We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect camping in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect camping in Spain”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I wanted to be sure that after towing all the way to Spain that I wouldn't be disappointed. And I wasn't. Perfect for the family, clean tidy extremely well run by staff with a pride for their site. Large pitches, very clean facilities no matter the time of day or night. Security is excellent. Local area will not let you down either, un crowded Sandy beaches 5 minutes from site and delightful rocky coves dotted along the coast. These can be busy in high season. Medieval villages or larger port towns, take your pick.
You'll pay cheaper for sites close by with the same facilities but they don't do it half aswell as Cypsela. You won't be disappointed you chose to spend a bit more.

Have returned several times, with caravan and tent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    214
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
395
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have stayed in Cypsela twice over the years, on the minus side, i will say that it is a bit out of the way, but that is about it, onth plus side, cypsela is a really friendly place for families, though they don't really tolerate the party crowd, we were here one time and they kicked some english people off the site who were a bit noisy, we were next door to them and they didn't bother us at all, though the dutch people ganged up and complained and had them out, personally i thought the dutch kids were far more noisier and were running around screaming until the early hours, but the management left them alone, biased? maybe, i don't know.
entertainment was top notch, facilities brilliant, for the camper right up to the chalet users, massive car park, three playgrounds two pools tennis courts two restaurants, though food not the best, we ate out most nights, especially Niff Niff and Sol Y Mar, both great, there was also crazy golf, football pitch boules courts, the most undeniably brilliant security in the place. lots of entertainment day long, and then the beautiful places all around, nice beach only twenty minutes walk, pals village nearby is nice too, as is torroela and lots more. go there, i guarantee you'll enjoy it. another down for me was that the dutch had the place overrun, and kind of ruled the place, but once you get over the clones the place is paradise.

Room Tip: Try to book directly with cypsela when getting a chalet, the keycamps/ kelairs/ eurocamp chalets are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theycallitmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our first Keycamp stay in Spain and Cypsela did not disappoint. We drove from Calais with a Novotel stopover in Clermont Ferrand ( highly recommend this route as the drive through the Ardeche and along French coast was fabulous). Cypsela has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, very spacious chalet plots and good supermarket. Other positives include the free bus to the beach, local Beer Festival, beautiful hilltop town of Pals nearby and proximity to the Waterparks (Aquabrava = 10/10), Barcelona and some stunning beaches. We did boat trip/snorkelling in L'Estartit and our boys loved it. The weather was perfect while we were there in August and we survived without air conditioning.The only negatives are the high prices in Spain, lack of waterslides in the pool, you cannot walk into town and expensive take away/restaurant on site. I would recommend this site to families, it is in a great location and facilities are excellent. .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

me and my family have been going to cypsela for 15 years ,2011 was a big change new staff new management new site.what has happened this is the most perfect site in europe for family holidays,the place is still cypsela but it has lost its soul ,night after night of fun day after day of activitys special staff from bar ,pool ,takeaway,supermarket ,all gone .wont stop going love the place see you in 2012 .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank darren y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very well organized with extremely clean services and at least a bit of privacy an order with the single plots areas being marked all around by bushes. Spacious parking lot. Well guarded day and night. Also very close to the main beach of Pals, and also great place to bring the mountain bike for some exploration of the surrounding areas. Though very well served within the camping with grocery store, hairdresser, bar, restaurant, rotisserie, pool, game room, dancing area, etc. a car, scooter or bike would be necessary to visit the surrounding town, shops, beach. Even in peak season in August, it felt spacious with room to breath, and well kept. Only complaint is the quality, hours of service and prices of the restaurant. Would come back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Taurus1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed for 10 days in a 2 room bedroom comfort holiday home booked through Eurocamp at the end of August 2011 with my partner and my 2 sons (11 and 9). At time of booking I could not get a home with air-conditioning and a deck so opted for aircon, sacrificing the deck. Happy I did as the aircon made life more comfortable. The home is basic but very functional. It was very clean and adequately equipped although a chopping board and potato peeler would be a nice addition. Toilet with shower. Enough storage space in the main bedroom and family areas however the second bedroom wardrobe could do with shelving rather than the hanging space, particularly if you consider that it could sleep 3. Most of the sites are gravel/sand pitches and I did find it a pain with the kids constantly walking in the gravel even though I had banned shoes inside. It wasn’t a big problem though and perhaps me just being fussy. The Eurocamp staff were very helpful and arranged a second BBQ for us to use for vegetarian meals and a request to replace a blown bathroom light bulb was promptly attended to.
The resort is spotless and well maintained. I agree with all the positive comments of previous reviews. This was our first visit to Cypsela and found the staff friendly and everything well maintained. If standards have slipped over the years then this was not evident to us as first timers.
We ate dinner at the restaurant one night and it was average. Nothing special and in line with the prices you would pay for similar out of the resort. We may have eaten there more however one of our party was vegetarian and there was nothing on the menu that was suitable. Tried the chicken restaurant which was good but overall were not too impressed with the quality vs cost of eating out in the area in general.
The laundry service was woeful. I handed in a load of washing (£7.50 for 5kg) and it came back rinsed rather than cleaned. There did not seem to be any machines where we could do our own washing and actually introduce soap into the equation.
WiFi is available for about £23 a week unlimited access. It is not the fastest especially when busy. Staff may tell you it’s only for 1 computer/device but what they mean is you can only log in one device at a time. Worked fine on iPhone and laptop/s.
The pool area is large and we never battled to get a sun lounger. Two life guards that appeared alert were on duty all the time. The only negative was that there are no umbrellas around the pool. There are a few near the diving pool and a shaded area near the kiddies pool but it’s so small that you would have to be up early or be lucky to get a shady spot. Taking your own umbrella into the pool area is not allowed. Spending a day in the heat without some shade, particularly with kids, will almost guarantee a dose of sunburn no matter how much sun cream you apply. There is some shade on the grass but its location is not great for keeping an eye on the kids in the pool.
We did not use the bus to the Cypsela beach as we preferred to explore ourselves. Our favourite beach ended up being Llafranc. A long, sandy, pretty beach with enough rock pools, fishing areas and snorkelling to keep adults and kids amused. Enough restaurants, shops and hotels for food drinks and ice cream and a beach WC. Parking is also easy (just head to wards the beach and you will see it on the right hand side under the trees), costs £2.20 a day and it’s an easy walk to the beach unlike some of the others.
We had a great holiday and would without hesitation recommend Cypsela.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lavajelly01494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just returned from an 11 night holiday in Cypsela. What a fantastic campsite. We booked through Kelair. Their mobiles are beautiful, modern and spotlessly clean. Air conditioning (a must in our opinion), as well as wooden decking and bbq are inclusive and Kelair really are very reasonably priced. The couriers were helpful and pleasant. We hired bedding as well as beach towels - would recommend as it means no wet towels have to be carried home!
The site itself was fantastic for us - we love a relaxed, fairly laid back holiday. Our kids loved the swimming pool, particularly jumping off the diving board. Lifeguards were vigilant and in the pool in a flash if they felt there was any difficulty. I was a bit concerned that the kids would miss having waterslides, lazy rivers but this didn't seem to bother them that much. We spent lots of time at the pool, loungers were free and always available. The pool was spotless. There was a crazy golf course, loads of table tennis tables, a tennis court, a bouncy bubble thingy in the middle of the park, basketball court and lots more.
Entertainment seemed to be enjoyable though we went off site on a few evenings and enjoyed a late meal on our decking other evenings so didn't really make that much use of the entertainment. Sky sports available in the bar for those who don't like to miss the footie!
We had a pizza and chips from the onsite takeaway but weren't that impressed - discovered a pizzeria down the road (turn left on leaving the campsite) the night before we left but as we had already eaten didn't sample their food, though prices seemed reasonable enough.
The toilets and showers in the blocks are immaculate - the boys of the family tended to go there to shower while the girls made use of the great shower in the mobile home (just to speed things up when we were getting ready). There seemed to be an attendant at each block all day.
The onsite supermarket is competively priced though we did large shops in Lidl. We would recommend car hire to get out and about as the surrounding area has lots to do and see. The kids particularly enjoyed snorkelling at Paradise Cove - the trip booked through La Sirena at L'Estartit. We did the Snorkelling safari - which involved a bit of snorkelling as well as jumping off a floating trampoline and the top of the boat itself. We also visited Aquadiver waterpark. Again kids really enjoyed but be prepared to queue for slides - don't bother queuing for the zig zag as its a bit on the slow side but splash mountain and the wave pool are particularly enjoyable. Prices for food at the park are expensive so would advise packing the coolbag and taking a picnic.
Would recommend a visit to Pals - very quaint and beautiful jewellery on sale though be cautious we found some souvenirs cheaper in other towns. Visited Plaja D'aro -it's large with lots of designer shops and restaurants though parking was relatively easy.
All in all a fantastic holiday - would definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunflower21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pals
0.7 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
2.7 mi away
Camping Resort-Bungalow Park Mas Patoxas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camping & Bungalows  Interpals
4.8 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 43 in L'Estartit
606 reviews
1.7 mi away
Camping El Maset
Camping El Maset
#3 of 7 in Begur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort

Property: Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort
Address: c/ Rodors 7, 17256 Pals, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Costa Brava, just 1 hour from the French border, choose the Sandaya 5 star campsite "Cypsela Resort" for a stay in the Spanish sun. With its large water park, its water slides, and its beach 5 minutes away - thanks to the campsites' free shuttle bus, it's up to you to choose which water's edge to top up your sun tan by. Located in Pals, a small medieval village on the coast, more than 4km of beaches are available to you along with the nearby resorts of Playa de Aro, Rosas or even Cadaques. •Open from 24 May 2017  to 12 September 2017 •Campsite covering 20 hectares with 833 pitches. •Free activities and children's clubs. •Water Park covering 590 m² with pools and slides. •Free shuttle bus to the beach throughout the season. •WIFI throughout the campsite (with supplement). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo so you can book your Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypsela Hotel Pals
Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing