We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful trip down memory lane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Spa Empuries
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My trip back to L'Escala comes having spent every summer holiday here from aged 5 to 18 and so I was really excited to return to Empuries. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel still feels the same as it did back in the 1980's, but updated to be relevant in today's market. The staff were exceptionally friendly, the food was incredible ( local, responsibly sourced produce ) and the ambience felt the same as it always did. The views from the hotel are beautiful - uninterrupted Mediterranean . if you get the chance take a walk outside the hotel and straight opposite is a wooden set of steps that take you up the rocks to the headland. The views are breathtaking... over the bay of Roses and to the old town of L'Escala.
The hotel isn't lux, but it doesn't need to be. The rooms are spotlessly clean with air con to combat the hot days. There is a lovely old library with comfy leather chairs for you to while away the hours and the terrace has lots of comfy seating with big cushions for you to sit and enjoy tapas and the views. Empuries was everything I hoped it would be and I am already plotting my return :-)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank RebeccaFRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear RebeccaFRegan,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Costa Brava and for your time in writing a review on TripAdvisor.

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that your relaxed with the exceptional enviroment that the Hostal Empuries has. we are propud to have the opportunity to run a business that takes this aspects in consideration.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our gastronomy, I will share your comments with our Chef and Food & Beverage team as we take our guests feedback very seriously to improve the service we offer our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hostal Empuries.

Warmest regards,

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Spa Empuries
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Reception staff are so excellent - beginning with Alvarro and his beautiful assistant! We turned up on the off-chance of a room at bank holiday and ended up staying for four nights with a couple of room moves. The location is perfect, right on the beach with Greco-Roman ruins bang next door. The views are really, really lovely. There is bit of a disjoint between the hotel, the restaurant and the spa but they are all good in their own right. There was a bit of a mix up with my treatment but the young man handled it so beautifully I left smiling. They have spent some money on that spa and it is very lovely. Food is very good and I enjoy the rustic shabby chic which they have chosen - but I can see some people might misunderstand it. The metal allowed to rust is very 'de rigour' at the moment with the intelligentsia. It does have problems but it doesn't distract from its charm for me. I found it spotlessly clean and all the staff work very hard to make things lovely. I have to say the Maitre D is quite fascinating to watch. waiting staff very helpful. And the guy running breakfast is brilliant. Take it on the round and enjoy it.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank orange108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear orange108,

thank you very much for sharing you comments with al the travelers on TripAdvisor.

We celebrate that you had a pleasent stay and that you enjoy our eco-responsible-chic-mediterranenan hotel.

Thank you very much for your words about Alvaro and the Maitre D, Francesc, and the rest of the breakfast team, I will pass your comments to them.

Kind regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed three nights with another couple of friends. Arrival in reception raises great hopes of something very special.But.....
We were in a so-called suite at €174 in the "new" part of the hotel, which was a real rip-off, with a dark area with an uncomfortable and grimy sofa in it, distinguishing if from an ordinary room....and nothing else. The main room was in serious need of refurbishment, with strips of Formica coming off in the wardrobe, not very well cleaned, no spare pillows, no cushions to sit and look out to sea. No minibar, coffee-making facilities, or phone to contact our friends.
One morning we were woken by the Yoga class on the roof practically in our room. We had to endure this, hearing every word, and had to make a dash for breakfast.
Breakfast was pretty good in a cavernous room, lacking any character. We dined there twice with an extremely limited menu (spoken not written!). First night was okay, but second night was very poor with seriously bloody chicken. Wine expensive. Never again.
The town of L'Escala itself is a bit of a dump, but for much less than the hotel in the old centre, you can eat superbly at La Gruta.
We all got the impression that the management has got carried away with its do-gooding/eco credentials, and would be well advised to keep an eye on the rusting ralings, scratched furniture etc.
What a pity. The location is one of the best in Spain, with the fascinating ruins right next door.
PS We got rather a shock to discover that even residents had to pay €22 for each use of the swimming pool. We have never come across this before

Room Tip: Whatever you do, do not pay the premium for the so-called suites
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We escaped from the noise of the city and our hectic lives and loved the peace, tranquility and charm of hotel Empuries. The staff who run it were very welcoming and accommodating. The sea view rooms were a delight, sitting on the balcony after a leisurely day listening to the waves roll in was a dream after city living. The food in the restaurant was wonderful, worth a journey there on its own. At the spa I received the best massage I have ever had. It was a truly restorative experience. We hope to escape there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleurFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Daisymeadow,

Thank you for staying at Hostal Empuries during your recent visit in Girona.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I want to thank you for writing this review about our hotel facilities. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Spa as well as our restaurant Villa Teresita.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on TripAdvisor and for spreading the word about our property.

My team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Girona very soon.

Warmest regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is a strange hotel. In a way it is a 2013 version of a 1960s commune for families. Of course the hippies have since grown up and have cars, kids and their own rooms, but there is still a distinct communal feeling: you can eat almost any time from an excellent buffet in a large communal room with tables and sofas with kids crawling under the tables.... This is a family rather than a couples' hotel. The location is very good, but the old wing really need some investment: the bathrooms are not even 3 star. The staff were very, very friendly, but sometimes a tad inefficient, but I guess this is also part of that 1960s hippie atmosphere. Clearly the owners (is this the personnel as a group running a co-operative?) have chosen for this atmosphere rather than to make this a 4 star hotel, which it could easily be. I liked the hotel, but it is not my type. By the way, Escala is a complete dump, but the hotel is a basis to visit more pleasant places such as Girona.

Room Tip: Don't book a room in the old wing, even with sea view, because they are truly 2 star quality
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maximu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear maximu5,

thank you very much for sharing with the comunity of travelers at TripAdvisor, you comments.

I'm glad to inform you that two days ago we have already finished the refurbishment works in 6 of the old rooms, and now they look completly different and at the end of 2014 we are planning to refurbish the rest of the rooms.

We would like to wellcome you again and stay in one of theese rooms, so you would be able to see the results.

Best regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Perfect location, along the sea, in a remote bay, with no "vis-à-vis".
Really remarkable service in all departments of the hotel : reception, restaurant, room services, spa, etc
We spend a first night in the "old" part of the hotel, with the best views on the sea...but where the standards of a 3 stars hotel are not 'et ( it seems that these rooms will be renovated in the coming months, which will make this hotel perfect).
We then move to a new room, recently built, with all the luxury standards : bathroom, tv, beds, etc.
The separation between the two separatd beds for kids and the main room for the parents is bighky appreciated.
Location of the restaurant, quality of the food during breakfasts, lunches, diners was perfect.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Choice to be made : luxury renovated rooms...but with remote view on the sea (or with no sea view...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maridomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Mr. TruthTolmprove,

Thank you for choosing Hostal Empuries during your holidays in Costa Brava and thank you for taking the time in writing about your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am most happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our property and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.

Thank you for your nice words regarding staff and service, I will be most happy to share your feedback with the team as there no greater motivation than the praise for a job well done.

We very much enjoyed taking care of your family and we hope to welcome you back at Hostal Empuries in the future.

Warm regards.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Parking right next to the hotel made arrival very easy. Reception fairly easy to negotiate although the rooms are not usually available until 3:00 in the afternoon, with check out at 12:00 noon. Some of the rooms in the original old building are quite small, so it may be best to book a slightly larger room with a balcony and a sea view (Room 235 is probably the best). At night, you can hear the sound of the Mediterranean Sea lapping against the beach just outside.

The buffet breakfast for €9 (pre-booked) is superb value. The hotel restaurant has very good food and wine (booking essential at peak times), although it can be slightly on the expensive side. The spa is wonderful and definitely worth booking for a massage or simply to enjoy the waters. We found the staff of the hotel, restaurant and spa to be extremely friendly and helpful.

A 20 minute sea-side walk to L'Escala in one direction, whilst in the other direction a 15 minute walk to Sant Marti d'Empuries, both with some lovely cafés and restaurants. The main sites to see, however, are the Roman ruins which are located literally right next to the hotel. Worth spending a couple of hours there and only for €3 per person.

Room Tip: Room 235 overlooks the sea and is on the corner of the hotel so has windows on 2 sides.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy-Bollockchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Mr. Billy-Bollockchops,

Thank you for staying at Hostal Spa Empuries during your recent visit to la Costa Brava and thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am most happy to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for your comments about our staff, with whom I will be delighted to share with.

I wish to inform you that, as a result of the feedback from our customers, we are currently renovating six rooms in the oldest part of the Hostal. We are doing larger rooms, with upgrade services and better isolation. We also inform you that at the end of this year we will start with the renovation of the rest 12 rooms in the old area.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hostal Spa Empuries in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Escala
1.5 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Can Miquel
Can Miquel
#1 of 6 in L'Escala
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bonaire
Hotel Bonaire
#4 of 6 in L'Escala
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
471 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 16 in L'Estartit
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Can Catala
Can Catala
#2 of 6 in L'Escala
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Spa Empuries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Spa Empuries

Address: Platja del Portitxol s/n | Ap Correus 174, 17130 L'Escala, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Escala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Price Range: £93 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostal Spa Empuries 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Hostal Empuries stands on an ancient settlement, beside the Greek and Roman ruins of Empuries, whose beauty and tranquility attracted the Iberians as much as the Greek seafarers and the first Romans who settled the Iberian Peninsula. Moreover this is the place from which the mythic country of Emporda took its name. This privileged location is the actual cradle of our culture and the only Greek and Roman archaeological site in the whole peninsula. Consequently, to protect and enrich this legacy is one of the main objectives of the Hostal. The History The original construction of Hostal Empuries appeared in 1907, under the name of Villa Teresita, with the idea of giving lodgings to the first archaeologists, who directed by Puig i Cadafalch, set out on the job of excavating and restoring the Greek and Roman remains. From these historic beginnings the Hostal changed at the start of the 20C and became the precursor to touristic lodgings in the area, even before the use of the term Costa Brava. Years ago there was a change of management in the Hostal which undertook to finish extensive reforms with the idea that activities should flourish throughout the entire year and that the badly run-down site would be restored. With the same pioneering spirit of the ancients and the ability to responsibly and sensitively modify this magical spot, alongside the exacting requirements of the modern tourist, the Hostal is really striving to transform itself into a new reference point, a new model of tourism under the name of Sustainable Tourism, founded on social and ecological responsibility. The spirit The new Hostal Empuries is a project based on the idea of improving the world in which we live and share so that future generations might also enjoy themselves. We would like to become the best Hostal for our world... for a world where we all belong and for the Earth that surrounds us. Accordingly, we take our responsibility for managing this site very seriously and we endevour to serve all those who come to enjoy this encounter with nature and history of which we proudly form a part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal Spa Empuries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Empuries l Escala
Hostal Empuries Hotel l Escala
Hostal Spa Empuries Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing