We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park, really impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely park, really impressed”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We got back yesterday from this campsite - well,actually, it's more like a complete resort.

Contrary to some previous reviews, I though the facilities were excellent, and it was clear that there had been a lot of money spent recently. We used probably only about 40% of the stuff available onsite - things like the giant bouncy pillow, table tennis, tennis courts, bowling alley, beauty salon, minigolf - we never got round to: there's so much to do. Communal facilities like the bar, washblocks and so on were very good - clean and well-tended. Nice plants and flowers around the site, and an army of maintenance and security staff keeping it all together.

When we went it was coming to the end of the season and many family groups had already left - this perhaps had an impact on our trip as the site was quiet and we didn't have any noise problems at all, nor issues with people congregating. I would imagine most people who come to a site like this come for the activities and facilities for children and young people, so it seems a bit measly then to then complain about these being noisy or disruptive. If you are older and want a quiet site, I am sure there are better choices but personally I now quite like these sorts of places as they have a bit of life about them and the kids love them.

Our two (3 and 5) especialy loved the mini disco (complete with visiting Cypsy mascot) and my daughter enjoyed the Cypsy Club on the couple of occasions she went. In my opinion, nightly mini-disco is too much and it would be tying (I know ours would want to go every night....)

The pool area was great, very clean and well-policed. Slides were great (think they are new) and diving boards great fun for our older one.

Supermarket amazingly well-stocked, and very reasonable. All the staff we encountered were exceptionally helpful and friendly - especially the bar staff. It would have been very easy for them to be grumpy coming toward the end of the season but they were impeccable.

Regarding the comments about the area being expensive - it's not particularly cheap, it's true, but certainly not any dearer than other major resorts in peak holiday times. Actually, I thought drinks and food on the campsite were good value (under e5 for a coke and a beer), and the supermarket was reasonable. Bike hire was quite expensive, though, at 17 e for a child's bike for the day.

We stayed with kelair in one of their three-bed MHs. It was tip-top, brand new, great location in a quiet position, near to kids' baths and wash facilities if you wanted to use them, nice big terrace. I would highly recommend this company - very professonal, and quite a lot cheaper than the other large operators (Canvas, Keycamp, etc.) The reps were unobtrusive but helpful if you needed them to be.

We went once to the beach at Pals, but preferred (by a mile) the beaches around Begur. Aiguablava was our fave - lovely clear water, good facilities, and a nice walk through the pine trees when you felt like stretching your legs.

I have a feeling we will be back next year ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    233
    63
    17
    11
See reviews for
438
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was our 5th visit to Cypsela and I would say on a par with our first trip back in 2009. The new owners have listened to feedback and have started the investment the site needed. There are lots of holiday(ers) who return year after year and have all commented the site needed something to recreate the spark....
I'll start with the small negative, which is a direct consequence of the investment in the pool area, there is limited space for beds...... I'm sure this will be corrected for 2014 as they have ample space adjacent to the pool complex. The addition of a new pool may help too?

The on site restaurant and takeaway are 100% improvement on 2012 but still some way to go. To be honest, although other posters state this is an expensive area there are top quality restaurants offering good quality food at reasonable prices. For those who wish to BBQ the onsite supermarket is good value and continues to price match with local supermarkets. In terms of a comparing prices, 1L San Miguel in supermarket was just over 1euro, bit more if cold....Two plump chicken breasts just over 3 euro....the bakery has always been popular and a super baguette is approximately 1e25

The site has invested in water slides, a welcome addition, and also the neglected area by the supermarket creating a bowling alley (5e per game) and a comfortable inside sports bar area and Grattan furniture outside.. This lower bar compliments the more formal poolside bar area and is a more sophisticated in style. Some of the evening entertainment takes place here and provides an alternative for those who wish to have an extra evening drink. Although i don't understand why they charge an extra 50c for a beer between the two bars....I read a post about noise levels, however, I suspect this is from those vans behind the supermarket? I can't comment as we were situated away from this area.

Lots of comments about large groups of congregating, again, we didn't witness any of this and suspect this could be based on holiday seasons taken in diff countries. The majority of folk on site when we visited were french and spanish with brits making up the numbers, the dutch contingent in the main leaving the week before we arrived.. No rowdiness and good levels of common sense security across the site. I also feel this area is what was required by the teenage element, somewhere to talk and meet.

The site has also invested in lots of new mobile homes and apparently they are reasonably priced to a good specification, I'm sure this will start to address some of the dated vans from other operators in prime positions. A good mix of vans and camping makes the site affordable to all.

Overall we had a great holiday, the location is perfect for beach and culture, visit Pals or any of the medieval sites close by and indulge in the Catalan way of life. My children span from adult to 11 and all embrace the independent and laid back way of life Cypsela brings to our crowded home life!

Room Tip: try the new vans direct from the site they look top notch and are in a prime location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here in early June 2013 with Keycamp for the first time. Our accommodation was what you'd expect, after seeing the luxury versions of the caravan though I think i'd spend the extra for one of those next time. The reps kept there distance but were available to help at any time so no complaints there. The keycamp caravans are towards the front of the site so very hand for swimming pool, supermarket, bar etc. The site was extremely quiet in our first week and lacked any kind of atmosphere, the inside and bigger outside restaurants were closed. The advantage of it being so quiet was that you could get a parasol by the pool. The second week the site was probably a quarter full which helped with the atmosphere but the pool became very difficult to get a parasol. It would of helped if there were more dotted about the pool area but there are only 6 fixed large parasols in one area, and 1 canopy area for about 12 loungers. Thought this was very poor planning from whoever designed the pool area, if the site was busier it would just be a nightmare going to the pool, there is no way it could cope with more people. Apart from that it is a nice big pool and the kids enjoyed the diving boards and slides. The site just seemed like it was in a transitional period to me. You'd got the old'ish looking sports areas (which was good) next to a nice pool and bar area which all worked in harmony. Then you'd got a very old looking ugly supermarket building next to a brand new bowling and bar building. It just didn't work, the supermarket which is very well stocked and priced needs knocking down as it made me feel like I wasn't on holiday but in some backstreet warehouse. The bowling alley and bar just isn't needed, a big mistake I think because bowling is a rainy day activity, you come on holiday abroad for the outdoors not this. It was nice inside but just didn't feel right with the surrounding. It sounds like my family didn't have a good time but we actually did, 2 young boys don't see the problem areas like an adult. They loved all the sport and swimming facilities. Bit of an ugly football pitch at the back of the site next to an even uglier car park, oh dear the less said about that the better.
We did like the area, you need a car to visit local beaches. The beach at playa de pals isn't any good so avoid that one, Sa Riera was where we went most days, a lovely cove with all the amenities you need for a beach day out, there's was also some great restaurants here. We also liked the small beach at Sa Tuna. The medieval town of Pals is very pretty and worth the visit.
We did a 2 night visit to Barcelona, you get the train from Flaçà station which is about 25mins drive from cypsela. Theres parking at the station which I did struggle to find out about before hand so if you looking for this information rest assure there is parking and an overflow car park.
It takes about 1 hr 45mins to get to barcelono Passeig de Gràcia station from Flaçà.
Overall a very good holiday but Cypsela need to get the harmony right between the facilities as it seems to be losing its way a little.

Room Tip: Keycamp caravans are in good position if the site is quiet, however in peak months may hear noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shep_Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 10 days here at the end of July, right at the start of the holidays with two young kids.
The park itself is very large, but clean and well presented. The supermarket is handy and we didn't find it much dearer than the hypermarket in palafrugell.
We stayed in a key camp caravan with no air conditioning. It was the only one available when we booked at last minute, but even so I think we were daft. Trying to sleep before about 3am was a trial.
The pool area was nice, but not nearly big enough for the size of the campsite. Most days The pool area was discouragingly busy and no chance of a lounger.
The evening entertainments by the cafe were good. Although the mini disco for kids was too short and not on every evening. On the evenings with music outside the bowling club the sound was far too loud in the key camp area and went on until midnight.
The location is good in a beautiful part of Spain, but probably one of the dearest parts of Spain, far dearer than eating out in England.
Overall we thought the campsite was good but hopelessly overcrowded in school holidays, and the noise at night was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just stayed in one of thr old cypsela mobile homes, good location but no terrace or bbq though have to say it was an absoutely brillant holiday. Felt totally relaxed because I knew the kids were safe here. You can hire bikes, there is a bowlng alley €5 pp per game, supermarket very competitve. First mobile home holiday but won't be our last. Go, go, go!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTNZ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We first went to Cypsela back in 2004 and it is undoubtedly my four childrens' number one holiday destination. We have tried other campsites in France, Spain and Italy but none measure up to Cypsela. The biggest thing for the kids is the swimming pool, with two diving boards and a newly added slide to keep them amused. The new Pub Bowling is a welcome addition as it gives you more choice on where to go for a beer in the evening. This year we booked with Cypsela and stayed in one of their three bedroom mobile homes, which was a little cramped but overall fine. The decking is great and gives you some extra room. The Cypseal homes are close enough to the pool but also far enough away to avoid any late night noise. The site is not massive and in reality there is little choice in terms of eating or shopping if you want to stay on site. The onsite restaurants are average at best and if you can I would eat off site. The biggest plus for us is the beauty of the local area, if you want high rises and lots of pubs this is not the area for you. If you like small beaches in picturesque coves then it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We're just back from a week at Cypsela with Thomson Al Fresco (subsidised by our Tesco vouchers!) as a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, 8 and 5.

The highlight of the holiday for us (the kids especially) was the pool area. Weather was hot while we were there, therefore the pool was quite warm too but beware that it's very deep and probably gets very cold out of season. The diving boards were the main attraction for the kids which I hadn't expected, but they had hours of fun jumping in. Lifeguards were on the ball, but not too strict although I don't think inflatables were allowed in the pool. There's a 4-lane slide there too now that the kids liked.

The best bit about the pool for us was that it's a non-smoking area which is a first that I'm aware of. Unfortunately not everybody followed the rules and people did occasionally smoke around the pool, which wasn't policed by the lifeguards, but it was still much cleaner than the usual mass of fag-ends that you usually get around hotel pools. Food and drink were also prohibited around the pool, and I felt that it was missing the usual pool-side bar area. Only sunbeds - no chairs if you just wanted to sit and watch the kids. But overall, it was great.

Otherwise the facilities were pretty average - there's a great indoor bowling alley (5 euro per person per game though), some good sports facilities and play areas and an on-site supermarket that was actually really good - reasonable prices and a decent range. Security was strict, loads of visible patrols and locked gates at night.

Thomson Al Fresco accommodation was adequate - clean and well enough equipped. Rep was lovely. An extra 10 Euros a night for her to turn the key for the Air Con which seemed a bit steep (especially as we'd already paid £50 before we went which Thomson have 'lost' - battle will commence!). The caravan (Piccolo - their smallest one) had the rare advantage of having duvets rather than itchy blankets which would be a bonus if you were there out of summer - just take covers with you. Also a microwave, but no oven. A fairly long walk from the Thomson pitches to the main site, but I think that would be the same for all the UK tour operators. The Cypsela accommodation looked nice and was closer to the pool etc.

Location was nice - about 40 mins from Girona airport, close to L'Estartit and L'Escala as well as Platja D'Aro. Bus from the site to the local beach which wasn't far away. If you're looking for the location on a map, it's just out of Pals at the area marked as 'Masos De Pals'.

Feel free to give me a shout if you've got any questions about the site :)

Room Tip: Booking directly with Cypsela should get you nearer the facilities. Al Fresco pitches were fairly sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panddda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pals
0.7 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Emporda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#2 of 14 in Begur
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camping & Bungalows  Interpals
4.8 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 43 in L'Estartit
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort

Property: Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort
Address: c/ Rodors 7, 17256 Pals, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Costa Brava, just 1 hour from the French border, choose the Sandaya 5 star campsite "Cypsela Resort" for a stay in the Spanish sun. With its large water park, its water slides, and its beach 5 minutes away - thanks to the campsites' free shuttle bus, it's up to you to choose which water's edge to top up your sun tan by. Located in Pals, a small medieval village on the coast, more than 4km of beaches are available to you along with the nearby resorts of Playa de Aro, Rosas or even Cadaques. •Open from 24 May 2017  to 12 September 2017 •Campsite covering 20 hectares with 833 pitches. •Free activities and children's clubs. •Water Park covering 590 m² with pools and slides. •Free shuttle bus to the beach throughout the season. •WIFI throughout the campsite (with supplement). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CampingAndCo so you can book your Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypsela Hotel Pals
Camping Sandaya Cypsela Resort Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing