We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambrils
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cambrils Park Resort
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was our second visit here because we enjoyed it so much last year. We loved it again but perhaps because it was a repeat visit we looked on the resort with somewhat of a more discerning eye and, well, the place isn't perfect. It is brilliant and we would definitely come back but something's could be improved ( some of them quite major).

Again we chose a Mediterranean Apartment, as we love the privacy of the top floor and the spacious layout. The powerful showers have been improved with a better screen, standing surface and three dispensers for shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The air con continues to be another fantastic feature. the apartments also benefit from fresh towels everyday and a change of sheets after I think about a week. This was not as frequent as last year when it was every three days. Although the room was cleaned daily , the floor was just swept once, the day before we left. Not a big issue as we do it ourselves but worth noting all the same,

You can borrow large beach towels from the Reception for a deposit of €10 each. This is returned when you give them back (but keep your receipt or a receptionist might give you some grief if you don't have it).

As we arrived early we made use of the Luggage storage at the Aloha Reception. be sure to pack swimming costumes etc separately so that you can make full use of the site, as the Apartments are not ready until after 4 PM.

This year we used the offsite supermarket, just a short walk North of the site, out of the Alhoa reception exit. Walk up the road to the crossing by the roundabout, walk past the pizza restraunt and there it is PLUSFRES, This is where the locals shop, the food seemed fresher and cheaper.

The range of pools and the different atmosphere each has also means you don't get bored of the same scenery. The whole site is beautifully maintained, however the grounds just outside the two entrances were litter strewn, considering ALL the maintenance and ground staff, surely this could easily be remedied and really spoiled the outside look of the site.

The whole site feels very safe and security is a big strength of Cambrils. You are given a wrist band when you arrive and the security staff at the entrances clearly take their role very seriously. When we had checked out and whilst waiting for a taxi, I took my band off. Instantly I was approached to check I was a genuine resident. Well done security!

The pools each have dedicated lifeguards, which is also reassuring, one even asked our children to identify where their parents were sitting, in case she needed to report something to us. Other lifeguards did seem a little rude to the swimmers, it was fine them blowing their whistle at each perceived misdameaner but we did hear them talk quite sharply to some mature adults over the course of the week in quite a patronising manner- which would have certain raised our heckles up. Perhaps, knowing the high cost the residents were paying for their holiday, their manner could have been more polite. For the amount being paid and considering the facilities a VIP mentality should prevail - at times with lifeguards, receptionists you are talked to like naughty delinquents rather than valued guests.

There is a daily programme at the kids club and the staff seemed very attentive. each evening there was a mini disco for the younger children.

The evening entertainment on the central stage was enjoyable, even with all the lip syncing, the team worked really hard and are a credit to the site. They are very family friendly and Parky the camp mascot makes regular appearances, much to the delight of the younger children. Unfortunately there is now nothing planned for Monday evenings, which does seem a shame.

The new gym and spa are of a high standard, though with a small charge of €4, for this you get access to both the spa and gym for up to 3 hours. it seemed to be deserted most of the time. My husband used it almost every day and felt it was excellent value. Indeed for this facility alone he would come back and he used our stay akin to a health farm with the intention of working off his beer gut... Due to alcohol consumption in the evening it didn't quite work but hey he felt great after using the gym.

During the evenings the older children tended to gather in the floodlit spots area. Here again the security staff did an excellent job. On one evening we took our drinks from the bar in glasses, which was clearly not a good idea. Immediately one of the staff stated that only plastic glasses were permitted. He then politely offered to get plastic glasses for us from the bar so that we could transfer our drinks.This was done in a sympathetic and professional way.

Many of the children that use that use this sports area are clearly football mad and come wearing their full football kit. On some evenings some parents took it upon themselves to organise friendly international games, dividing the children into older and younger teams. This was lovely to watch.

On other evenings, there was no such organisation and between 50 and 60 children were all trying to play one game of football!

It would be great to have more space and perhaps to have facilities for older children and some for the younger ones. There are so many who want to play and those who played on the netball surface ran the risk of being mowed down by the occasional speeding maintenance worker using one of the electric vehicles, as they collected heir ball, as it is adjacent to their playing area. This is a health and safety concern that needs to be monitored.

We did witness a number of small injuries and I am not sure what First Aid was available, there were certainly no visible first aid areas. One guest said that the staff themselves seemed poorly trained and didn't understand some of the first aid basics and this seemed to be an accurate reflection based on our own experiences. Yes there is access to private health care via a doctor and this is an excellent service - but at the first point of contact the staff themselves (at reception - no first aid box, the receptionist unable to get a triangular bandage on request for instance and a staff member on another occasion vigorously twisting and turning a suspected broken arm made us feel uneasy).

I feel the site would definitely benefit from finding a space for a second football pitch and would just ask that the managers at the site make a qualified first aider more readily to hand as well as the doctor Surgery.

Although there are lots of places to eat on site, there is a much better choice, just along the road in Cambrils or Salou. The Plana buses run up and down the coast very frequently and by getting hold of a Plana card and loading it with 10 or 20 journeys at any Plana office( There is one opposite the Large Cambrils hotel) travel to Cambrils, Salou or even Taragona is very cheap. some great shopping too!

This is a very relaxing, safe and enjoyable place to spend a holiday, but at €300 a night ? I am not sure we will return next year even if my husband is enamoured with the gym. At that price everything needs to be consistently spot on - the first aid and health and safety issues, the politeness of certain staff and receptionists. The space for children to play safely during the evenings. The cutbacks in entertainment options this year and reduction in cleaner thoroughness...All these things need to be looked at.

Four well deserved stars and worth visiting and certainly one of the best. But at the price we are wondering whether we could do even better elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Boushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went there for 9 nights in June.lovely pools and place very clean.stayed in aloha bungalow which was adequate and comfortable.
I did notice that it was getting fairly crowded near the end of June and I don't think I would like to be there then as I guess it would be very difficult to get a bed around pool and the amenity areas are usually heaving with people and are too crowded.

I do think it is a site geared towards young families as evening entertainment was very much directed towards children from 0 to 6/7.
If you want to hire bikes go to amigo 44 across from pure genius pub.lovely quality bikes reasonably priced and the owner is sound.

Takeaway was ok if expensive.would I return probably not because of night entertainment and surrounding area is not great although cambrils is nice enough to cycle to on cycle path beside sea.

Be careful if you are getting train to Barcelona.lots of very skilfull pickpockets who work in groups and make a very lucrative living on the cambrils/salon Barcelona line.my daughter saw several people been relieved of their money.you have been warned.
Cambrils park has a lot of repeat customers but personally I would not go in July August because of crowds there.also price seems to be going up every year.

Room Tip: Keep Away from entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank paulyGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 11 days at Cambrils Park Resort in May this year. We were here the same time last year but stayed in the Bonita villas. This time as we needed a bit more room we booked the La Mediterrania apartments which they were finishing off last year when we were leaving. By and large we had a good holiday and the resort is all set up for kids, the place is maintained to a very high level and all the facilities are great for kids but there were a few areas that could do with improvement as far as I am concerned.

On arrival we were met with the same problem as last year, a long wait just to book in. We had arrived in the afternoon and after an early start and trying to keep 3 kids occupied the last thing you need is to be held up at reception. I really don't understand why it takes so long, they have the booking, have all the information so why the wait?. All that should need to be done is a quick signature, handover the keys and off you go. Anyway, once this was sorted we then had to haul our bags all the way up to the apartment, the receptionist didn't offer to get anyone to help us with our luggage even though it was clear we were struggling with 5 bags and 3 small kids.

The apartments are great and there is much more room than the Bonita villas, they have all the mod cons you would expect but for such a big apartment surprisingly short on storage space, in the kitchen area especially. Obviously, they want you to eat in the resorts restaurants which is fine.

We did eat in the resorts restaurants on a few occasions and found them ok. La Masia in particular is a disaster area. We were given cold food, the wrong food, endured bad service. Everything about this place was a hassle. The amount of times I saw food go back from other tables was ridiculous and the waiting staff walking around looking bewildered as to what was going on. Compared to last year the service in the takeaway has definitely dropped, you could get a roast chicken (which I would highly recommend) within a few minutes but this year no chance. I was left waiting an hour one day for my order, again there seemed to be a lot of confusion surrounding the whole process.

All in all I would highly recommend this resort but perhaps a little bit more attention to certain areas would not go astray.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just arrived home from a weeks holiday at cambrills park, we have a 4 year old boy and a 17 month old girl, who had a fantastic time at this resort, we have holidayed every year since our first was born either in a hotel complex in Spain or at eurocamp site in Italy, which we loved, but this is without doubt the best park/complex we have been to, I have described the grounds as wisteria lane like from desperate housewives, immaculately kept, beautiful landscaping, paradise like, looking at website for the park, I am surprised that they have not a gallery showing just how beautiful the park is, we went for a meal out in salou one of the nights and regretted it because of all the hustle and bustle involved, compared to the relaxation of going for a meal in the park, I rented a bike and buggy for the week,which I would recommend as you can zip around the site with the kids in no time and also it's a great way of exercising during your holiday, went for some lovely cycles to the beach and to cambrills town centre, we stayed in a 1 bedroom Mediterranean apartment ground floor, fantastic patio area with sun loungers and a beautiful lawn where we put out a baby pool, some mornings the kids would play in the lawn and we would lie out and relax in the sun,which gives you a villa like feeling,pools and playgrounds fantastic with lots of slides,the park was fully booked for the week we were there but it certainly did not feel full as there is so much space that it always feels relaxed. If you have young kids and you want a perfect holiday, this is the place to be,we will be booking again for next year, it is expensive to stay here, but we found we spend less spending money that on previous holidays because we did not have to leave the park, the supermarket has all the minerals we required for less than a euro, normally you buy from the pool bar on other holidays at double that price, we did not have to do day trips out as their is so much to do on site, at night we had our meal including wine for between 30/35 euro. The entertainment at night was always enjoyable as was going for a game of crazy gold or just kicking a ball around the sports area with our 4 year old. I use tripadvisor before always booking a holiday, so I want to give you my honest opinion in hopefully you making a right decision before booking your holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Aonghus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We paid €260 per day for 11 days. no member of staff ever came into our buglow to change sheets or towels or clean or anything. I have paid €80 a night in other places and the place was cleaned every day. the food in the seafood restaurant was good but the service was below average. in general i think the service and the food quality is poor.
The morning classes were very good and the staff doing them were very good. the entertainment staff are their best assist.
The lack of cleaning of our buglow really annoyed me as we paid so much money. The food quality and service needs to improve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank beeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent ten days there from July 12th with four children aged from 3 to 12 and came away very happy. It was our second time so we knew what to expect but the resort has even improved since we were there two years ago. There's a free shuttle bus to the beach up towards Salou and a new beach-type pool, playground, gym etc. You really couldn't fault the facilities. We didn't get time to go around to all the pools, which is a good sign. The habit of leaving out towels to keep sunbeds is annoying but we could always find a corner on the grass somewhere and by 3pm, there were always a few free beds. It's a pity they don't have barbeques for each bungalow as you get a bit sick of the pizza, burgers etc every night. We always barbeque at other campsites so we did miss that, although a neighbour left us his barbeque when he left so you could be lucky and get one. The older children spent a lot of time in the sports area - football, volleyball, basketball, and it goes on until midnight, I think. It's right beside the entertainment area so it's good for older children who get bored watching the shows.
This was our first time to return to a resort and we weren't disappointed. We'll try something different next year but I wouldn't mind going back in a few years.

Room Tip: The Bonita bungalows are very spacious for a family of six. And they have a dishwasher, and towels c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mammyonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have stayed at cambrils park 4 times over the last 9 years and have been amazed each time with the improvements. We were impressed with our first visit but it is now just so fantastic! The site is beautifully landscaped and immaculately clean. There are plenty of things to do and good entertainment each evening. Swimming pools are lovely too. The aloha has been improved since lat time - memory foam mattresses and huge walk in shower. Can't recommend it highly enough - we love it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
1.1 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
567 reviews
2.4 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,080 reviews
1.1 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
651 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#12 of 33 in Cambrils
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambrils Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambrils Park Resort

Address: Av. Mas Clariana s/n | Gps: 41°04'35.2n 1°06'33.4e, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cambrils
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Hotel Class:5 star — Cambrils Park Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dreams have no limit in this family resort on the Costa Daurada, especially designed for the young ones. A 4 * Apartment Hotel divided into three large accommodation areas, where thematic pools and the setting of the facilities recreate true paradises. Thus, we find: The Mediterranean; with 4 * SUP apartments of different sizes and en-suite rooms. They are accommodations with the maximum of comfort, in a quiet and cosy area. The Carib; These villas represent the color and joy of the holidays. Spacious wooden cabins fully equipped and surrounded by gardens. The Polynesia; These bungalows are the resort's most exotic option, with wooden cabins and thatched roofs, surrounded by gardens and authentic statues brought from the Asian continent. It has 4 spectacular pool areas with slides, water games and relaxation zones. Among the many quality services offered by the Resort, there is an exceptional animation team and an activity program that leaves no room for boredom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cambrils Park Hotel Cambrils
Cambrils Park Resort Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing