We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and well worth a try”
Review of Camping Solmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Solmar
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Blanes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have used Harry Shaw Camping Solmar for many years and from the booking of the holiday with the Admin Team led by Mandy your certain of a good time. People keep going back and we now have holidaymakers who are friends and we meet up every year. Yes of course the journey is long but we now psychologically think of it as part of the holiday. Not very considerate of the Spanish to put Blanes so far away in the sunshine.
The coaches are mechanically sound and we have never had a problem ( touch wood) the drivers are good and you feel safe and when we went in May this year it was a good brand new coach which you could not fault with attentive hostess .
On arrival yes there is a short wait in the restaurant with a discounted breakfast !! I have been kept waiting at 4 star hotels much longer than this to get into my room because others are booking out.
The cottage is good clean and well maintained as is the whole campsite. Strange there are so many Spanish on a campsite in Spain but they use their caravans the whole season and they are friendly as are the dutch.
Roy and John are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble and the only fault I can find is John supports Wolverhampton FC .
If you go with other companies and we have you travel on crowded double decker buses and pay 3 times what you pay with Harry Shaw even after paying for the gas and a fan.
I recommend Harry Shaw and I think it says it all when they have so many returning customers.
If you don't like it don't go again as Harry Shaw is not short of satisfied customers. I am sorry you did not have a good holiday better luck next time with the other companies.

Room Tip: Harry Shaw cottages are value for money and camping solmar is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank TruthfulWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

had agreat family hoilday.put the cases on coach,never seen them again till we arived at our cottage great service from the 2 reps roy & john very helpfull cottages spotless,sites has been improved a lot over the years its become a fab place for our family hoilday thay love coming here great all round hoilday thanks to the 2 reps & the drivers & hostess which makes it delightfull exsperince,,,,will be back soon,many thanks guys :_))

Room Tip: cottages are great to stay in
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Thank you Harry shaw city cruiser holidays we travel with you twice a year and have done for the last 11years thank you Roy and John ( the reps ) They are always helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them as one year I was taken poorly they went out of there way to help , thank you both our caravan is always clean and fresh the camp is family run the pool bar and restaurant is excellent can't wait to back.in sept and hope for years to come

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Poppy3945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just come back from another stay at Camping Solmar, i've been taking my holidays in Blanes for 30 years.
Site is good, has everything you need, great pool area, with good food.
Harry Shaw reps always great, they go out of their way to make sure everythings as it should be, if you have a problem, they'll sort it.
Friendly staff in the main bar, always welcoming.
Easy transfer links to Lloret, Calella & Barcelona & cheap too!
Great restaurants, especially Scirocco.
Will be booking my next holiday very shortly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank janeywak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family group of seven arrived at Camping Solmar on Saturday morning at 9:00am after a bum numbing 25 hour journey travelling with Harry Shaw City Cruisers. We were corralled into the bar/café just inside the main gate as our accommodation was still being cleaned and vacated. We had to sit around for a couple of hours before being lead to our part of the camp which was a good five minute walk. Then the roll call began, we were given L2 which in the brochure states that is a Lodge, (very misleading), we booked a Classic Mobile so not a great start as later we were told that we had been upgraded without even asking us. We would of preferred what we booked but there was no point asking the reps as they put you where they want you to be, the reps sole reasoning was what different ways of making a bit on the side, in my opinion.

The first impressions on entering the caravan was the heat so we asked for a fan, they you go that’s €10 for the week. Well you should of seen this monstrosity it was made up from several free standing fans with diy bits of wood added where the legs had broken off, the blade was from a smaller table top fan and the fan guard was absolutely minging with months worth of hair, dust and muck. The rep was oblivious to it, probably he could not see anything wrong with it as it was his handy work. The gas, used for cooking and the shower, is charged at £7 per night which is extortionate but if you like your toast on a morning you will need the gas as there is no toaster this being another one of those extras at €1 per day. No spark ignition on the cooker so a trip to the shop, just outside of the main gates, for matches and the essentials including loo rolls.

The campsite itself was huge and it looked full with several different nationalities but being predominately more Spanish and Dutch. At the centre is a very large pool with a restaurant and bar. It has a stage for the nights entertainment and pool and ping pong tables. The food and drink served at the pool bar and the main bar at the gates was very good, with plenty of options from a plate of chips, tapas, paella, steak and salads, full English breakfasts were also a welcome treat. The campsite is only minutes away from bars cafes and gift shops and only about five to ten minutes away from the beach. Generally the campsite is everything you expect and caters for your every need, but the Harry Shaws holidays to Camping Solmar is a complete unprofessional, overpriced and underwhelming failure.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank yampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This year will be my fourth holiday with Harry Shaw to camping Solmar in Blanes. We take my Autistic son for a 10day break every year and have nothing but praise for this lovely family company. The reps go out of their way to make all guests feel welcome. A 5minute walk to the beach (honest!) affordable supermarket on site, massive pool with lifeguards and entertainers, lively club house and restaurant, and guaranteed sunshine in the summer months, all for less money than a peak season holiday at a haven/butlins/centerparcs!! The last two years we have had a cottage instead of a caravan which is a little more expensive (£10 extra per night maximum) but you get a little more space and the acomodation is a little newer.
Ok, so its a long coach ride, but the scenery through France and into spain is often breath taking, and we make it very much part of our holiday. If the coach journey puts you off, there is an option to make your own way.
Now that we have found our feet, we use Blanes as a base to explore other areas by the inexpensive train routes. Whilst the cost of living continues to rise, Harry Shaw continues to provide great value holidays and i have no doubt that we will holiday here for many years to come. I cant wait for this years holiday, would strongly recommend to anyone on a tight budget needing a bit of sunshine.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NikiT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I took my mother, my 12year old daughter and a 16year old friend. We went early July 2012. We stayed in a Harry shaw lodge and it was great, we had a fantastic week with great weather. The reps were more than helpful and did there very best to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The restaurant on site served lovely meals at a very reasonable price so much so that we ate there three times. The beaches were clean and only five minites walk from the site. We went to loret and a water park using the local transport which was again very affordable. I would highly recommend this holiday to all, especially families as it is great value for money and a lovely friendly resort. Thanks harry shaw and we will see you again in July 2013. From the wood family.

Room Tip: The lodges were perfect for 2 adults and 2children, fully equipped, modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanes
1.1 mi away
Costa Brava Hotel
Costa Brava Hotel
#10 of 21 in Blanes
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camping la Masia
Camping la Masia
#1 of 24 in Blanes
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camping Bella Terra
Camping Bella Terra
#3 of 24 in Blanes
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Camping Cala Llevado
Camping Cala Llevado
#2 of 17 in Tossa de Mar
237 reviews
10.1 mi away
Camping Pola
Camping Pola
#6 of 17 in Tossa de Mar
107 reviews
17.2 mi away
Camping Valldaro
Camping Valldaro
#3 of 15 in Platja d'Aro
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Solmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Solmar

Address: C/ Cristofol Colom, 48, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Blanes
Price Range: £44 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Camping Solmar 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our campsite is considered to be one of the best in its category. The Holiday ClubCamping Solmar offers the perfect place to enjoy a great holiday. We offer the possibility of doing all kinds of sea sports and land in an area of ​​theCosta Brava is full of vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Camping Solmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Solmar Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing