We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Internacional Hotel
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Calella
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Value for Location”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have just returned from a week in Calella where we stayed at this hotel. We were one of the last of the transfer bus from the airport so got to see quite a few other hotels that people were being dropped off at - when we arrived at Hotel Internacional I was more than happy. It is in an excellent location - opposite the beach, a two minute walk to the underpass (from road, underneath railway, straight on to the beach). Although the trains go past about every 20 mins, they are not invasive and definitely not heard from the hotel (our balcony had a side on view to the railway and beach). The location of the hotel has the benefit of also only being a 5 minute stroll into the heart of Calella town and the shopping district/main restaurant area.

All of the staff we encountered at Hotel Internacional were very friendly and helpful. For a two star hotel the rooms were very comfortable. Although the bed was firm, it was not uncomfortable and I slept without any problems. As we went in September the lack of air conditioning was not a problem as we slept with the balcony door open and that was sufficient.

We had paid for bed and breakfast. Some of the other reviews I have read mention that it is not very good. For the price that we paid, and the fact that the hotel is two-star - there was enough variety (both hot and cold options). They could maybe provide a little more fruit variety (they serve oranges), but this was not a problem. I am sure that all of the other basic hotels in the area probably serve a similar style breakfast. We didnt have lunch or dinner at the hotel so am unable to comment on this. The bar was reasonably priced for the area and clean, with friendly staff. A bottle of wine was €9.

The only downside was the noise on some nights. There were several school groups staying in the hotel and they would go out until the early hours and made a lot of noise on their way back. This I do not believe is the fault necessarily of the hotel, as I think a majority of the hotels in Calella experience school groups staying. The neighbouring hotels also seemed to have a lot of teenagers making noise also.

Overall, for the price, Hotel Internacional was extremely good value for money - great price, great location, clean, comfortable. If I was to visit Calella again I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view or facing the sidestreet named Gaudi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katiewmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    69
    51
    24
    7
See reviews for
53
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Traditional hotel in Calella on the first line (just the train line separates from the beach). The beach is reachable at the end of the block that the hotel is on which is not far at all. The hotel is clean in all areas. The bedrooms are basic but sufficient. Unfortunately no air conditioning but that was not a problem in our room as it was on the corner and allowed for a breeze to flow through from one entry to the balcony to the other during the night which was perfect. Our kids had a normal room (same price) but with one entry to the balcony and they found it very hot at night (August). Highly recommended to ask for a corner room as much better.
We went for full board as the difference in price was minimal compared to just breakfast. This proved to be a good choice as the food was fine. Breakfast was a little limited (no fruit for example) but the rest of the meals were fine; buffet style and with a reasonable choice and variety. We did not eat there every day but definitely helped our budget without us feeling that we were roughing it.
Beach shop opposite sells cold drinks at a very reasonable price so perfect to take to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

we were in this hotel from 25.06.12 till 05.07.12 and spent a really nice time there!!!!!!!hotel is situated near the beach and the centre of the city.it's really comfortable!
Rooms in the hotel are very light and spacious.Therestaurant is reach of different food - vegetables,meat,fish,fruits!The staff is very well-wishing,kind and sympathetic!Thanks them very much,especially to Ramon!)
we'llbe miss you,Internacional!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evgeniya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

A really nice hotel for a two star, if there was any negatives we were the only british people there. I'm a picky eater but i always found something to eat. On our last meal we had to share our dinning table with two Russian men, which we did not like one bit, neither did they with the looks on thier faces. hotel very clean, rooms done every day plus towels, staff very helpful at all times and the price was right, flight,hotel and transfers only came to £435 for two of us. I then upgraded to a air/con room on the sixth floor an extra 10 euro per day plus 10 euro deposit for the remote, room 612 with a view to die for.
If you get on the land train it will cost you 2.25 euro's go's all the way upto pinade, get off and back on when you like. This resort is nothing like benidorm it is unspoiled from us tourist.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

we stayed here in the middle of june this year,,,had a great wee holiday,,,yes the food is different to what we brits like,,,the hint is in the name of the hotel,,my wife loved the salads tho,,,good to go to a place were there are no lager soaked numptys teariny about,,,,great location for the beach cause the pool is quite small and nice stroll into town,,,you got to visit the alcatraz bar around the corner,,great pub and does english food and beer,,,we are booking up for september this year,,cant wait

Room Tip: most rooms are basic but clean,,maid was round each day,,get a midd floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameron1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have just come back from a week away with my 71yr old mum and 23yr old daughter and all 3 of us had a really good time. We arrived late at night and after dropping others off at hotels on the way we were slightly disappointed with the outside of ours. However, the chap on the desk was very nice and the hotel was clean with a spacious reception. Our room had a fabulous sea view (which I asked for). The room was not very big but adequete for 3 girls...we only slept in there so no issues. All staff at the hotel very very very nice...a lady at reception gave us fab directions of trains to go to Barcelona...well worth a visit. The beach was good despite it being stones rather than sand...the good thing was no sand in your clothes!!! Nice bars and shops etc nearby. I would stay here again just for the beach location, cleanliness and friendly staff

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as some rooms at the side of us looked out at the balconies of the hotel next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

just got back from 4 day stay and have to say was great budget hotel to stay in,,very clean room,no a/c tho,,small pool but the beach is only couple minute walk away,went half board,breakfast was nice,continental style,id say give dinner a miss in the evening tho,catered more for germans,but plenty of great restaurants nearby,,drinks at the hotel little expensive so for water and soft drinks there is a spar shop next to the hotel which is very cheap,,10 minute stroll into calella town and excellent shopping!!!u can get a train from there to barcelona for 8.6 euros return and its a must do if uv got the time,,barcelona is awesome!!all in all this hotel is very good and a great price!! very happy,,,

Room Tip: i did ask for air conditioning but didnt get it so make sure when u book!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.0 mi away
Haromar Hotel
Haromar Hotel
#32 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Checkin Garbi
Checkin Garbi
#27 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#12 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani Express
Hotel Mediterrani Express
#10 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Hotel

Property: Internacional Hotel
Address: Gaudi 2, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Internacional Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing