We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
42
61
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
61
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hotelexcellent valuetwo nightsstar hotelcosta bravaone nightbeachesempuriesruins
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights here and could not find fault. It ranks as only 2 star, but performs as a 4 star. This family run hotel could give example to many more pretentious establishments. Personal attention was the overwhelming sense we experienced. Cleanliness and comfort with excellent air conditioning during a very humid spell. Breakfast offered more than adequate choice and quality. This establishment gives value for money. We intend to return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

A very good hotel as far as value for money. The staff is very friendly, the reception is always open. The room we stayed in was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast is nice and had nice fresh fruits !! All in all I recommend it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniabouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We brought two groups of cyclists to the Can Catala during our trip to Catalonya. It is a short walk to the restaurants and to the water and there is ample free parking for cars as well as a spacious garage for bicycles. Rooms are spartan but spotless and the beds are comfortable.

Breakfasts are wonderful. Lots of choices (including some home salted anchovies - delicious!). Several of our participants had gluten sensitivities and gluten free home baked options were provided. They were encouraged to make sandwiches to take along for lunch as the owners know that gluten free options would not be easily found along our bicycle route. That level of kindness was shown throughout our stay.

Overall, we had a very positive experience and it is an excellent value.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank KKSRPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We are in L'escala from time to time due to summer holidays and usually by car. The same this year - we take a one day stay on the road back to Denmark. We like L'escala and nothing change this year.

Hotel is located near bus stop L'escala and where the old town started. It is not far to any main points of interest if you consider beaches, promenade, restaurants and even ancient ruins of Empuries.

Pros - free parking place up to became full, wi-fi in rooms, funny main manager with English sense of humor.

Cons - expect only basics.

Room Tip: Check before you get the room - some of them could have nice view on the street, some not.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I have stayed here on two occasions have found the owners to be fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are spotless, some with balcony's and the breakfasts are excellent, with a gluten free area and milk options such as soya, almond and oat.
The location is right in the centre of the village with gated secure free parking and a short walk to beaches and restaurants.
If you are a cyclist there is a secure garage and an excellent bike shop a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: 115 for singles with a private balcony
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stuartmorris95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews