and we will work every day for still improving and try to give the best service possible at all our guests.
We hope welcome you back again in a future, in this hotel or in another Fergus.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#10 of 43 in Calella
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Summer Hotel Calella Barcelona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Espanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Espanya

Address: Carre Anselm Clave 80, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Espanya)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £35 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Espanya 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ALEGRIA Espanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espanya Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing