We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Restaurant Las Palmeras
Ranked #51 of 251 Restaurants in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We tried eating here on 25th July 2012. The menu looked and smelt great, however after waiting in the reception area for over ten minutes and not even being acknowledged by the restaurant staff we left disapointed. We would not have minded waiting for a table as we had not booked and I believe the restaurant is very popular, however we were not even spoken to by staff even though they had seen us. Very disapointing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wrexham1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE best steak I've ever had, and I've had a few!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The term hidden gem is overused these days, but truly applies to this restaurant.
The staff are fantastic, the setting, either inside or in the beautiful
courtyard, perfect, and the food simply outstanding.

The Chef, and by all accounts Guv'nor, knows exactly how to cook on his
log fired grill. From steak (THE best Fillet Streak I've ever had, and I've had
one from the grill of a Marco Pierre White Resturant) to Chicken or Fish, the
food is faultless, and the smell of the cooking will have you salivating from the moment you walk in.
Do yourselves a favour folks, treat yourselves to the Beef Fillet, medium. It's
just perfect.

My one complaint?

We go home tomorrow and I can't have 3rds!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Las Palmeras - the best steak I've ever had”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We celebrated a special occasion with family here and thoroughly enjoyed it. 3 generations were all made to feel very welcome in a hugely pretty courtyard full of flowers and plants overlooking the most devoted chef/owner cooking his tremendous food on an outdoor wood grill. Between us we tried the steak, the ostrich, the ribs and the chicken - all cooked to perfection. On our second visit I had the steak which was outstanding - huge slab of meat, tender and perfectly cooked to medium rare.

Really tasty sangria - which tastes like its made on site rather than from a carton. Lovely cava and nice nibbles of chorizo and olives served with the bread as cover.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Cambrils is chock full of over priced, bustly seafood restaurants. This gem is a quiet, meat oriented oasis, very reasoanbly priced and with delightful staff. It will be a pleasure to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambrils, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place for grilled meat”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

If we choose meat for dinner, we always go to Las Palmeras. The name comes from the big palms in the terrace, a lovely garden with different plants and flowers. It's a family-run restaurant, and lots of customers repeat the experience because the meat is high-quality, and especially because it is prepared in a wood-fed grill, live cooking.
I especially recommend entrecotte, salmon and duck breast. As a starter, don't miss the home-made gazpacho.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank domumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cambrils is not all about seafood”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

It's quite easy to miss this excellent restaurant, tucked away in the pedestrian area a few blocks from the main 'strip', but it's not too difficult to find, and is very popular.

Unlike the restaurants overlooking the port, where seafood is the main speciality - Las Palmeras has a wide variety of grilled meats on offer. Portion size and quality are excellent, as is value for money. Menus are available in half a dozen Languages, and the staff are courteous and attentive.

Seating is mostly in a courtyard garden, screened off from passers by on the adjacent streets.

It gets very popular - so get there early if you want a table!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shieldslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Las Palmeras also viewed

 
Cambrils, Baix Camp
 
Cambrils, Baix Camp
Cambrils, Baix Camp
 

Been to Restaurant Las Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing