We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,015)
Filter reviews
1,015 results
Traveller rating
306
406
183
72
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
406
183
72
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every night the bus hotel entertainment stir fry reception staff brilliant location pool and sea view bus stop right outside the hotel show cooking football stadium watch the evening entertainment la pineda a lovely holiday drink prices half board cleaned every day port aventura
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 1,015 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

nice hotel just got back very clean nice reception area rooms are basic but clean the maids were all very friendly and helpful asked for extra pillows got them straight away they do a good job reception staff ok hit and miss the lady who checked us in was very nice lovely welcome thanks i think her name was pepe... the hotel is very busy and big not what i expected there was more international guests from around europe very very few english so they cater more for them but not a problem .... had a nice room on second floor with seaview and pool facing which are the best rooms balcony is small ok for 2 people tv in room only sky news and bbc world news other channels all forighn ...... wifi is free in reception ......fridge and safe 3 euros a day........ location in middle of salou and cambrils very quite area but ok salou is about 30 mins walk cambrils is much longer better on bus ........ bus is outside of hotel with helpful man there to get you on right bus cheaper buying a plana bus card 13 euros for 10 trips you get 2.50 back when you return the card we had 30 trips for 35 euros and we seen all the resorts with that card so it was a bargain mush cheaper than paying on bus than getting money out topay on bus went to bonavista tarrongona la pineda cambrils and salou a few times ........hotel facing beach few steps away beach is lovely there very busy and we went on quite time of year so it gets busier thrugh out the year....... food ok champagne every moring show cooking but you can wait a while as it can get busy people very greedy seen a few taking food out at breakfast one lady made about ten ham /cheese sandwichs and then put straight in bag and they were not english and one night they had strawberries never seen anyting like it they were queuing before they got to there tables and they were just piling on there platesand going back for seconds and thirds very entertaining to watch...thankyou to keremna the lady who greeted us everynight at dinner always had a smile....overall the rooms are basic and clean beds are not that comfy flat pillows but had extra nice hotel very busy great for what we payed for 2 weeks was a bit worried but was pleastly surprised would go back if i ever visted costa drauda again...... oh transfers from airport dreadful took 2 hours but going took 30 mins which was very smooth so dont know why it took that long had loads of drop offs and long wait at airport sitting in coach....... overall not bad great value for what we payed...halfboard thanks x

Room Tip: ask for pool view rooms all have seaviews
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jaz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and i stayed at this hotel in June (see review) and enjoyed ourselves so much we returned in the last week of September. We were really lucky this time and were allocated one of the best rooms in the hotel. We were above the reception area with a balcony 3 times bigger than the majority of them. We had a view straight over the outdoor entertainment area, the pool, the beach and the sea. Although it was the last week in Sept the weather was excellent and we had some nice walks along the promenade accessed straight from the pool area. For those who prefer to use the bus, right outside the hotel is the bus stop to Port adventura, Salou, Cap Salou, la Pineda, Tarragona and Reus. The bus company (Plana) employ a very helpful girl to stand at this stop and help people get the right bus. We got an excursion bus to Barcelona from here and had a very nice day seeing the sights of the city. Just like on my previous visit in June the food was of a high standard and there was always a large variety to choose from. If you want a hotel in a lovely location and dont need to be close to nightclubs and noisy pubs then this hotel is perfect for you.

Room Tip: we were lucky this time but i wouls say the ones on the 1st floor directly above the reception are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tyljam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Had a lovely week at this hotel which was enhanced by the lovely hot weather we had. We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor with a view of the pool and beach the room was cleaned daily and was a good size with a nice bathroom. The pool area was nice with lots of sunbeds although people did start putting their towels out at 7.30am!! we didnt go down till 9.30am but still managed to get a bed although you may struggle in high season! the pool was nice although cold but a good way to cool off and the beach is right outside the gate which is also lovely. The hotel is a decent walk away from cambrills and Salou but if you like a stroll its ideal and there is a lovely prom to walk along and its not noisy after 12 when the hotel entertainment stops. The food was good and there was lots of choice although I would agree with other reviews that it is a bit of a free for all although I dont think you can blame the hotel only other peoples greed. The staff were friendly although this does seem to be a hotel with more Spanish and Russian guests and the entertainment did cater more for them. The drinks in the hotel bar were well priced and the outdoor seating area was very busy most nights.
All in all we had a lovely holiday and I would definetly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view and got a lovely room with a view of the pool and the sea definelty worth asking!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stockjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A review is the opinion of one person, so please don't think that because the Best Maritim didn't suit me, that it won't suit you (sir).
It may be advertised as being in Cambrils, but the town of Cambrils is agood 35-40 minute walk.
Salou, in the opposite direction is around 30-35 minutes. You can walk to both towns almost entirely on the beach, by the walkway or by the main road.
Buses are abundant, and by buying a pass card at any Tabac for around 10 euros for ten trips, you can go as far as Tarragona, Reus, and all points between. The buses are comfortable (unlike most British ones), air conditioned, and easy to use.
The area has a few bars and restaurants of varying quality and prices, some with entertainment, and most with the obligatory wide screens showing football etc.
The hotel location is the saving grace, being some 5 metres from the soft golden sand, and the warm waters of the Med.
We asked for a high floor with a sunny balcony, and were given a room on the top floor, overlooking the pool with sunshine from sunrise til around 2 pm. Great start. The room was smallish, clean and functional. The bathroom was also smallish, clean and functional. The shower was a bit of a disaster, ranging from scalding to freezing in a constant cycle. Toiletries were of good quality and plentiful, being replaced daily with more than two people could possibly use. The towels were an excellent way of saving money on exfoliating soaps and creams, being similar in texture to a medium grade sand paper.
The beds were rather like hospital metal framed jobs, but the mattresses were firm and clean. Bed linen was OK but we asked for a couple of extra pillows as the single ones provided were a bit slim. The balcony was sufficient for two, but only just. You wouldn't be inviting the neighbours over for an evening cocktail. ( Oh, and one of the two plastic chairs was broken)
The entertainment seemed to be mostly for the benefit of the Spanish guests, but as we went out most evenings, it wouldn't be fair to criticise too much.
The bar staff were efficient and friendly.(and the prices were reasonable). The maids were cheerful and quick, but never skimped on their duties. The reception staff were mostly clipped and sullen.
Questions were answered, but never with a smile, and there was an infuriating tendency to ignore you and chatter away amongst themselves while you waited until they condecended to notice you.
The restaurant staff were efficient, but apart from two or three, again the welcoming smile was conspicious by it's absence.
The General public areas were well tended, clean and safe. Sunbeds were usually all in use, but there were plenty available, bearing in mind that we were there in September. It may have been more difficult to find one in high summer. I did notice that quite a number of sunbeds were broken, but still left "in service"
The most dissappointing aspect of our stay was the food. The restaurant was large and somewhat chaotic at times. Grab a table, plonk your room number ticket on it to book it, order your wine then go and fight your way to the food. The "show cooking" area was heavily favoured, and by far the best choice for main dishes, although we thought that the cuts of meat were definitely of the cheaper veriety. The buffet vegetables were cooked to within an inch of their lives, usually cold, and always greasy (yes, I know they are cooked in olive oil, but not by the gallon surely). The meat dishes again were fairly poor quality (pigs cheeks, turkey roll, pork stew, Veal and several unidentified fish dishes) and we learned quickly to start with salad before moving on to the chops etc, available at the show cooking hot plate, but we had to queue for up to 10 minutes for this. The puddings were OK, but never varied throughout the fortnight.
Breakfast was better if you could get there at 8 am, but by 9 am, the bacon was swimming in oil , the scrambled eggs were a strange grey colour and the only choice was to head for the show cooking queue for a couple of nice freshly cooked pancakes.
Too many people, too few dishes, greedy beyond belief guests. On nights when there were fresh prawns on the menu, we saw "guests" with two platefuls each, piled so high that they were falling off before they reached their tables. The sparkling wine (Champagne????) at breakfast time was soon guzzled away, some "guests" managing 4 glasses full.
The Best Maritim is what it is. A three star hotel, in an excellent location, let down by some easily rectifiable problems, but as long as the Eastern Europeans and Russians, by far the majority guests, are willing to pay up without complaint, while pushing to the front of the queues and guzzling everything in sight as if the idea of buffet dinners are a new concept,I suspect nothing will change. Sorry to be so forthright about some of the guests but as I said, this review is the opinion of one person. No doubt some might be offended, and in all honesty, I was a bit shocked at the free for all, devil take the hindmost attitude, but I booked the hotel, I decided to drop from our usual one week 4 star, to two weeks 3 star, so I have noone to blame but myself for being less than thrilled with this years jaunt.
Back to a week 4 star next year.
Oh, by the way, the weather was spectacularly good for the end of September so don't worry about having a late break on the Costa Dorada, it's a great destination. Don't leave it too late though, as some of the bars and cafes were closing for the winter on the 1st of October.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool will give you a sunny balcony for at least a few hours every day . 4th floor is quieter and no problem as lifts are silent and efficient. 4077 upwards (4079,4081 4083) (odd numbers are pool facing). give a nice sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Expedition809408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

just back from a short break in this hotel. requested a room with a seaview in advance of going and we were given a great room. rooms are a bit dated but spotless clean and were cleaned every day by the maid and we were given clean towels every day. the staff in this hotel were lovely, i did read other reviews where they slated the staff but from the time we checked in they were all lovely. we went all inclusive, loads of choice in food, food might have been a bit luke warm but there were microwaves if you wanted heat it. hotel was very busy but we never had a problem with a getting a table and the restaurant staff were all lovely. hotel is right on the beach lovely promenade that takes you one way to salou and the other to cambrils. long walk to cambrils so if you don't like walking take the bus it is only €1.50 each way and well worth a look. o'driscolls bar when you go out main entrance and too the left is a nice bar and food looked good there although we didn't try it. not sure about any other restaurants as they didn't look that great so we were glad to be all inc. but cambrils has some really nice tapas bars and restaurants will definitely go up there again. weather was fab too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fiona15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews