We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sant Jordi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Spain. All the hotel staff speak English and are very friendly. The food is very good and there is a good variety every day. The only downside I had about this hotel was the pool, it doesn't seem to get much sun, it felt like the hotel was built back to front but it didn't spoil our holiday, we just went down to the beach.

The hotel is close to the centre of Calella, about 15 minutes walk to the train station. You can get the train to Barcelona for 7 euros 70 cents (return).

One tip if you are going to Barcelona and plan to visit Nou Camp, get your tickets in advance, we turned up at Nou Camp and the queue was horrendous and because it was about 34 degrees was far too hot to queue. You can buy your tickets onlne or call in at a booth in the centre of La Rambla. I would highly recommend an open bus tour, these are really good value for money.

The resort of Calella was very disappointing. It is more geared up for the the germans and spanish which after reading reviews on here I half expected but actually seeing how the English bars are struggling out there is a shame. We went into the Alcatraz Bar and we were the only ones in the place, same goes for Beach Boys, The White Horse however was more busier but on our last night that seemed liked a youth club for german underage drinkers.

We travelled as a family with a 14 year old and would not recommend this resort for kids really as there is nothing for them to do here, unless you have entertainment on in your hotel.

To end..couldn 't fault the hotel or the location of it in Calella, but Calella was a big let down.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Loopygreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Sant Jordi Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

For a quick weekend by the sea I would recommend a stay at The Sant Jordi. The rooms are clean, if perhaps a bit on the small side, bathrooms ditto. But it is a 3*, so I wasn't expecting a vast amount of space.

Breakfast is a selfservice affair, with a good of choice of either hot or cold food.

Staff at the hotel are very helpfull with a friendly manner.

All in all a good choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Treacle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This peaceful hotel is located away from town center, some 1600m from the train station, only some 200m from the beach.
The hotel has a small pool (maybe 4 x 7 m) in the sunny side that must be great in summer time.
We got the special offer including access to the 'Silence' spa, located some 100m away. The spa is excellent and that alone is worth the stay.
Profile of customers in March seem to be athletes training for the triathlon.
Also we coincided with a whole class of well behaved French teenagers training in the olympic pool nearby.

Reception staff is very nice and efficient, and we overheard them speaking several languages, among them Catalan, Spanish, French, English and German.

Room is clean and large, with full bathroom, and a nice terrace (maybe 5 x 1 m). You should ask for a room facing to the sunny side, that is, to the pool or to the sea (which cannot be seen).
Room furniture and decor seem quite out of date, but everything has been so well maintained that sometimes one thinks to be in a set prepared to shot a movie dated in the 80s.
Room has a flat TV of about 24'', but there is not safe box, nor tea making facilities (although ground floor bar prices are most affordable).

Breakfast buffet is served in the basement, it is fair although it has nothing fancy, and maybe it gets dull for several mornings.
For those Brits over there: baked beans, bacon, scrambled eggs are all in the pack.
Some good details: several types of juices, ensaimada, yogurt and honey.

Questionable things:
If anything, beds should be updated (matress, bedspreads, blankets).
There is a nasty lemon scent of chemical air freshener in some public areas.
One shabby thing: to get the room TV commander, a deposit of 10 eur is required.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torremaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

this is the third time my wife and myself have stayed at the sant jordi which speeks for itself. the rooms are quite small but cosy . on each occasion we have been lucky enough to have sea view overlooking the south side of calella. this time we were on the third floor so also had a view of the promenade. the staff are very good and cant do enough for you. the dining room is in the basement and although the food is certainly not special, there was always enough variety for us. plenty of rice and pasta dishes with a meat and fish tray which was always replenished in good time. at the side of the hotel thre is an olympic sized swimming pool which attracts sports / school parties but in the times we were present the majority of the kids were well behaved but of course you always get the odd one or two! all in all a nice relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michaeltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This hotel is a real find close to Barcelona. Modern but small and run by a couple who are on site much of the time and an excellent multi-lingual staff, it has a genuinely welcoming and cared-for feel that is rare in hotels of any star rating. It is close to the beach and our rooms were spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and with nice balconies and sea views. The food was of a consistently high standard and we particularly enjoyed the breakfasts with a good selection of hot and cold food and - hurray! - real coffee or tea served in pots at the table. Not a drinks dispenser or a queue in sight. Another nice touch is that after breakfast the hotel serves complimentary coffee on the terrace in the mornings.

Although the Sant Jordi is surprisingly good for a three star, what makes this hotel really unique in my experience is the five star pool and spa facilities. Apart from a small pool near the bar/terrace area, guests have access to a 50 metre Olympic pool and large very modern spa next door. This has every type of pool/jet/shower imaginable, turkish bath, sauna, free refreshments, towels, robes. A real luxury.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone - excellent value for money. The fact that it is an easy train ride to or from Barcelona is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Washington28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Was a great hotel and close to all you needed - bars, beach and shops. Buffet gets a bit boring after a while, but good enough and the staff are friendly and rooms are clean.

Stayed: September 2009
4  Thank Madcatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We have literally just returned from our 7 day stay at Hotel Sant Jordi, spa resort. This hotel was ideal for our requirements; relaxing, peaceful, friendly, clean and more. Ideal if you are genuinely looking for a relaxing holiday but within easy reach of the town and all it's amenities at your discretion.
The staff on all levels were very friendly and professional.

We will definately be looking to return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gempaulllancs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant Jordi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant Jordi Boutique Hotel

Address: C/ turisme 80 - 88, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#5 Spa Hotel in Calella
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £88 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sant Jordi Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sant Jordi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Jordi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing