We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful retreat and relaxing experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Spa Empuries
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat and relaxing experience.”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We escaped from the noise of the city and our hectic lives and loved the peace, tranquility and charm of hotel Empuries. The staff who run it were very welcoming and accommodating. The sea view rooms were a delight, sitting on the balcony after a leisurely day listening to the waves roll in was a dream after city living. The food in the restaurant was wonderful, worth a journey there on its own. At the spa I received the best massage I have ever had. It was a truly restorative experience. We hope to escape there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FleurFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Daisymeadow,

Thank you for staying at Hostal Empuries during your recent visit in Girona.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I want to thank you for writing this review about our hotel facilities. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Spa as well as our restaurant Villa Teresita.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on TripAdvisor and for spreading the word about our property.

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Girona very soon.

Warmest regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    189
    79
    55
    44
See reviews for
132
356
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a strange hotel. In a way it is a 2013 version of a 1960s commune for families. Of course the hippies have since grown up and have cars, kids and their own rooms, but there is still a distinct communal feeling: you can eat almost any time from an excellent buffet in a large communal room with tables and sofas with kids crawling under the tables.... This is a family rather than a couples' hotel. The location is very good, but the old wing really need some investment: the bathrooms are not even 3 star. The staff were very, very friendly, but sometimes a tad inefficient, but I guess this is also part of that 1960s hippie atmosphere. Clearly the owners (is this the personnel as a group running a co-operative?) have chosen for this atmosphere rather than to make this a 4 star hotel, which it could easily be. I liked the hotel, but it is not my type. By the way, Escala is a complete dump, but the hotel is a basis to visit more pleasant places such as Girona.

Room Tip: Don't book a room in the old wing, even with sea view, because they are truly 2 star quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maximu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear maximu5,

thank you very much for sharing with the comunity of travelers at TripAdvisor, you comments.

I'm glad to inform you that two days ago we have already finished the refurbishment works in 6 of the old rooms, and now they look completly different and at the end of 2014 we are planning to refurbish the rest of the rooms.

We would like to wellcome you again and stay in one of theese rooms, so you would be able to see the results.

Best regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uccle, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Perfect location, along the sea, in a remote bay, with no "vis-à-vis".
Really remarkable service in all departments of the hotel : reception, restaurant, room services, spa, etc
We spend a first night in the "old" part of the hotel, with the best views on the sea...but where the standards of a 3 stars hotel are not 'et ( it seems that these rooms will be renovated in the coming months, which will make this hotel perfect).
We then move to a new room, recently built, with all the luxury standards : bathroom, tv, beds, etc.
The separation between the two separatd beds for kids and the main room for the parents is bighky appreciated.
Location of the restaurant, quality of the food during breakfasts, lunches, diners was perfect.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Choice to be made : luxury renovated rooms...but with remote view on the sea (or with no sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domimari1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Mr. TruthTolmprove,

Thank you for choosing Hostal Empuries during your holidays in Costa Brava and thank you for taking the time in writing about your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am most happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our property and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.

Thank you for your nice words regarding staff and service, I will be most happy to share your feedback with the team as there no greater motivation than the praise for a job well done.

We very much enjoyed taking care of your family and we hope to welcome you back at Hostal Empuries in the future.

Warm regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Parking right next to the hotel made arrival very easy. Reception fairly easy to negotiate although the rooms are not usually available until 3:00 in the afternoon, with check out at 12:00 noon. Some of the rooms in the original old building are quite small, so it may be best to book a slightly larger room with a balcony and a sea view (Room 235 is probably the best). At night, you can hear the sound of the Mediterranean Sea lapping against the beach just outside.

The buffet breakfast for €9 (pre-booked) is superb value. The hotel restaurant has very good food and wine (booking essential at peak times), although it can be slightly on the expensive side. The spa is wonderful and definitely worth booking for a massage or simply to enjoy the waters. We found the staff of the hotel, restaurant and spa to be extremely friendly and helpful.

A 20 minute sea-side walk to L'Escala in one direction, whilst in the other direction a 15 minute walk to Sant Marti d'Empuries, both with some lovely cafés and restaurants. The main sites to see, however, are the Roman ruins which are located literally right next to the hotel. Worth spending a couple of hours there and only for €3 per person.

Room Tip: Room 235 overlooks the sea and is on the corner of the hotel so has windows on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy-Bollockchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Mr. Billy-Bollockchops,

Thank you for staying at Hostal Spa Empuries during your recent visit to la Costa Brava and thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am most happy to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for your comments about our staff, with whom I will be delighted to share with.

I wish to inform you that, as a result of the feedback from our customers, we are currently renovating six rooms in the oldest part of the Hostal. We are doing larger rooms, with upgrade services and better isolation. We also inform you that at the end of this year we will start with the renovation of the rest 12 rooms in the old area.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hostal Spa Empuries in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This review is about the hostal's restaurant as I have never stayed there. Over the last 10 years we have eaten at the hostal every summer. The food was always excellent and extremely reasonable and it was always lovely to be able to sit on the terrace enjoying the view whilst eating! However, we have found that over the last couple of years, the prices have increased considerably and for some strange reason, you are no longer able to sit outside and eat! I could understand it if the weather was bad, but as it so rarely is, it seems very odd that you can no longer enjoy eating 'al fresco'! It is a real shame as the location of the hostal is it's main attraction and the change in management appear to be ignoring that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Dear Mr. CMHKent,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Hostal Spa Empuries.

I would like to inform you that from the last two years the Hostal Empuries gastronomic offer has change quite a lot in order to keep improving and always rich the highest levels of commitment with the eco Mediterranean cuisine. As you probably know at the beginning there was only one restaurant, which is currently Restaurant Portitxol, nowadays in high season we have three different gastronomic offers.

Restaurant Portitxol is our gastronomic restaurant in which we offer a high quality product, mostly with bio certification and provided by local suppliers. In this restaurant the average check it is between 45 euro and 65 euro per person. This restaurant is closed Tuesday and Wednesday.

The second offer is Bistro de Mar. During high season we offer a very wide buffet for 27 euro per person, and it opens every day. The rest of the year we offer a casual menu, also with fresh and high quality products with an average check around 27 euro.

Finally at the terrace we offer a menu of tapas. All the tapas are home made except for l’Escala anchovies, sardine in oil and pickled mussels. But we have chosen them for his high quality.

We will take your comments in consideration and we will improve the communications of these different offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hostal Spa Empuries.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Have been visiting this hostal to eat for the last fifteen years as live nearby .This year the "cheaper" eating option provided a wonderful , imaginative and price reasonable buffet which myself ,family and friends availed ourselves of on several occasions .
They have now changed the formula to an short a la carte menu which is supposedly more reasonable than their extremely expensive other a la carte . We tried this menu last Sunday. Portions were miniscule,food average and price wise exorbitant. Just because a tiny bit of green salad is served on a slate, it does not warrant the price tag of 10 Euros .My chicken breast stuffed with herbs was dry and totally uninteresting as opposed to oozing with flavour . The other starter of raw cod consisted of two small chunks of cod swimming in tomato.We hadn`t actually ordered this but had requested the cod balls instead , but unwisely decided to keep what was presented at the cost of 12 Euros. We noticed that the order was wrong on the table next to ours too. The dessert was so unmemorable, I can`t actually recall what it was except that it was expensive !we had one bottle of wine and the bill was 44 Euros each .This is totally opposite to our experiences earlier in the year when the food ,service, quality and value were all excellent.This is such a shame as setting is unbeatable , but NOT the way to deal with an economic crisis.Have never seen the place so empty --people can`t afford these prices for a meagre meal especially when there are good 15 Euro menus on offer in St Martie square which is were we will be going for the rest of this winter .Come on --you can offer better than this ..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikitaPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for been with us through all this years, you had have the opportunity to live the hotel evolution.

It is always our intention to improve and offer different culinary experiences with the best bio certified products. Allow me to detail below our two different proposals:

Portitxol Restaurant (Thursday to Monday)
Lunch menu for 24€
Dinner menu for 26€
Dinner a la carte which has an average cost of 45€ per person
Menu Tasting for 49€ (just created two days ago!)

Bristo de Mar
Extensive Buffet concept on high season (July & August - dates my vary)
Close Menu for 14€ in low season (September to May)

Thank you very much for let us know your comments about your last experience lived in our Bristo de Mar Restaurant; it is because of our guests comments that we are able to improve ourselves. I am happy to inform you that we have made some adjustments in the menu options and prices of our Bristo de Mar menu.

I do apologize because of the mistake we had with your menu order, we had took the proper actions to correct our service.

Please take into consideration that currently we are in low season, although we have repetitive guests that comes to enjoy both culinary offering and every time we have more and more guests visiting our restaurants.

I really look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you the improvements implemented.

Sincerely yours.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herault, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were back at the Hostal Empuries to celebrate a birthday. This was at least our 7th visit and it won't be our last. We were in a Spa room this time (we usually stay in the older part of the hotel) which was rather too much black walls and slate for us. We much prefer the small old rooms where you can open the window and fall asleep to the sound of the sea.

The restaurant was excellent, as always and the staff were very helpful assisting me in getting my Spanish data SIM working.

We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Escala
1.5 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
21.3 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
21.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Can Miquel
Can Miquel
#3 of 6 in L'Escala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
23.1 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bonaire
Hotel Bonaire
#4 of 6 in L'Escala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Spa Empuries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Spa Empuries

Property: Hostal Spa Empuries
Address: Platja del Portitxol s/n | Ap Correus 174, 17130 L'Escala, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Escala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostal Spa Empuries 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Hostal Empuries stands on an ancient settlement, beside the Greek and Roman ruins of Empuries, whose beauty and tranquility attracted the Iberians as much as the Greek seafarers and the first Romans who settled the Iberian Peninsula. Moreover this is the place from which the mythic country of Emporda took its name. This privileged location is the actual cradle of our culture and the only Greek and Roman archaeological site in the whole peninsula. Consequently, to protect and enrich this legacy is one of the main objectives of the Hostal. The History The original construction of Hostal Empuries appeared in 1907, under the name of Villa Teresita, with the idea of giving lodgings to the first archaeologists, who directed by Puig i Cadafalch, set out on the job of excavating and restoring the Greek and Roman remains. From these historic beginnings the Hostal changed at the start of the 20C and became the precursor to touristic lodgings in the area, even before the use of the term Costa Brava. Years ago there was a change of management in the Hostal which undertook to finish extensive reforms with the idea that activities should flourish throughout the entire year and that the badly run-down site would be restored. With the same pioneering spirit of the ancients and the ability to responsibly and sensitively modify this magical spot, alongside the exacting requirements of the modern tourist, the Hostal is really striving to transform itself into a new reference point, a new model of tourism under the name of Sustainable Tourism, founded on social and ecological responsibility. The spirit The new Hostal Empuries is a project based on the idea of improving the world in which we live and share so that future generations might also enjoy themselves. We would like to become the best Hostal for our world... for a world where we all belong and for the Earth that surrounds us. Accordingly, we take our responsibility for managing this site very seriously and we endevour to serve all those who come to enjoy this encounter with nature and history of which we proudly form a part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal Spa Empuries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Empuries l Escala
Hostal Empuries Hotel l Escala
Hostal Spa Empuries Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing