We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Monica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monica Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our 3rd holiday in Cambrils but the first in this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly. On booking, we requested a 4th floor room overlooking the pool and that is precisely what we were given. It was clean with traditional decor, separate toilet and bathroom and a small balcony. We also had the added luxury of a solarium. We were half board and the food was superb. A great choice for breakfast each morning and a themed evening meal selection every other evening. The seafood evening is a must!
A minor point is the Wifi which is not particularly strong in the bedroom area. We had to ask for connection to be restored on a couple of occasions - this was done immediately. Also, a suggestion would be for tea/coffee making facilities to be in the room. We took our own travel kettle and were able to store milk in the mini fridge. All in all a great hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good morning Karen D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays.
As for the wifi, it is finally fix it and now it works properly. Sorry for the inconvenience.

It is very nice to know that you liked the food. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards on behalf of all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    151
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
111
280
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at the Monica every yeah since I was 13! 12 years on my parents and I still continue to use the Monica, the hotel and the surroundings are beautiful! And Monica herself is to thank for my family returning year after year, great hotel and brilliant staff! See you again in September!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan_156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Good morning Susan_156,

Thank you so much for writing about the hotel; it is very nice of you.

We are glad to know that we are going to see you this September!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

From the moment the hotel's automatic front doors open and you are greeted by the smiling reception staff, you know life's going to be good. My wife and I have been going to the Monica for around 20 years. This year we've been twice. If you're looking for a rowdy time and all day entertainment for the kids . . . go somewhere else. The Monica is the ideal hotel for a relaxing holiday, with the beach, bars and shops just a stone's throw away. No hotel will please all of the people all of the time, but to come away from the Monica with negative thoughts must be very rare. Congratulations to all the staff on a first class service. See you in 2015!

Dave and Bet, Telford

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good morning Mrs. Bet W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the hotel.

It is a real pleasure to see you and your family in the hotel every year; and it is very kind of you to write such lovely words about the staff.

A warm hug on behalf of all the staff.

Kind regards and see you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week at Monica Hotel and really can't fault it, we had a room on the 3rd floor that over looked the back of some shops so no view but we don't go on holiday to sit in our room so not really a problem. The room itself was very clean and very comfortable loads of storage and hanging space.we booked this after reading reviews and would go back anytime and probably will. Location,staff,food like I said ticks all the boxes loved it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank etherington_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good morning Mrs. Etherington_m,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your first stay at the hotel; and we thank you for taking the time to write about it.

It is nice to know that the hotel reached your expectations and, even more, that you would come back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 nights at this hotel with our 8 year old daughter and my parents. We love this hotel for many reasons: good value (booked through Thomson), wide variety of food and drink, friendly and helpful staff (many multilingual) and close to Reus airport and Portaventura. We don't want a 'Brits Abroad' holiday with a kids club and entertainment every night and this hotel suits our needs. The hotel is ideally located for a wander into the Spanish town of Cambrils with many bars and restaurants i.e. you feel like you are in Spain and don't feel stuck in a resort somewhere. Alternatively you can walk up to the Old Town or travel further afield to Reus, Tarragona or even Barcelona. The hotel is family-owned which means they care. On many afternoons we were the only people in the Pool and we always got a sunbed (staff made a big effort to remove towels where people were 'reserving' the beds when they went for a siesta). Overall, a lovely Spanish hotel for families looking for a base to explore the area or just to relax and drink Cava!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sbsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Good morning Mrs. sbsully,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the hotel. We are very glad to know that the Monica suited your needs and you enjoyed your stay in Cambrils.

As for the pool, this is one of the advantages of being so close to the seaside; most of the people go to the beach instead of staying around the pool.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

From arrival til departure could not fault hotel and staff. Selection of food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent from the ordinary to some local foods. Fresh food cooked by chefs as required. Cambrils lovely resort

Room Tip: Liked 205 as near stairs/ice machine and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Good morning Mr. David R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and our food.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a wonderful hotel and we had a fantastic stay here. We went as a couple for 10 days. We didn't want anything touristy and wanted somewhere calm, relaxed and quiet. The Monica Hotel achieved all of this!
The staff bent over backwards with any requests or queries we had and I have never met such helpful, obliging and friendly reception staff. The restaurant staff were also lovely.
The grounds are well-kept and a pleasure to sit in. There was also never a shortage of sunloungers despite us going in August. The pool wasn't huge, but there was ample room and it was warm from the sun. Our room were delightfully decorated, bright and spacious, and they staff had listened to our requests upon booking ensuring we had a double bed. They also managed to give us a sea view from our balcony! The food in the restaurant was excellent and the chefs really know how to cook fish properly. The breakfast was always to good start to the day with a selection of freshly squeezed juices and freshly cut fruit.There was also the bonus of free wi-fi which we were able to access in our room and in the garden.
The hotel is about a 1 minutes walk to the beach and is in the middle of the Old Port area of Cambrils meaning you are minutes away from tapas, bars, restaurants and a Carrefour.
I don't think there is much to fault with this hotel at all and we would return for another stay without question! Thank you so much Monica Hotel for making our holiday so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Goof afternoon Mrs. Rhiannon S,

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

Thank you so much for have taken the time to write about your holidays.

What can we say? Thank you for your lovely words about the staff. It is a pleasure to know that you liked the hotel and food, and even more, that you want to come back.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambrils
0.1 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
957 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
665 reviews
4.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Hotel

Property: Monica Hotel
Address: Galceran Marquet 1, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambrils
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambrils
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monica Hotel Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing