We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but....”
Review of Monica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I'm mentioned in another review, so thought I would stick my point of view in.
Staff brilliant, without doubt the nicest people I have met whilst staying in a hotel anywhere, but that was the case for everyone we met in Cambrils, very pleasant people and place.
I quite liked the food, never eaten so much fish, very nice though, but the place is very much geared up for those shall we say not from the UK, which I saw as a bloody bonus!
I cannot stand these hotels full of football shirt wearing carbohydrate addicted Brits, makes me ashamed, so, If you feel the same, this hotel is bang on.
A bit about the room, apparently superior, which it may be, but not for 2 adults and 2 children, I slept on what amounted to a camp bed for 2 weeks, but, having spoken to the reception girls, and the Thompson rep, who was er, slightly out of her depth, I worked it out that fault lies with Thompsons, as the hotel displays the superior room on its tarrif as a double room, I picked one up on my way home.
Thompsons, in a stunning display of great customer service, to this day have never replied to my correspondence, so they can bugger off.
Anyway, back to the hotel, on the whole, nice little place, Cambrils itself is great too, nice beach, and the estrella damm is damm fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Codallmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Good morning Mr. Codallmughty,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Monica’s as Mark F. did.

We really want to apologise for the inconveniences caused with the bed and mattress. The reception girls should have offered you a different extra bed with a thicker mattress when you complained about it.

On the other hand, we are glad to know that in spite of the bed you enjoyed your stay at the Monica Hotel and specially our food! (Its quality is one of our main targets to achieve)

Kind regards from all the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
There are newer reviews for Monica Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

excellent location near to all amenities , restaurants , beach, bus terminals, taxis Excellent service from friendly ,professional staff. Excellent breakfast served with a smile and the reception staff, especially the young Monica, ever helpful. cheerful and tolerant.Bedrooms are a little small but quirkily individual.Spa and relaxation area is a haven of peace and stress -free.Our party of golfers really enjoyed our stay and are seriously considering coming back next year.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the pool or splash out on a suite with private solarium, perhaps the sui...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Good morning Mr. tigertwo,

First of all, sorry for the delay. We have just started season 2014.

Thank you for your comment. It is nice to know that you and your group enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We really hope to see you soon.

Kind regards from all the staff, especially the young Monica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Be lucky and get a room in the newly renovated wing andbit's great. Breakfast OK, friendly staff and a very good location in a very nice village, Cambrils. If you are a younger golfer look for a stay in Salou to get more action and less transfer. Hotel clean and nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niclas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Good afternoon Mr. Niclas66,

Thank you for your comment. I am afraid that Cambrils is not as crowded as Salou and if you are looking for partying night, Cambrils is quite calm.

Nevertheless, I hope you could enjoy your stay at the Monica’s. The hotel has more than 20 year experience in the golf field and we would like to work with golf players other 20 years and more.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had 7 lovely days at this little gem of a hotel . Spotlessly clean with wonderful staff we had the perfect relaxing holiday . The beautiful gardens were a haven of tranquility and immaculate . We ve been with thomsons on several occasions but this was the first time in a small and friendly hotel and hotel monica was a great choice . Cambrilis is a beautiful working fishing port and the hotel is minutes away from both the beach and harbour . Food was ample and varied and although the hotel had no entertainment we headed out in cambrilis most nights and found several little bars which had a lovely buzz !! Try out the hotels leisure suite with a jacuzzi , sauna and steam room it's brilliant and free !! If u want night clubs and a lively resort then cambrilis is not for you but if you want a perfect relaxing holiday in a beautiful small hotel then give hotel monica a try its fantastic value !! thanks to all the staff .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Good afternoon Mr. Graeme R,

Would you like to work for us as an advertisement and marketing manager? Hehe.
Joking aside, thank you for your comment. We are very glad to find out you liked Cambrils and enjoyed your stay at the Monica Hotel.

Thank you for recommending the hotel! we really appreciate it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here mid October and cannot praise the hotel enough. Every single member of staff were so friendly and welcoming, they really made our holiday. The hotel itself is very well situated, just a couple of minutes from the beach and the centre of Cambrils. Bus stops are also close by which run frequently and good value for money. We visited both Salou and Tarragonna. The hotel is advertised by Thomson as small and friendly and that is exactly what we got. My boyfriend was practicing his Spanish with the staff and they were very patient with him, explaining the different dialects and pronunciations. They also really appreciate the effort if you try and speak their language although their English was excellent if we got stuck. The Relax Centre was fab, especially the Jacuzzi which we used most evenings. I used the gym which is small but was more than adequate for my needs. Now to the food, breakfast was great, plenty of choice and nothing was ever empty. Dinner again had plenty of choice, even for veggies (my boyfriend is veggie) but he was poorly a for a couple of nights. We think the veggie food is cooked in meat or fish stock. Once we realised though, we were able to work around the problem. The only drawback we had were noisy room neighbours and a bar close by that was open very late which had some noisy customers! We ended up moving rooms which was not a problem and at the same time upgraded to a superior room which was worth the extra few euros a night. This holiday was one of the best we have ever had and I can only thank the staff for helping make it so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are bes
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janegil32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Good afternoon Mss. janegil32,

Thank you for your lovely words about the hotel and staff!! It is always a pleasure to give a hand to a person who is learning Spanish.

As for the vegetarian food that we provide, it would be nice if you could send us an e-mail with suggestions about how to improve it, as we are not yet familiarized with the vegetarian culture.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Monica Hotel’s and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards and “un fuerte abrazo”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for a week in mid september and found this hotel to be exactly as expected. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. We had wonderful food (both quality and variety). The hotel was centally located, yet without any 'road' noise. We where very impressed with this part of the spanish coast and no doubt we will return. It just proves that even when travelling with large tour operators if you check out the hotel with this website you will know what to expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 188John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Good afternoon Mr. 188John,

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in Cambrils and even more that the hotel and staff reached your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. It is nice to know that you liked Costa Daurada and it would be a pleasure to see you again if you decide to ever come back to Cambrils.

Thank for your words and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We really liked this hotel, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, very near the beach but in a quiet area, the premium room had a terrace on top where you could sunbathe privately. Negative were the shower which was sometimes too hot or too cold, and the pool, which looked really nice but which was much too cold to swim in - you wouldn't expect that in a sunny place in October! But general: good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 423 and 421 - good view, but on weekends noisy as it faced the poolside, where th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Good afternoon Mrs. Nicole,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Monica Hotel; we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

As for the swimming pool, it is an outdoor non-heated one, so we are afraid we cannot do anything with the temperature. Nevertheless you can enjoy the Jacuzzi in the relax center instead.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.1 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
1,044 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#10 of 33 in Cambrils
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
841 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
1,196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Hotel

Address: Galceran Marquet 1, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambrils
#1 Family Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range: £58 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Monica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing