We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fawlty towers in spain !!!!!!! be warned”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed 5 March 2011

the whole experience in the continental was a living nightmare. we too were dropped off at night 5 mins away from the hotel. they had had floods in calella the previous week and the road was broken up., the big man on reception speaks no english and his white tee shirt was grey. he gestured to us as best he could, we wondered where we had come to. the lift was tiny and only 2 people could use it at a time. there were old matresses and a beadstead on a drop landing. as well as black bags left lying around full of rubbish. the room was tiny , bed frame rusty, bath dirty. we spent the first nigght covering the silver fish with lids off our toiletries. very hot, no air con. the food was appalling and very much like eating in a factory centeen. you could not take drinks into the dining room !!??? there was a storm one evening and we watched the electrics spark on the table lamps. on investigating the wiring we saw there were several very poor joins and insulating tape on the wire. i discreetly unplugged them as i thought we would be electrocuted. we went every day to the rep to get us out of there. we also spent every morning in a internet cafe trying to book somewhere else. i also had my at home doing the same for us, to no avail. the rep had never been to the continental. i suggested she came and looked. i did show her our pictures of the state of the rooms, it had no effect. the hotel was full of young noisy people who kept banging on other guest doors at night. i ried to complain when we were there and when we got home , noone wanted to help.
on the positive side we loved calella and went back in the september and stayed in the amaika at the other end of the resort, low and behold this is where the rep stayed. no wonder it was fantastic, and furnished like the inside of the titanic . book the continental at your peril.you have been warned

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clarabel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

The hotel itself is quite nice. Its clean, not too far from the beach, swimming pool on the roof, but the staff aren't so helpful (other than Manolo, the barman). Also while we were staying there (in July), it was full of mainly German teenagers, school holidays and all, they were everywhere. Getting a good nights sleep was a mission. The room was fairly spacious, it had a balcony without a view, it was clean, but beware - if you want clean bedding, you must strip your bed yourself and leave the bedding on the floor. We was not told this by any of the hotel staff. I was getting ready to complain because it had been almost a week, then another guest told us what to do. The location isn't too bad, close enough (about a 15 minute walk) to the beach, the train station, and even closer to a huge selection of restaurants, cafes and bars. No where in Calella to hire a Moped/scooter, you have to go to the next town (Pineda De Mar), but its pricey, I paid 28 euro's for 2 hours, yes, 2 hours, not days. It is the only scooter/moped rental shop so they take advantage of this.

Overall I'd give the hotel 3/5, if it wasn't for the bad staffing (other than Manolo), and the loud Germans, it could have possibly been a 4/5.

Best - Rooftop pool / Manolo the barman
Worst - Staff

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TonesterHastings_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Reception unhelpful, Food not the standard one would expect of a 2 star hotel,. Rooms small and in the summer very hot (over 30 C), Very noisy at night popular with the young party goers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynx003uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

i stayed with my girlfriend, the reception stay are useless and rude, the cleaners tried to make me and my girlfriend clean our room when we were about to leave by staning in the doorway and refusing to move while being agressive, food is low standard to say the least, but expected for the price, and the room was acceptable for the price although extremely bare, the rest of the hotel amenaties were also limited , the only friendly and usefull person who worked there was Manolo who is in charge of the bar, the bar itself is not exiting with two damaged pool tables,, if you are looking for something basic only one step up from a hostel on a budget then this is ideal, other than that i would avoid in future, i would give this hotel 1 and a half stars as it serves its perpose relative to the price

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank iain t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

This is a very basic hotel, the rooms are small and dated, maid service erratic, cleanliness poor. Buffet continental breakfast and buffett lunch and dinner very basic fare and you are expected to clear your own table - worse than school dinners. The hotel caters to mostly Spanish tourists and groups of German schoolchildren. The Reception staff are very surly and unhelpful. The pool which is on the roof terrace is not clean.The best thing about the Hotel is Manolo who runs the bar along with his wife, he will give you any help and information you require. This Hotel is not suited to British holiday makers, there is no entertainment and no British TV channels for wet days. I would not recommend staying at the Continental unless you were on a very limited budget.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katyloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

This is more of a review of the other reviews about this hotel.

I have to say, I think the 3 (english) reviews have been grossly unfair to the continental. Were you all aware that this hotel was 2 Star?

Firstly, the issue with transfers is completely irrelevant (not the hotel's responsibility).

Most of the staff spoke little english but this doesnt make them rude (by the same rule, we are rude for not speaking spanish). I found most of the staff helpful and willing to assist where possible. All it took was a little patience and some hand gestures.

The rooms were on the small side but very clean and comfortable, once again i should point out that it is a 2 star hotel, you cant expect a penthouse. Yes it is an old fashioned style of hotel, but I could argue that it is a truer reflection of real spain in the old town of Calella (some people crave such an experience)

The dining experience was a little strange in that it was done in 2 sittings with designated times. This isnt ideal but for a hotel with a large number of rooms and a smallish dining area, I can understand why this was necessary. The food was hot and edible with daily variations. i didnt recognise at all the descriptions from the other reviews. Incidentally, i was allocated an 8pm table, however I asked to be moved to the 7pm and it was done with no fuss whatsoever. (Les and Margaret, if your reading this, I'm sure you'll concur?)

The other ludicrous charge against it was that it doesnt cater for British guests. Well all I can say to that is, no British tour operator uses this hotel, if they had then i'm sure there would be. Very few British guests were there during my stay so its not surprising that the hotel orientates towards Germans or Spaniards (hardly rocket science folks)

The only slight issue i had with the hotel (which again isnt the hotel's fault) was its proximity to the resort centre. However, this really wasnt a problem as it was a 20 minute stroll or a ride on he mini train which runs every 20 mins.

To conclude, this hotel is excellent value for a 2 Star and if anybody has booked into it, after paying the peanuts that it costs to stay there, then turns round and complains, is out of order. If you want 3 or 4 star, then pay the extra.

A thumbs up to low budget accomodation

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank canonkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Just back form a week staying in Continental Hotel and i would not return!

I read some negative reviews online before i went so i had mentally prepared myself for the worst!

The actual rooms are ok - they are clean and we had fresh towels every day. The views from the (very small) balconies are not great, but the hotel is located very close to the main street where all the bars and restaurants were, and also to the beach (which is only about 5 minutes walk).

I think the main problem i had with the hotel is the food. Breakfast was pretty basic, which i didnt mind, but the dinners very truly awful! Put it this way - the best dinner i had when i was there was fish fingers and chips! It was like bad school dinners, and you had to clear your plate after you ate (kind of like eating at MacDonalds!) The dining rooms is also in the basement with no natural light, so the general dining "experience" is not that enjoyable!

We also noticed that most of the other guests were young germans - so you sort of felt like you were on a school trip!

Whatever you do - do not take your bag to the pool!! For some unknown reason this is not allowed and we got a good telling off for breaking the rules! After this happended we decided not to use the pool again and just went to the beach.

The other thing is that they don't provide anywhere for you to leave your bag on your day of departure (we had to check out at 10am and were not getting collected until 6pm) so basically you have to pay to keep your room on or take your bags with you all day (which i have to admit we did because we really didnt want to give them any more money!)

On the positive side, there is a very nice barman Manolo. His wife also works there, and we found them both to be very friendly and helpful (there is also one nice receptionist - but rest of the staff pretty rude!)

My advise would be to not stay at the Continental, and if you are reading this and have already booked - just use your room as a base like we did. There are plenty of nice places to eat in the town (very reasonable priced) and a few good bars (check out the Beach Boys & The Golden Gloves!)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ReviewerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Safari
Aparthotel Safari
#19 of 43 in Calella
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#20 of 43 in Calella
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fragata by Checkin
Fragata by Checkin
#29 of 43 in Calella
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Cervantes, 105, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range: £32 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing