We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”
Review of Hotel Best Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Best Maritim
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Best Maritim Vilafortuny, and we found the hotel to be brilliant, the food was amazing so much choice and different every day for the 2 weeks we where there, there is also show cooking which cook burgers, steak spare ribs etc, plus champagne breakfast was out of this world!!!, the staff in restaurant where very friendly and extremely hard working. Reception staff where very polite and helpful, we requested a pool and sea view but once on arrival we were given a huge room at the front of the hotel overlooking the road, so we asked at reception if we could be moved and they did move us with no problem to a lovely room with a fantastic pool and sea view. We had looked at previous reviews and where a bit apprehensive about what we would expect, but it was amazing!! our 4 yr old daughter thoroughly enjoyed the kids club and the staff did speak english, she loved the songs some in spanish and english. The hotel is mainly Russian and German tourist but there are English, Irish and Welsh there too, we new this was the case as we had researched this before booking and wanted to stay somewhere where it wasn't all english as this wouldn't of felt like we where staying in a foriegn country!!. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel and would strongly advise purchasing a Plana Card from Tobacs just up the road, this cost 12.25 euros and you could have 10 trips for 0.97cents each compare to 1.80 euros a trip if you pay on bus, definately a big saving. We also hired bikes very close to the hotel which only cost 14 euros for 3 hours for 2 bikes including seat for daughter. A visit to Tarragona is a must a beautiful place with lots of history and little spanish streets. Fountains in Salou where lovely and very pretty. Weather was fantastic too, and we cannot wait to go back to this hotel again next year!!!!

Room Tip: Pool and Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DDnD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

just back from our stay at the hotel maritm,cambrils.Its a nice hotel,clean,good location,nice stroll to salou,bus stop right outside.we stayed halfboard which included breakfast and evening meals,it had a good selection of food hot and cold, although the hot was not cooked through!There was not alot of english speaking staying and entertainment was also not english speaking which was very disappointing as my kids had'nt got a clue! also more old people than young.other than that your right on beach which is nice and you can always go to salou for some entertainment...our room had a ok view of pool,we requested a sea view but family rooms are located on main street which can be noisy from passing trucks and train which likes to beep its horn when passing!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sophie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

aving just returned from Cambrils, I have to say we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, the location was great, right on the beach. We were half board and the variety for breakfast and evening meal was excellent.
I would definately recommend this hotel to people of all ages,
Great bus service for getting between towns and places to see, and a great place for cycling.
A courtesy room is also available for people who have late flights going home.
On the downside, and there's always a downside, there's an area at the rear of the hotel where the bedrooms overlook the service area, so it tends to be a bit noisy and unfortunately all rooms are allocated ahead of arrivals, so probably not so easy to get another room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendy65Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed at the Best Maritim over Easter 2011, as a couple with no children.

As many reviewers have pointed out the hotel is actually located midway between Cambrils and Salou, on the seafront. Cambrils is about a half an hours walk, and Salou about 15-20 mins. But the hotel's location is ideal as there are plenty of bars and restaurants alongside it, and a walking/cycle track is right behind it along the beach/coast making it ideal for lots of outdoor activity. We found that the quickest and most fun way to get from the hotel to Cambrils town was to hire bikes from the rental place across the road from the front of the hotel and cycle in.

The hotel's reception area is large, and the staff are pretty welcoming and helpful - if you ask. There is a games area for kids at one end of the reception, plus the entrance to the hotel bar, where the nightly entertainment also takes place. At the other end is a entrance to the outdoor pool/sunbathing area, and the dining room.

Our room was of average size and clean with slightly, though not hugely dated decor. TV provided, though there is only one (prettty useless) English language TV channel, CNN Europe. No tea & coffee facilities, which is pretty common in mainland Europe. The bathroom was an average size too, clean and with a bath/shower. The only negative really was that the shower head was not removable - not great for washing longer hair:-)
Our room was on the opposite side of the hotel to the pool area, which was great as we didn't have noise from that area, or from the bar at night.

Breakfast runs from 8 to 10.30 and is a huge buffet of most types of breakfast food - fruit, cereals, yoghurt, bread, pastries, hot food etc. It was pretty fresh (though I'm not a big eater of 'cooked breakfasts'), and we had no complaints at all. I can't comment on the 'show cooking' counter where you had to queue to get your food cooked in front of you as we never used it - why bother when pretty fresh cooked food is on the buffet? But kids did seem to enjoy getting pancakes from it. There could sometimes be a queue for breakfast, but this moved really quickly, and wasn't really a queue, just staff clearing tables and seating people at them.

The only real breakfast negative for me was the coffee - there were about 4 coffee machines in the room. The coffee out of these wasn't great, you could only get a small cup (not a pot), and there was often a queue for them. But if you wanted a better coffee you could walk into the bar for it and pay E1.

We stayed b&b, but many of the hotel's guests seemed to be full board, which would mean given the amount of food on offer you'd be eating all day! We never tried dinner there so can't comment on that either - the restaurants around the hotel and in the town were too good to bother staying in. Nearby the hotel our favourite restaurant was probably Les Barques, which does great seafood, paella and tapas. For a drink the Queen's English bar was also nice (not too tacky, though very quiet) - you could also get bar food there, or eat in their full restaurant at the back of the pub on the seafront (separate entrance). After dinner we ventured into the hotel bar a few times to see the 'entertainment' - this is family friendly, and generally delivered through about 3 languages including English, but to be honest the focus is not on catering for English speaking guests, as they are very much in the minority - most guests at the hotel are Spanish, Russian, French and Italian. But this was no problem for us - and the entertainment was funny with reasonably priced drinks, though you wouldn't go to it every night.

We were lucky and had mostly good weather during our trip and the sunbathing areas around the pool are pretty nice. The best one is to the side of the hotel (by the gate to the beach), you get less children and less noise there. The pool bar wasn't open yet so we needed to go into the hotel bar if we wanted poolside drinks. There are plenty of sunloungers, but you need to bring your own beach towel to cover it with. The loungers are quite hard, so you might need a blow up pillow too! Sometimes massage ladies (not affiliated with the hotel) go round too, offering massages on your lounger for between 10-20euro - they're really good!

The hotel's indoor pool, gym, sauna, and massage area is in a kind of dingy outbuilding near the outdoor pool. There is an extra (daily) charge to use the indoor pool/gym/sauna. The area is manned by a sweaty, muscular man who we nicknamed Bruno, who greeted us topless the one or two times that we looked into the area. As we had the feeling that along with being the caretaker he was also the masseur, we never booked massages there. Sorry Bruno!

There is a hairdressers beside the front entrance to the hotel and they offer massages there too. We booked in for massages with the ladies there, and discovered that they get an outside gent in to do these. My boyfriend and I were treated to very medical massages by a white-coated man in a backroom usually used for waxing I think, and both left in quite a bit of pain. I wouldn't really recommend it! But my partner did get a haircut there which he was pretty pleased with.

We did daytrips to Tarragona (taxi, train), and to Barcelona (coach/train) and I would recommend both. Tarragona has some nice Roman ruins and good shopping, and Barcelona is well, Barcelona! I wouldn't recommend the Barcelona bus tours though - they're pretty long and fairly boring. Don't waste too much time in Salou - the bit directly on the seafront is nice enough, but the rest of the town is fairly tacky and mainly caters to English speaking tourists.

Room Tip: Not at the front of hotel or by pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TheSnakeCharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I travelled here June 2009, with my then gf for a cheap summer break. We didnt expect much from this hotel, as we only paid £350 for a weak All Inclusive! But we were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel was far enough away from Salou, as the pub/club culture that this offers was not for us. In Cambrils itself, there is enough to have a walk around, and again not expecting much, but we found a nice little place to eat, and escape the scorching sun!
Barcelona is about an hour on the bus, so manageable.
We went for a bit of sun catching, laying in the sun next to a nice pool near to the sea. Thats exactly what we got. The beach is directly behind the hotel, with warm waters.
The restaurant isnt the best food, but for a week it is more than adequate.
The biggest problem for me was the evening activities, which was very loud and would go until the early hours each night. Because of the layout of the hotel, you cant really escape this. I would imagine this would be a problem if you are travelling with children.
Overall, expectations need to be realistic. In short, for someone who has relatively high standards, I think this hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itsabigplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We spent 10 days at the Maritim Princess late Sept. The location is brilliant, right on the beach within walking distance to Cambrils and Salou.The rooms are basic, but mostly clean with a maid service every day. I would say they could use a little makeover but you do get what you pay for. We had an 'outward' view as opposed to overlooking the pool but this was fine for us. Food is of a good standard - would agree with other reviews that your first trip to the restaurant is a little daunting, but you soon get the hang of the 'canteen' style self service. Food was different every day with so much choice I am sure everyone would find something to suit them. My husband favoured the 'show cooking' section for steak and fresh fish or eggs and pancakes at breakfast time. The restaurant staff are so hard working but very friendly and helpful - we cannot commend them enough. The pool area is great, with a lovely pool (albeit very cold!) enough sun beds for everyone. Being right of the beach was brilliant! We hired bikes from the shop across the road and cycled right along the boardwalk then spent the day on a secluded beach - this path is brilliant and runs for miles along the coast and definitely worth a look. We didn't go to any of the enterterainment but there was a different show on every night which I am sure some people would enjoy. We did note that most of the other guests were Russian and German. This is a cheap and cheerful hotel, and if you're looking for a brilliant location and reasonable food I would definitely recommend this. If you want luxury I would probably look elsewhere. I'd like to stress that at 36 we only just make the category of 'mature couple' but we're certainly over the hill yet! ;o)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GillandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

the best maritim was excelent for the price we paid food always something to eat some cooked in front of you, place kept clean rooms adequate facilities within the hotel good staff good, we requested a low room and a sea view and that is what we got most of the places nearby were 1.40e bus ride away, all around was flat and for myself being disabled it was ideal john staffordshire

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnatjohnstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
650 reviews
2.4 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,076 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
878 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Maritim

Address: Avda Diputacion, 172-174, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cambrils
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range: £41 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 472
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the area of Vilafortuny, facing the sea and just in front of Sant Pere beach. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet style restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, barcafeteria, TV lounge, and a snack-bar at the swimming pool. Outdoor swimming poolfor adults and children with a large terrace solarium, games room, children’s area and kid’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Best Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Maritim Cambrils
Best Maritim Hotel Cambrils
Maritim Princess Hotel
Hotel Maritim Princess
Hotel Best Maritim Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing