We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but minor snags need sorting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estival Centurion Playa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but minor snags need sorting.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just had a superb two weeks here in this very comfortable and clean hotel. The rooms were apparently refurbished last year and are superb. We have never had such comfortable beds and pillows when on holiday abroad. A large shower with ample hot water at all times and well appointed bathroom is a feature. Bedding and towels are changed usually every two days and the whole ambience of the hotel is excellent.
One or two things could be improved or managed better and the main ones relate to the dining room. Not once in the whole holiday were we asked for room number or identity when entering the dining room and we said that we could have taken anyone in from outside the hotel and they could have been fed for free. There is also a rule stating that gentlemen must wear long trousers for evening meal but this was not upheld and many guests were dressed in beach wear and flip flops,not quite what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. This would be easy to control with a member of staff being present by the door and indicating in a friendly manner that the dress code must be adhered to. Surely this should be the Maitre D'Hotel's responsibility. The food quality was generally very good particularly at breakfast but the choice of veg at evening meal wasn't always the best and frequently cold (but this seems to be a Spanish thing).The only other grumble is that the safe,available in every room is chargeable at 4 euros per day. This is a rip off and gives the holidaymaker a bad impression on arrival. After all it is deemed as very important to use a safe whilst in Spain.

The local buses are brilliant and there is usually a helper based outside the hotel. We never had to wait more than 5 or 6 minutes and I must say that this is the finest service we have ever used in Spain. The beach is only 5 metres from the hotel and the prom or paseo is traffic free apart from the many bikes on hire. One can travel to Salou or to 3 kilometres beyond Cambrils on a bike without the fear of being knocked down by a vehicle.
This was our first visit to this part of Spain and we have been impressed with all aspects and will certainly come again and stay at this hotel despite our little whinges.Alan Fenton
.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are best,as all others overlook the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    306
    104
    23
    12
See reviews for
325
366
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Have an apartment nearby and often go to the hotel for drinks and lunch. Superb value - cheaper than local beach bars and service from Fernando is exceptional. However, given the the refurb and increase in size of the hotel they need more bar staff to maintain the quality and maximise revenues. It's always a pleasure to go back and get a warm wlecome from Fernando and Ismail!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

You will find this a report that must be read due to financial reasons.
The hotel,food and accomodation was surperb including the best and largest bed ever.The rooms had been recently refurbished to the highest standard to include a large walk-in shower where the bath would have been.The shower head was one of those with the very large chrome head ,disappointing if you expected a bath though.
The main reason for this report is to advise you of the following financial costs experienced here:-
1 on arrival you have to pay a tax of 7euros each to aid Catalonia.(shame we dont do that in this country)
2 Pay 4 euros per day to hire the room safe.56 euros for our 2 week holiday.You are advised this is essential due to the amount of crime in the area.
3 Pay 40 euros deposit to hire 2 pool towels for your stay,and 1 euro to change them.
This makes a total cash layout of over 100 euros on your first day.
I was also warned of pickpockets in the area and was unfortunate to lose my wallet outside the hotel whilst boading a tour bus.
i was backed into by a spanish man as i went forward to board the bus,i realise that was the moment my wallet was removed from my back pocket by his accomplices.
The hotel receptionists were excellent arranging for me to stop my credit cards and advising me to report to the local police station,and ordering a taxi to take me .
So beware!
Inorder to balance the financial bits i was amazed that the hot tub, sauna and steam rooms were free of charge.They were excellent.
My final advice is regarding local day trips, the Plana company arrange the trips which can be up to half price compared to tour company prices.Very good value just beware when boarding the coach/bus.

Room Tip: We had a side room which gave a slight sea view without the noise from the poolside night entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My brother and his wife have just got back from their holiday, staying at this hotel, and all was fine until they got all their money nicked and my sister in laws make up.
The hotel was nice as far as I know but 8 days into their holiday they had their money taken out their wallet. My brother placed the wallet in a concealed place. Yes, they made the slight mistake of not getting a safe but you would hope a locked room would suffice. They suspect it was the maid as she had the only access to the room and to make a little more obvious, she took all my sister in laws make up. The next day the maid, when she saw them both, made a dash for it. Suspicious?
When they approached the receptionist to make a complaint she seemed to have a 'so what' attitude and didn't even have the audacity to offer them a good will gesture of bottle of water as my brother and his wife had no money to buy even one drink. Furthermore, she made a stupid comment of 'it wasn't much money anyway' (450 euro?!).The manager wasn't much better either! and tried to dismiss them as soon as possible and insisted this had never happened before in the hotel (I have read a review that robbers have stolen from holidaymakers from here in the past).Thomson holiday rep helped to a degree and helped them to draw out money from my
brothers bank account.
Very poor service on the hotels part and don't know how to offer good customer service. Needless to say they won't be returning nor will they recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterMelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. I can only say that we were well looked after with the good service and food that we received and it really does deserve the 4* status for a Spanish hotel.
Our room had a side view of the beach and was well appointed with nice clean cut bedding and furniture. The bathroom has a large shower room with a overhead shower and a smaller detachable (if required) head.
The staff were efficient and polite and we were made very welcome by reception when we arrived.
28 euro's for the safe for 7 nights is rather expensive. On the other hand drinks and snacks at the bar area's were priced right and were similar to the beach bars in the vicinity!
For anyone wanting to use the local buses a card can be obtained from the bus kiosk opposite the hotel. The price is 14.90 euros for 10 trips and can be used for multiple people. If you need to top the card up take this to one of the many local bus kiosks and it is only 11.40 euros after your initial purchase.
I would definitely return to this hotel for another relaxing stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit and we were impressed with the new renovations. We had a family birthday whilst staying at the hotel and the Hotel sent a complimentary bottle of fizz to the hotel room . The food was great , entertainment was better this year and the atmosphere was great . Staff helpful and friendly , we will definitely go back .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanilaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We took our 2 year old daughter here for 2 weeks in Sept 2013 for her first overseas holiday. I have to say I was very impressed. I read a lot of negative comments on here and frankly they must be written by people searching for something to complain about !! The staff here are excellent and although there are a lot of Russian guests we always fly very very welcome - they could not have been friendlier.

Our room was on 3rd floor - bigger rooms on this floor - well equipped and room service excellent.

Buffet style half board does get bit repetitive and that's the nature of this type of holiday dining- we did it because we had a 2 year old but we still ate out a lot.

Cambrills is lovely - Salou was nice but not really our thing.

The PLANA bus office does trips - office opposite hotel - half the price of Thomson. We did Barcelona Zoo with them - superb trip - excellent Zoo - animals not all closed in like over here!! Brilliant day out. Also, go to Portaventura - it's great and little one loved it. You don't need to like rides to go here, the place is lovely, nothing like Chessington or Thorpe Park.

Overall, I would defo go here again. We booked with Thomson and have not been on a package holiday for years - I have to say they were excellent - I was very surprised.

Feel free to e mail me if you have and questions, go and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Only 3 floors - top floor rooms are a lot bigger with double balcony - we had 3028 which faced road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rugbyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
503 reviews
1.4 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,008 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#2 of 33 in Cambrils
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#12 of 33 in Cambrils
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estival Centurion Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estival Centurion Playa

Property: Estival Centurion Playa
Address: Diputacion 70, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambrils
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambrils
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Estival Centurion Playa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Estival Centurion Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estival Centurion Playa Hotel Cambrils
Hesperia Centurion Cambrils
Hesperia Centurion Hotel Cambrils
Estival Centurion Playa Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing