We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for the money moosh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Europa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Clean slick, better then you expect, lovely pool abit chilly, apartments spanking, brilliant value for money, get your selfs booked up will be back next year, lovely area, shamrock bar just around the corner, the place to be

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamandhollyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

we booked this holiday at the last minute not really knowing what to expect due to the mixed reviews of this hotel. On arrival were given the keys (50 euros refundable deposit required). The hotel comprises of 3 blocks with lifts in each block. The apartment was a twin bedroom with 2 large single beds in each with 2 large sofas in the lounge ( capable of sleeping 2 adults), seperate kitchen(microwave, fridge freezer, twin hobs for cooking). In the bathroom is a bath and wall mounted shower. The reception has safety deposit boxes which cost 3euros plus 1 euro deposit for the key(refundable on checkout). The pool is clean and the small pool for the kids is quite large and plenty of room around the pools for sun loungers. The meals from the bar are reasonably priced and are large enough portions to fill. All in all good cheap holiday.

Room Tip: If u want quiet rooms try upper floors of "C" block
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

When we werelooking for a holiday,we read reviews and when we read the reviews on europa they were mixed. The bad reviews were really bad, but there were good ones too, so we thought maybe people were being too picky and we gave it a go. Big mistake!!!! We are not snobs by no means, but when we arrived all we wanted to do was catch the next plane back home!!! To list the things would take forever, so my advice would be please, please believe the bad reviews, they are really not kidding. Apart from the disappointment with the apartments, Blanes is a scruffy dirty dated old spanish place with people digging in the bins constantly to try and find stuff. Also (and we are def not racist) but they were mainly black guys, and when they walked past us one day they asked us if we wanted drugs. Horrific experience on this holiday and we will never return. Dont waste your money guys.

Room Tip: dont go in block c, cant comment on the other blocks.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My husband and I Stayed at the Europa hotel between the 20th and 27th of September. On arrival we had to give a 50 euro deposit which we were aware of before booking. We had no problems getting our deposit back on leaving just make sure you keep the receipt they give you. Good value for money, we booked through travel republic. The apartment was very spacious, not the cleanest room in the world and underneath the mattress of our bed were dirty stained bath towels :( Our balcony was very nice though and the sun was on it all day which was a bonus. The only disadvantage was that our view from the balcony contained unfinished apartments and a over hanging crane.
The pool was really nice and plenty of sun loungers. The staff at the on site restaurant were friendly, service was quick, food was basic but tasted ok.
Great location. Not far from the beach, shops and bus station. Lovely Irish pub not far from the Europa which serves great food, the steak pie and gravy is great and so is the chicken curry and rice :).
We took a bus into Lloret de mar. Very busy place, great for younger people because their is a lot of clubs and bars. We enjoyed a fantastic cocktail in one of the beach bars, very expensive but the cocktails are huge and tasted good :).
We also took a boat trip another day which cost 21 euros each, you can get the tickets from the kiosks near the beach. Had a lovely afternoon on the boat, worth doing.
Overall we had a good holiday but I do not feel Blanes is a return holiday destination for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My partner and i booked these apartments or the first week of September 2012. On reading the reviews they were very mixed, so we decided to give it a go,as was looking for a budget holiday,so knew the apartment would be very basic,which was ok with us,as we don't plan to stop in,as we're on holiday,so want to spend most of our time exploring. One or two of the reviews did say,that even though it is advertised as Europa/Lotus, it basicly a toss up on which you get...Lotus being the not so great one!...We booked into Europa reception, being told we were at the Lotus. At the Europa reception, we got told where we had to pick our keys up(Blanes.com) which told us our keys were somewhere else. We got our keys, knowing it was 50 euros, but to our surprise it was 50 each....also had to pay for our own bedding!!!!!.....When we finally managed to get into our apartment, which was clean enough,but basic, we also realised there was no towels!!...no kettle....so had to boil a saucepan o water to make a cuppa.....which took an hour to even bubble(thank god we don't have any children)....so if you book these apartments, i think it best to find out which ones you have booked,as the Europa seems to be a better choice.....Blanes itself was to quiet for us...we told if we had came earlier in the year,it would have been busy,but it would have been full of clubbing dutch kids...so i guess we chose a better time...a few english bars which have been mentioned in other reviews,i would say the bar bistro being the best,2 english women work there,very nice and helpful people....your best bet is on the beach front using hotel bars that are open,least in them there was more than 4 people,which only seemed to be in the english pubs...el blanc which is near the (rock)is nice...there's a train that runs to barcelona and a coach can take you to lloret. A word of warning....if you book with "On The Beach", once you arrive at Barcelona airport,which we did,there was nothing there to tell us where to catch the coach transfer,so look out for the black horse,which is supposed to be a meeting point....also we had nothing to tell us on our return coach home,so had to ring "OnThe Beach" to make sure we would be getting picked up....all in all Blanes a nice place,but wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Serdal I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Reading the other reviews, it makes me wonder if some people go on holiday with the express intention of moaning about everything and everyone. Perhaps these are the same people that you meet on your travels that cant get a decent pint of bitter, or steak and kidney pudding...you know the ones ! First of all the Europa Apartments :-

1. The rooms are clan and newly fitted. There is a 2 ring hob, microwave and a fridge. Also the usual utensils. No tin opener though, so bring that....Oh ! , and no kettle. The TV, as previously
mentioned is high up on the wall, and the only English channels you will get are BBC1 and BBC World news. But, to be honest, if you want to go away on holiday and watch telly, then why not just stay at home with Benidorm and Costa murels pinned to your living room walls while you watch Eastenders, Corrie....etc etc ? Right, the bedrooms are clean with nice comfortable beds. The balconies are ok size, but if you are staying in Block C facing away from the pool, then your view is off a bankrupt unfinished apartment block that has been abandoned by the builders. It does grow on you though, especially when you see the crane off its own accord in the middle of the night. I deduced that its on a timer to stop the mechanism seizing up ....or possessed ...you decide ! Advice is (this is from local bar owners) dont go in the height of the season as the place is packed with young people, and as the local nightclub is
next door (finishes at 05.30) you will get no sleep for 14 nights ! I went on 11th Sep and the club is only open Fri/Sat and you do get a bit of noise, but nothing too bad. The pool is lovely
and big, and in Sep there are loads of loungers....cant vouch for peak times though. I also cant understand people whinging about the 50Euro deposit. You will be told that they require this, and there is no problem getting this back....unless, of course , you have had a Greek theme night in your room, and smashed every plate to hand. There is a bar/cafe type attached to the hotel, but as i only used it once, cant vouch for it much...looks ok though.

2. Dont expect wall to wall restaurants and bars in Blanes, this is not the case. There are very few on the seafront area, so you need to hunt around for them. Same goes for the shops. You can also catch the bus the Lloret from the bus station just across the road for 4 Euros return. Sublime to the ridiculous though, as you will get wall to wall bars , cafes and shops .... and Neon signs..Bit too gaudy for me. Local eateries are The Bull (just around the corner, and English run...OK) , KD's (On the corner...charge extra for everything, so look out) . There is an Irish Bar up from the Bull (didnt go in as it was always full of Brits drinking Lager, Watching Telly and eating chips). Next door to this is the Bier Express Bistro. This is a lovely place, which
does some great Indonesian food..highly recommended.

3. There is a market on Mondays. If you like shoes, and clothes...just do it !

4. Beer is about the same as UK, and if you smoke, then Tabacs are practically the only place you can buy them. The Spanish have really tightened up the sale of tobacco. Remember if you go when its cold outside, you cant smoke in any bars or retaurants ! Ask the reception where the local Londis Spanish supermarket is, as its cheaper and has more variety that others. Try not to go in to the one next door to the apartments as it very very expensive.

Oh and finally, the place is 80% Dutch. They are very nice, but Dutch people once they reach over 40 seem to find it neccesary to have conversations very loudly from about 40 yards apart.

Room Tip: Stay away from the night club
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magpieranger51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

At first, the apartment seemed to look alright. For 3 girls, the apartment has a lot of space, which is nice. At a closer look, the bathroom door couldn't be locked and there were weird insects crawling over the bathroom floor (silverfish)! Unfortunately, To our BIG DISAPPOINTMENT someone broke into our apartment and stole 500 euro from a suitcase. There was no sign of damage, but the balcony door was open when we got home. This is why we suspect our neighbor of the theft. He could easily climb over the small wall. We went to the police (Mossos d'Esquadra) but they couldn't do much for us, except for taking a note of it. Our apartment was on the side of a discotheque, which made it impossible to sleep well.

The Dutch Beach Masters staff was alright, but inexperienced, except for only one of the girls. They didn't know much about Blanes and the public transport. One of the guys told us there is no train station. I'll NEVER take a guided trip like this one again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blanes hotels
0.1 mi away
Petit Palau
Petit Palau
#9 of 21 in Blanes
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#7 of 21 in Blanes
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horitzo
Hotel Horitzo
#5 of 21 in Blanes
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
0.4 mi away
Apartments AR Muntanya Mar
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#2 of 21 in Blanes
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Europa

Address: C/Lluis Companys,23-25, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Europa/Lotus Hotel Blanes
Apartamentos Europa Lotus Blanes
Apartamentos Europa Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing