We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lack of organisation blighted what should have been a relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pins Marina Apartments
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lack of organisation blighted what should have been a relaxing break”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had to pick up the key to the apartment at an office in Salou. We got a taxi and because we had to make a trip into Salou office first we were charged 40 euros. 50 euros each deposit had to be paid and the local taxes. All this expense and you haven't got to your apartment yet. The taxi driver was very patient because this office was very busy. We arrived at the apartment and was met by builders and painters leaving the building. There was work being done on some empty apartments and the painters were painting the walls on the corridors to the apartments. It was quite noisy at times. The actual apartment is very basic, 2 single beds, (if your back is okay it won't be after sleeping on these beds). Wardrobe, small side table, no mirror. Bathroom shower over bath. Lounge/ dining area with double sofa bed. Plastic table/chairs on small balcony. Kitchen plenty of cupboards, utensils, plates etc good. Fridge, two electric rings which take ages to warm up, and a Microwave. The sheets and towels were very clean and in quite good condition. The walls and paintwork need re-doing.
We then decided we would like to rent a toaster and a safety deposit box. The reception was closed and looked derelict. There were no opening times, or any sort of information. Okay we will try later. In the meantime we realise that we would be leaving before the office opened in Salou so how would we get our deposit back? So Day 1 is spent settling in and visits to see if reception as opened. Day 2 still no reception, so we decide to go back into Salou to sort out the money problem. We walked part way, then got a taxi - more expense!! We got our money back but we had to leave a credit card number, and we were told that we would have a reception the next day. Oh joy not ! O yes it opened but had no equipment for hire. Leave your 14 euros yes thats right 14 euros to rent a toaster. It was delivered later that day.
So the first 3 days were messed up, but if the office in Salou had told us we were without reception we would not have had all the unneccesary travelling.
We would reccommend you take your own bath towels - I have longer and wider table runners. Also they only leave one toilet roll and you have to provide your own when thats done. The apartment is classed as 2-4 persons we feel this would be very cramped.
The area is very lively with plenty of restaurants, and a very good supermarket nearby, and the beach is just across the road. Sun beds are 4 euros each per day.
We will stay in this area again but not in these apartments.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    12
    10
    14
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

First we were dropped off at the WRONG apartments then had to go to Salou for the keys! Which we were not informed of before hand! But if it hadn't been for the staff at the Esmeralda helping us we would have been stranded not knowing what to do where the keys were concerned! Once into the pins marina we had to put up with barking dogs and some idiot playing the banjo early hours of the morning! Didn't get clean bedding or towels the 10 days we were there either!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambrils hotels

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

You really do get what you pay for.
Ok so where to stay. Getting the key. Not to bad really. Because it was after 9pm we had to get the key from an office in salou to which our taxi driver was very good and was prepared to wait for me. However there were only a few People in front of me but it took 30 mins to be served.

Getting into the apartments was interesting. You arrive at what looks like a derelict building. Then u have to find out how to get in. Which by the way are the gates to the right hand side that look locked. And then hunt for your room which could be in any of the buildings.

Interesting in the dark with 3 kids 5 suitcases and exhausted from the flight.


We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Which to be fair was clean. We had towels and even loo roll lol. Take some just in case though.

The pool although small in comparison to others was ok and clean and pretty quiet.

There is a supermarket next door that's open till 11.30 in high season

and a couple of irish bars just down the road.


The Down side. Well here goes.

The air con. No matter what we tried it didn't work.


We were on the side facing residential apartments were there were parties until 4 in the morning.
The train track is right next to the apartments so really loud.
The hob if that's what u call it took 25 mins to boil a kettle.
You could not cook off it.
And to clean clothes there is a hand washing sink in a utility room.

Also because of the price we also had groups of lads staying who were a bit loud but didn't cause 2 many problems.

We were only there 3 nights and then moving onto sanguli. If you were staying there any longer I would have moved us. We didn't sleep for 3 days.

I wouldn't stay there again but if your looking for a cheap weekend away to party then it's clean.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

These apartments are not to be recommended smell of swerage, very un-coperative lady at reception not in the least helpful had to change apartments after second day as we felt ill from the odour of toilet and bathroom in general complained but nothing done and moved to ground floor apartment ok but would never return, reluctant to give it 1 star the only plus it was convenient to beach supermarkets etc . The lady in reception could do a course in being polite and helpful as she would not get any reward for helpfulness T.M.C.T. Dublin

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 12345678910186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Myself and my two brothers along with my mother stayed in Pins Marina Apartments for two weeks from July 20th 2012-August 3rd 2012. We spent two weeks in the sun in a place in-between Cambills and Salou. This was the happy medium because we were in walking distance of both Salou and Cambills (though slightly closer to Salou) so we could find entertainment easily but were not in too busy an area.

I admit that the apartments were not the jazzyist but at 2* it’s a case of getting what you pay for! The apartment was clean which for me is a big deal, I don't do germs. The staffs were friendly but you did not really need them as it was self-catering and we had cleaners in once a week with new towels and laundery. I would recommend taking your own towels though!

Everything you needed was there pretty much we were ground floor which I did not like but when I realised we could literally climb over our balcony and into the pool I was happier, yes the pool was about 3 meters from my balcony.

The pool was a nice size, perfect for laps and nice temperature, but next door the hotel has a massive pool anyone was allowed in that was more of a 'fun pool'.
The beach was literally across the zebra crossing and it was there across the road, a nice beach not too crowded even with a raft a ten minute walk up anyone could jump off.
Supermarket, bars, arcades, pubs, beach shops were all situated around the apartments and within a strolling distance.

If you go however I would recommend a few evenings out in Salou as the nightlife is perfect for families or young people or any age really! A perfect range of eating venues and places to visit with average clothing and everything shops being open until midnight.

The apartments were very basic but all we needed as we were out most of the day by the pool or on the beach or visiting places, we went on a day cruise and to 'House of Illusion' and many other places which he had great fun. However if it was too hot mid-day-is then we could take cover in our little balcony that overlooked the pool.

Great holiday, expect what you pay for- a nice place to sleep but you will probably need other entertainment which in my experience can be found locally.

Enjoy LondonLover

Room Tip: If you want easy pool access go with a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Londonlover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

i would not reccomend this place to anyone we arrived here on the monday and was here for 11 nights and not on any occasion did we get a change of sheets or towels or any cleaner we were given just one toilet roll . we had to complain about the shower bracket the following day which never did get fixed so you had to hold the shower . the sink was cracked the sofa bed was broke and looked like a dog had been chewing through it the floor tiles were cracked so you would end up cutting your foot. the only way to have a cup of tea was to put the pan on the stove for an hour. the wardrobe was kept level by tissue paper under the front feet .the so called reception was shabby the pool was fine and the best thing was the 2 min walk to a lovely beach very noisy place to stay says it has a roof terrace (not) everyone else that was there that we spoke to had exactly the same complaints so it isnt just one room i dont think this place has been maintained since the day it was built (anybody that says these are nice apartments must be used to living in a cave!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) wont go there again.

Room Tip: dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Just came back from a great family holiday at Pins Marina. Was a bit worried afrer reading some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised to get a large 2 bed apartment with plenty of room for all of us and a sea view. There is a wonderful supermarket just a couple of minutes away with the most amazing cakes and the massive sandy beach is just across the road. Although it is situated in a quiet place with a few good bars (loved the entertainment at Esmeraldas) and fantastic Chinese and Italian Resturant really close it is only a 10 Euro taxi ride to Salou where there is plenty of nightlife. Also the buses are really great and it is well worth a visit to the Port area of Cambrils - fab seafront restaurants and bars and lots of shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cesar Augustus
Hotel Cesar Augustus
#18 of 33 in Cambrils
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
Colibri Hotel
Colibri Hotel
#21 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Olimar II Aparthotel
Olimar II Aparthotel
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rentalmar Costa Verde
Rentalmar Costa Verde
#14 of 28 in Cambrils
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pins Marina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pins Marina Apartments

Property: Pins Marina Apartments
Address: Av Diputacio 145, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pins Marina Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Salou and Cambrils , 100 m from the beach . In the surroundings you can find a great variety of shops , bars, restaurants and just a couple of minutes walking , the bus stop that covers Salou-Cambrils route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pins Marina Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pins Marina Apartments Hotel Cambrils
Pins Marina Apartments Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing