We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not for British”
Review of Voramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Voramar
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at the voramar for 7 nights, the hotel itself was nice, apartment really spacious and cleaned daily. Had a good size pool and play area for the kids. Poolside bar was good and not too expensive and there was entertainment day and night. The food on the other hand was awfull. Was violently sick on the first night after eating chicken from the buffet and so was reluctant to eat for the rest of the week. There was at least 2 nights my son could not eat anything and so we had to go out. Another downside to the hotel is that it's quite far from shops or bars however there is a very good bus service. I found the staff very rude and not many speak English especially in the restaurant where it is very chaotic and noisy. The hotel offered free wi fi at the bar and reception however it hardly ever worked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We (my husband, 3 year old son and I) travelled to the Voramar at the end of May to stay for one week. We arrived at around 8pm, checked in and went to the room. I was initially hesitant that I had made the right decision as check in had been very very broken English and I had very broken Spanish. A different receptionist dealt with us a day or so later and she had very good English. It had a small play park, pool with section for younger children, dining room, bar and play room with some machines and a pool table etc. There were 3 blocks with 3 floors and we managed to get a ground floor apartment.

The room itself was two single beds in the bedroom and another single bed in the main living area so we immediately moved the 3rd bed after a little rearranging, to give my husband and I somewhere to chill out in the evening once the wee man was in bed, The kitchenette had a table, plenty of cupboard space, a fridge, 2 ringed hob, microwave and they supply enough plates, glasses and cutlery for 4 people, and one pot. There is also a tv, sofa (which turns into a bed for a 4th person if required), safe (27e for the week with 10e deposit) and very large balcony with clothes airer. We were overlooking the back of the bar area so technically were back stage; the noise from the bar definitely increased if the doors were open but they turned the music off or the band/entertainment finished at 12pm. My little boy slept through it no matter what. The cleaners came in daily and were very thorough, leaving towels if you needed them and making up the beds as well.

We found our way to the dining room (large self service buffet) and were sat at a table with no further instruction as the staff there didn't speak English either but after watching for a few minutes we worked out what to do, grab a plate, fill it and then eat it. You clear up after yourself too. As the week went on I picked up more of the language so we were able to have broken conversation with the service staff and they adored my little boy. The evening meals changed daily but breakfast didn't vary much at all. If you want fruit salad, they supply the fruit and you make it yourself; there was cereal for the younger ones served with UHT milk, which my little boy didn't seem to mind, cold meats and cheeses and a selection of pastries,

We noticed that the majority of the guests were either Russian, French or Dutch but there were a few English families as well. The week we stayed there was also a large group of cyclists and a large group of school children who were very well behaved and well controlled by their guardians.

The Aparthotel itself is set closer to Cambrils than it is Salou but there is a superb public transport system and you can either pay as you use or purchase a travel card which gives unlimited travel but unfortunately we did not find out about this card until later in the week. If you have a young child definitely take a buggy or you can hire them locally for 4e per day with a 20e deposit. There is a beach about 1 minute from the hotel and this stretches from Salou to Cambril and further. There are restaurants and beach cafes all along the promenade. It took us about 20 minutes to walk to Cambrils and approximately 45 minutes to Salou but that was with a youngster in tow, it was quicker when we took the buggy. There are all sorts of activities once you get into either town, such as glass bottom boat which goes between Cambrils and Salou, Catamaran trips, windsurfing etc but I would say that Cambrils does not have much for a 3 year old.

All in all, once I had gotten over the initial check in and layout of the apartment I really enjoyed myself and relaxed. The hotel is lovely and the staff are lovely. I possibly would consider staying again as we would know more the next time around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockinJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As the title says, only one issue with the hotel, someone complained they were cold so they switched the air con off and turned the heating, yes heating on, temps in the evening of 24-27 ?
other than the above, nice staff, good food albeit mainly Luke warm, although were two mirco waves in the dinning room. only 1 minutes walk from the hotel doors to the beach, ok 2 maybe. but that is the only asset this resort has,other reviews mention timings to Cambrils and Salou ,seemly irrelevant when reading but very relevant when your there, the resort has nothing, no where to hire anything, cars, boats, windsurfers ,there are no trips such as the glass bottom boat, booze cruise ,day trips nothing stops there, stops at Cambril, and Salou but just passes this resort.
it's not even that there is a shop/outlet that is closed for the period we were there, only one Spanish owed shop and three Asian owned, open all hours, sell everything types.
if you do the walk, half an hour to the outskirts of Salou then its exactly as you would expect, small restaurants open, seaside shops, car, boat, trips .been to spain and it's isles upwards of thirty times, including four times to Salou, capsalou plus a total of 40 plus rests around the med and elsewhere and i have never been anywhere that has nothing, nothing ,anything you want except the beach it's a trip on the excellent bus service ,but at 2e each way can add greatly to your buget, and after several trips you will be thinking ,why didn't i stay in Salou, and that's what i would suggest.
rooms at this hotel are large, well maintained and in the main very quite except for the crows of teenaged yobs they and their supervisors are let lose around the pool totally dominating it and forcing the younger members to withdraw, for which this place seems to cater for fairly well,40 highchairs/booster chairs in the dinning room although their buffet was the most limited i have ever seen ,limited as it was to three items .as per usual you are turned over by the purchase of drinks at the table, but the biggest surprise is the safe key,27 E a week, plus ten deposit, plus 50E if you lose the key, as there is nothing to spend your money on, like trips and pedalos then this will give you a way of spending you holiday cash.
in short, nice hotel, staff, slightly above average food albeit, at best warm, large clean and well presented rooms, but rubbish resort, in fact it isn't a resort, it's like a hotel between two other resorts, do yourself a favour, go else where.
i am stuck between a rock and a hard place, the hotel deservers a 7-8,but the resort barely a 2 would I return, no but only because the resort, hotel is an eight, resort barely makes a two.

Room Tip: block c and d are better,not with pool view,but better if you went elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larcLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed at this Aparthotel in October 2012 and the accommodation was excellent, the location is remote, we had 3 elderly persons with us so that was a bit of a problem. The food was of a good standard but the restaurant manager was very rude on several occasions, we arrived late and reception sent us to the restaurant 10 minutes before it closed, he was not impressed and nor were we with his attitude which got worse as the week went on. The reception staff were excellent. The bar staff were good, overall I would rate this holiday as 7/10.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We liked this hotel. It is great value for money, OK it’s not 5* luxury but you get a very nice 3*hotel for very little money. It’s nicer than it looks on the internet. There are 3 accommodation blocks around a central court yard with a small pool and garden area. It looked a very safe area for young children. Our room was huge and the balcony was large with good views. We found the staff partially friendly and enjoyed the food. The sandy beach over the road from the hotel runs all along this coast for miles & miles. We where there at the end of the season so there was little entertainment which frankly we did not miss. The bar area was fine and for once you where not overcharged for drinks. The pool was fenced off in the evenings so again safe for children.
Just outside of Cambrils, it was for us it was a good location. The walk to town took about 20 minutes down a tree lined path the long sandy beach. Cambrils was wonderful, with lovely shops, bars etc. It was great to wonder around the old town back doubles and the Wednesday market was pretty good. The bus to Salou ran every few minutes and cost 1.50. This is the best “Costa” with great transport links to the local towns that are well worth a visit. We prefer the train rather than the bus to visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry11189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Food and accommodation very good.Staff very helpful and courteous.Spacious apartment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnoloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Voramar and found it to be great value for money. The apartment was very spacious and had everything we needed. The maid service was great providing clean towels every day. The staff on the desk were more than helpful and friendly. There was a good variety of food and plenty of it. If you are expecting fillet steak forget it, but for value for money it was good. It was mostly Spanish and Dutch familys staying while we were there so if you speak English the entertainment for kids is not really suitable because of the language problem. The only drawback is the location. It is located between Cambrils and Salou and while the bus passes the door of the hotel it is a very quiet area if you are looking for a bit of entertainment at night.
You must ask at the desk if you require untensils for the kitchen they are not provided automatically, which is a bit of a mystery to me. Overall it is a lovely quiet location very near to the beach and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bellewaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
1,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cesar Augustus
Hotel Cesar Augustus
#19 of 33 in Cambrils
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Olimar II Aparthotel
Olimar II Aparthotel
#8 of 33 in Cambrils
534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
833 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voramar

Address: Avda Diputacion 67, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Price Range: £41 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voramar 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voramar Hotel Cambrils
Voramar Cambrils, Costa Dorada, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing