We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good food, o.k service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cesar Augustus
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good food, o.k service”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed here every June for the past 3 years. We usually have a great holiday. However, we could not get a reservation this year as they will only let you stay from Saturday to Saturday in the adjoining apartments. AS we are a family of 5, we would not fit into the hotel rooms and have used the adjoining apartments which the Hotel manage. The location is perfect on the promenade, and the pool and restaurant facilities are great. Full board option perfect for families. It is a very busy property and there can be long queues at the Rest and front desk . The kids club staff are wonderful and well trained, as are the rest staff , but the rest seem under pressure, overworked and stressed. Hotel would not accommodate us as repeat regular customers for a Tuesday to Tuesday stay for two weeks !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    88
    73
    33
    28
See reviews for
164
59
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel was booked last minute as Travel Republic cancelled our booking!!! The hotel has two buildings separated by the Cambrils to Salou road. We stayed in the one opposite the beach with the road behind. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Stayed 5 nights and the buffet breakfast was great with lots of choice. Clientelle was European with only a few brits.. This suited us down to the ground!!!! Would stay here again but would want a pool view room with a balcony.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgfromhtfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we were pleased, it looked nice and clean. We got our room card went up and everything was fine but baring in mind we had been travelling for nearly 6 hours and it has 12 at night when we arrived, we wanted to go straight to sleep but instead heard ALL of next doors conversations that went on until 4am!! We got about an hours sleep each.
We went to reception the next day to ask if our neighbours were going home or if we could be moved but the lady on reception didn't speak very good english so nothing was solved.
We went to breakfast on our first day, starving! and came out starving the food was so unimpressive!! We stayed at the hotel for 9 nights and ate the same thing for breakfast everyday and even that wasn't nice! There is only so much toast one person can eat! Al the food was very greasy and not tasty at all.
Cleaning was adequate in the rooms, not anything to moan about or praise really!
We went half board so had breakfast and an evening meal, the evening meal was worse than breakfast, everything was smothered in garlic!! and i'd say 4 out of the 6 meat options were fish! Not to our taste at all, the first evening meal we had pork and it was pink! we did not eat it!!
I think we had about 2 decent meals from the hotel in the 9 nights we were there!!
Found restaurant staff extremely abrupt and rushing everybody, no conversation or even a smile!!
Felt very let down altogether from the hotel as also we asked several people about activities/days out to do in Salou and got nothing in response it was just by chance we came across leaflets or reps in the streets that we actually ended up doing things! everyone else we spoke to had reps and activity books in their hotels telling them about salou. Our hotel seemed to focus on spanish and german!!! No other language!
Extremely disappointed if we could get our money back and go somewhere else...we would!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!! Cambrils further in or Salou main strip!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambrils hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked into this hotel for a short stay - 5 nights - and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very clean with a daily maid service. Our party, of 6 adults, arrived at 10.30pm and was greeted by a very welcoming receptionist who arranged sandwiches and snacks, as the dinner hall had closed at 10pm. We had read the reviews concerning the train track running behind the hotel but although trains do run quite regularly, especially in the morning, we were not upset by the noise as the trains pass by very quickly. Most holiday makers do not spend much time in their rooms anyway.
The food was varied although our only 'complaint' would be the fact that it was usually lukewarm, even if you arrived when it was first put out. Staff were always friendly and helpful.
The hotel is well situated with a beautiful beach across the road and a bus stop immediately outside which allows you to travel as far as Tarragona to the left and Cambrils to the right. Go to the ticket office across the road and buy a multitrip ticket as it works out cheaper than single fares bought on the bus.
Although there is no entertainment in the hotel (besides a mini disco for children/teenagers), there are pubs and other hotels (Esmerelda, for instance) all within walking distance that have singers and live bands.
We enjoyed our stay - relaxing and a good base for exploring the surrounding beaches and resorts. We felt it was good value for money and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms situated at the front of the hotel are furthest away from the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We will never go back to this hotel. The rooms were small and sub standard and in desperate need of redecoration with dirty marks all over the walls. Our room backed onto the railway line and noisy trains who like to blow their whistle right past the hotel were so loud you could not have a conversation while they went past. The walls were very thin, so much so you could hear the conversation of people in the next rooms and in the corridors.
Cleaning of the rooms was satisfactory each day but the maids did try our door before 9am each day instead of waiting until we had left the room. There was not a do not disturb sign.
The food was definitely sub standard and not hot. We had to use the microwave in the dining room to warm up our food. Choice was limited - pasta and chips every day, not much vegetables. Breakfast was the best meal of the daywith typical European choice of croissants, meat, cheese and fruit. Cereal and a small choice of cooked food such as sausage, egg, tomato, bacon was also available.
Not many English people stay at this hotel, it is mainly Spanish and Germans. Not really a problem for us but if you prefer the company of other Brits then be warned. It helps if you have a good grasp of the Spanish language too as the staff do not speak much English.
Although the hotel advertises entertainment, there was not any while we stayed here.
On the plus side the beach is a couple of minutes walk across the road and is very clean. You can walk (about 30 mins to get to the centre) or get a local bus into Salou which is a bit more lively with a good choice of bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. The local bus company has a small shop close by and offer excursions to Port Aventura, New Camp and Barcelona.
To sum up, we would definitely not choose to stay at this hotel but would go back to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms either back onto the railway line or the road - noisy in either case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytraveller93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepignon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Hotel Cesar Augustus Cambris Spain. We have just returned from our holiday at the above near Barcelona. We went to the Cesar Augustus for the second week,
The hotel was completely over booked and there were a lot of problems. The staff were very good at trying to cope but it was obvious they could not do so and we only managed t sleep the last 2 nights when they got in security guards. The first day was o.k. we had evening meal starting at 8 o'clock. It was a buffet and the atmosphere was tranquil. The second night we went for evening meal at 8 o'clock only to find the place over-run with teenagers and the noise was terrible. We tried to get in the dining room but couldn't get through the crowds. Eventually I managed to speak to the Head waiter and asked if we could have a table for 2. He said impossible we are full I said what time will you have a table. He said at the best 9.30. We are both 75 and were celebrating our birthdays so are too old to eat so late and in such a terrible noise. He eventually managed to find a place but the queues for the buffet added to the noise did not make for a good experience. After this when we went to bed there was shouting all night and people running up and down the corridors. Climbing in through the downstairs patios and generally causing havoc.

I went to the desk the day after to complain and she said the problem was they had 1,000 extra people.. We did not sleep then for 3 more nights. Then we saw they had security guards to keep the place under control at night. We ate out every day.
We had already notified you company that we would be leaving 1 day earlier. and when we left the security guards had made a big difference. This hotel should be for teenagers only and anyone elderly or even people with children should be warned wheat can happen. It is a hotel for teenagers only and even then they need security guards.
We are not decrepit we went to the disco one night and watched several football matches on their big screen but if you need security guards to give you a good nights sleep there is something wrong.
Incidentally although I initially complained about the parking charge of 10 euros a night, this turned out to be money well spent as they had someone all night watching the car park.
I would be pleased to get your views on this problem and want to warn other holidaymakers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blanche10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just got back from a 3 night break at this hotel.
First lets get the bad point out of the way ,poor food selection not alot of choice.
Everything else great.The cleanest and best rooms ive stayed in a3star hotel in salou area,in a good position 15 mins walk to salou and a 10 min bus ride to Cambrils.
The staff are wonderful but remember this is a hotel for mainly spanish people.
Overall i would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a great place to stay outside the hustle of it all

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rush2112Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
598 reviews
2.6 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
1,105 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
476 reviews
2.7 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cesar Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cesar Augustus

Property: Hotel Cesar Augustus
Address: Avinguda Diputacio 195, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cesar Augustus 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in front of the Hotel Augustus just 80 meters far from the beach and along Salou's promenade. All the rooms with hair dryer, independent air conditioning ( 15/6 - 15/9 ) and heating, telephone, satellite TV, safe and fridge(optional) and terrace. The Hotel offers you a swimming pool for adults and for children, TV room, bar-cafeteria and Internet center . Air conditioning and Wifi in the common areas. Buffet service in the restaurant with show cooking (01/07 - 11/09) in high season(dinner). All the services of the Hotel Augustus can be used except for the restaurant. Parking ( 400 places ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cesar Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesar Augustus Hotel Cambrils
Cambrils Cesar Augustus Hotel
Hotel Cesar Augustus Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing