We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
300
394
176
69
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
394
176
69
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery nightthe bushotel entertainmentstir fryreception staffbrilliant locationpool and sea viewbus stop right outside the hotelshow cookingfootball stadiumwatch the evening entertainmentla pinedaa lovely holidaydrink priceshalf boardcleaned every dayport aventura
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

just back from a short break in this hotel. requested a room with a seaview in advance of going and we were given a great room. rooms are a bit dated but spotless clean and were cleaned every day by the maid and we were given clean towels every day. the staff in this hotel were lovely, i did read other reviews where they slated the staff but from the time we checked in they were all lovely. we went all inclusive, loads of choice in food, food might have been a bit luke warm but there were microwaves if you wanted heat it. hotel was very busy but we never had a problem with a getting a table and the restaurant staff were all lovely. hotel is right on the beach lovely promenade that takes you one way to salou and the other to cambrils. long walk to cambrils so if you don't like walking take the bus it is only €1.50 each way and well worth a look. o'driscolls bar when you go out main entrance and too the left is a nice bar and food looked good there although we didn't try it. not sure about any other restaurants as they didn't look that great so we were glad to be all inc. but cambrils has some really nice tapas bars and restaurants will definitely go up there again. weather was fab too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fiona15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

On booking requested double bed, quiet room with a view. Got a twin room, at the back of the hotel overlooking the bins and railway line! To be fair the trains whizz past so quick you hardly notice and didn't wake me and I'm a fairly light sleeper.

Rooms basic but clean, shower very tempremental, scorching hot then cold!

We had booked half board but upgraded to all Inc because drinks were expensive and mainly consisted of ice! (funnily enough once we upgraded this problem didn't occur!!) Buffet restaurant was ok, sumtimes struggled to find clean tables, slow to clear them and even slower to serve your drinks. Food was generally ok if you queued for the freshly cooked stuff, buffet food wasn't very hot and lacked flavor. There was always a good selection of cold salad/fruit/cheese though.
To sum up I felt the hotel lacked friendliness from staff, too busy to talk and not in the least bit attentive. No real atmosphere about the place and is slapped half way between cambrils and salou, it is not in cambrils as stated in brochure. There is a regular bus service to cambrils which is a lovely place with fab shops and restaurants etc. Salou is as expected!! Spanish blackpool!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catnip7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Amazing price via Thomas Cook £303 (accommodation only) for 2 weeks half board. Obviously worried as to why it was so cheap, but no it was a genuine bargain. Food good and very continental which made a change from catering for the British. Very few British mainly Spanish and eastern europeans but no problem. All staff speak English and are very helpful. Room basic but served its purpose. Very quiet rooms no noise at any time. Entertainment a bit naff but we spent most evenings out either in Salou or the bars along the main road ( which was'nt that busy first 2 weeks in June. Bus Stop right outside with information guide standing there all day waiting to answer any questions or put you on the correct bus. All in all a good holiday for the price. Only negative comment is that its not as close to Salou as we thought it would be and if you get the bus back from Salou after it midnight the fare triples.

Room Tip: Outside rooms are much quieter but inside rooms ( over looking pool and sea ) gets noise all day and evening from entertainment area.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We wanted to take our 4yr old Godson away for a long sunny weekend before the school holidays inflated the prices and our Thomson travel agent could find only this single hotel within our criteria. To be frank, we were not impressed by the brochure photos and description but bought the holiday anyway. It turned out to be the right decision. We arrived at about 9:30am (it is conveniently about 20 mins by taxi from Reus airport) and had to wait until 12:30 for our room to be ready for us but that wasn't a problem as we sat by their pool and investigated the on site facilities. Firstly, the hotel is right by the very attractive golden sandy beach which gives it a great location, just outside Salou. The weather was, predictably, very warm and sunny. There is a railway across the road which could be annoying if you have a rear room overlooking the main road but the great majority of the rooms, including ours, were inward looking over the pool area. In fact our room, number 14, was at ground level very close to the pool which turned out to be very convenient for hopping in and out for a dip.

The hotel was quite full and very busy with a mixture of families with very young children, just like us with our Godson, or more mature couples. There were few young adults in the 15 - 25 age range and as a result there was no loutish behaviour while we were there. There is quite a competition every morning for a complimentary sunbed and parasol in a 'good spot' around the large pool but enough to go around. The hotel serves its clientele well and there was a lot to do for the kiddies with regular daily kids club sessions which kept them occupied for those parts of the day when mum and dad or granny and grandpa can have a well earned break. The pool is the hub of the hotel and we switched between basing ourselves there or popping through the gate to the adjacent beach (but there you would have to pay for sunbeds and parasols as it is outside the hotel premises).

The real engine of this hotel is the restaurant. It served food far above our expectations and helped make our stay there most enjoyable. The restaurant staff are very helpful (more so than the front desk receptionists) preparing and serving excellent food with a wide and varied choice suitable for all tastes, ages and nationalities. The restaurant itself is a pleasant and very large room with an al-fresco thatch covered terrace outside beside the pool. As the weather was so nice, even at breakfast, we ate all our meals outside but I'm sure being inside was quite acceptable too.

Our room was serviced daily and we stayed on a half board basis. It was in line with what we expected from a 3 star hotel; basic but comfortable and quite sufficient for our needs.

Live entertainment was provided every evening and was very popular, firstly a well attended kiddies disco on stage and then, at about 10:30pm, a tribute band or similar when the kiddies went to bed (or at least should have done so). The best act while we were there was a Hawaiian group of three guys stomping their feet and sticking their tongues out like they do with two grass skirted dancing girls; they were very popular. There was bingo one night.

Outside the hotel is a range of shops, bars and eateries which serve an alternative for when you decide to wander out for a walk or a drink. We particularly liked the the first bar turning right out of the hotel up the promenade which was a mixture of 'chill out' and snacks.

All in all our expectations were more than met. Despite planning a holiday on a budget this hotel delivers a very good blend of comfort, mainly through its restaurant, with family entertainment which is bolstered by its good location, active kiddie club and related activities. Although only rated as 3 star it is punching above its weight. Would we recommend it to others in our situation? Without a doubt we would.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rhs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We visited this hotel, May/June 2011 family of three - mum, dad & 11 year old. We had opted for the hotel beacuse we wanted to return to Costa Dorada but not stay in Salou; this hotel was further from Cambrils than we had been lead to believe; it was very nice just not as far from Salou as we would have liked.

On arrival check in was smooth upto the point that we were told that the hotel does not offer all inclusive-the receptionist insisted that despite our booking confirmation that we could not be all inclusive; following a brief conversation she returned with wrists bands & details of the package. It seems that all inclusive at the hotel is not common practice & we only saw 4 other couples wearing bands in the 9 days that we were there.

The hotel is typical of that in a nice Spanish hotel with modern communal areas & basic accomodation. We were located to the side of the hotel over the top of the service entrance so there was lots of noise through the day & early morning; although we could see the edge All of the rooms have of the sea our view was of large bins! The rooms were freshend & the towels changed on a daily basis, I wouldn't go so far as to say that the rooms were cleaned because the bathroom had no more than a quick mop in 9 days.

The food at this hotel was enjoyable, there was a choice of food - it was what I would describe as a typical all inclusive buffet & could be a little repetative; I noticed that veg & potatoes from evening meal were on offer the following morning at breakfast which I found a little odd. At each meal a chef would prepare freshly cooked food which was lovely: pancakes, eggs etc in morning, fresh steaks & fish at other meals; only down side is it does get quite smokey nearby. At the side of the pool there is snack bar which offers salad, toasties, hot dogs etc until about 5pm. The restaraunt opens for at 7am for guests leaving before formal breakfast begins: it offers cereal, toast, cheese,meats, fruit etc. We found the staff to be friendly & hard-working. There appeared to be an outdoor eating area around the pool terrace but this was closed & fenced off during our whole stay.

The daytime entertainment was very limited & I found there was a shortage of free activities for our 11 year old. There is a cinema downstairs but didn't see it open. The evening entertainment programme was standard hotel: Mini Disco,Bingo, Cabaret, Kareoke, Magician. The entertainment room was nice & non smoking but I imagine it gets very busy in high season.

The pool area is spaceous & clean, the life guard is on duty all day & there appear to be plenty of sunbeds. The pool is at the rear of the hotel which opens directly onto the beach & walk way, be careful when stepping out as there is a bicycle path outside the gate which is used alot. The walk way leads directly to Salou, approx 1 mile & to Cambrils the other way, approx 2.5 miles. The front of the hotel opens onto the main road between Salou & Cambrils; this is a busy road with frequent buses;the area at the front is not really that desirable. This hotel is not actually located in Cambrils, it is closer to Salous, Cambrils being about an hours walk way. Cambrils however is well worth a visit; it is a traditional Spanish resort with lovely restaraunts, a beautiful beach & harbour & enough shops for a couple of hours shopping; they all shut about 1-2pm for a couple of hours.

Travel around this area is probably best by either walking or taking the bus. There is a bus direclty from Reus airport to the hotel, this was approx 30 Euros for 3 of us & took about 20 minutes; think it may have been cheper to book a transfer on this occasion but was too late once we realised the bus fare had increased since our last visit. The bus services are quite regular from right outside the front entrance - you can purchase a travel card for 12 Euros which gives 10 trips:just buy 1 travel card for the whole familoy & the driver will deduct the number of trips from the card as you board the bus. We took a trip to Barcelona from Salou railway station - approx 2 hours by train & 10 Euros each return.

Tips:
There are plenty of supermarkets around - at the back of the shops in Salou is one that locals use & it is alo cheaper.
Don't waste time going to Salou market, it full of junk!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey1Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews