We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest meal we had in Cambrils”

Restaurant Las Palmeras
Ranked #36 of 245 Restaurants in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nicest meal we had in Cambrils”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Myself & the other half enjoyed a fab meal in Les Palmeres last week. It was by far the nicest thing we ate during our stay in Cambrils. Highly recommend paprika sausage along with the garlic bread for starters. Delicious. I then had a lovely fillet steak for 20e, himself 6 lamb chops for 15e. Lovely outdoor setting. We would have gone back if we hadn't only discovered it at the end of our trip. Go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best restuarant in Cambrils”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Oh, this was absolutely the best restaurant of the 6 we ate at in our week at Cambrils. It was so good we came back for a second time!
It’s situated in a corner garden with trees and plants and an open cooking bbq grill. We were lucky enough to get the last table at 9pm on a Saturday night.
The waitress spoke good English but patiently listened to our attempt at Spanish.
We ordered a starter combination of local cheeses (7€) and local chorizo sausages (6€) which we were pleasantly surprised to find the sausages came bbq’d. They were both excellent and good sized portions too.
My wife had duck as the main course (15€) and it came perfectly well done (as requested) and I had a half dozen lamb chops (15€) which again were bbq’d perfectly, both accompanied by French fries (a treat for us!) and a house red at 9€. Very very good (Total 57€)

The second time we visited two of the waiters/waitresses recognised us, which was a real surprise and made us feel very welcome, we started with asparagus (7.50€) five very large pieces and aubergines and peppers mixed with a huge basket of bread, followed by a main course of rump steak (15.50€) and a mixed grill (16.90€) , both dishes were huge and again accompanied by a good quality house red wine (Total 64€)
The owner/waitress even presented my wife with a small pourer jar embossed with the restaurant name, small token but a lovely gesture.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTLSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We tried eating here on 25th July 2012. The menu looked and smelt great, however after waiting in the reception area for over ten minutes and not even being acknowledged by the restaurant staff we left disapointed. We would not have minded waiting for a table as we had not booked and I believe the restaurant is very popular, however we were not even spoken to by staff even though they had seen us. Very disapointing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wrexham1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE best steak I've ever had, and I've had a few!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The term hidden gem is overused these days, but truly applies to this restaurant.
The staff are fantastic, the setting, either inside or in the beautiful
courtyard, perfect, and the food simply outstanding.

The Chef, and by all accounts Guv'nor, knows exactly how to cook on his
log fired grill. From steak (THE best Fillet Streak I've ever had, and I've had
one from the grill of a Marco Pierre White Resturant) to Chicken or Fish, the
food is faultless, and the smell of the cooking will have you salivating from the moment you walk in.
Do yourselves a favour folks, treat yourselves to the Beef Fillet, medium. It's
just perfect.

My one complaint?

We go home tomorrow and I can't have 3rds!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Las Palmeras - the best steak I've ever had”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We celebrated a special occasion with family here and thoroughly enjoyed it. 3 generations were all made to feel very welcome in a hugely pretty courtyard full of flowers and plants overlooking the most devoted chef/owner cooking his tremendous food on an outdoor wood grill. Between us we tried the steak, the ostrich, the ribs and the chicken - all cooked to perfection. On our second visit I had the steak which was outstanding - huge slab of meat, tender and perfectly cooked to medium rare.

Really tasty sangria - which tastes like its made on site rather than from a carton. Lovely cava and nice nibbles of chorizo and olives served with the bread as cover.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Cambrils is chock full of over priced, bustly seafood restaurants. This gem is a quiet, meat oriented oasis, very reasoanbly priced and with delightful staff. It will be a pleasure to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireCEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Las Palmeras also viewed

Cambrils, Baix Camp
Cambrils, Baix Camp
 

Been to Restaurant Las Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing