We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night while on El Camino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oca Villa de Sarria
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sarria
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fourteen of us stayed here the night before we started hiking El Camino. The room I had was a good size and clean with a big bathroom. There are elevators. Wore ear plugs to sleep as it was slightly noisy being close to elevator. Breakfast was decent and varied continental. It was walking distance to decent restaurants by the river. Front desk staff were helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LoriJamcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We enjoyed our time in Hotel Oca Villa de Sarria. The room was very clean. the stuff very helpful and kind. Delicious breakfast. The hotel is very well located. Near restaurants and bars.
In my nex trip to Sarria. I will be happy to stay again there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCA VILLA DE SA... O, General Manager at Oca Villa de Sarria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear guest:

On behalf of the staff and myself, thank you so much for your comments.
Once again, we thank you for yor recent visit.

xxx.
Conchi López.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is near the path of Camino de Santiago, but it didn't share the environment of the Camino…. If you starts your Camino in Sarria, I would recommend NOT stay here. Basic hotel, but nothing to do...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SabbaticalBrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the first hotel of my Camino de Santiago 100km guided tour arranged by my Ireland-based tour agency Camino Ways (highly recommended). For just a one night stay, it served its purpose - my single room is clean, spacious, big elderly -friendly washroom with decent packet toiletries. There is a TV showing Spanish channels. Breakfast buffet spread is decent and the hotel is not far from the Camino if you intend to do the last 100km from Sarria to Santiago. There's a camping store just round the corner, near the steep staircase that leads to The Way and various eating places nearby.

Cons: The bed is not very comfy - cover was rather dusty and mattress was thin. I also couldn't get the aircon to work as the room was very stuffy but the reception guy that night wasn't very friendly and I didn't dare asked him if Wi-Fi was available. 2-point sockets available only, so make sure you have your international adaptors ready.

Popular with Camino travellers (I suspect mainly with tour groups), Hotel Oca is ok for a one night stay but if there's other alternatives, I would recommend checking those out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marfield49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The bed in the double room was so small you could change the TV channel with your feet. Avoid if you are claustrophobic. Breakfast was awful, tasteless & bland. Only positive is its location, close to the river.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great check in service. Staff had a command of English and informed me of all the special events associated with the town fiesta. The top floor room had a little balcony to dry boots and clothes. Great shower (Nice pressure and hot water). While a bit distant from the "old" city, it was right by the river walk and shops etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A convenient place to stay while walking parts of the Camino. The hotel is clean and in a good position for exploring the town. For us the greatest feature was the helpfulness of the staff, particularly the young lady at the desk, who went way out of her way to assist us through a mini crisis. This makes this place stand out in our memory, more for the people than the venue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarria
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mar de Plata
Hotel Mar de Plata
#1 of 5 in Sarria
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alfonso IX
Hotel Alfonso IX
#2 of 5 in Sarria
350 reviews
18.1 mi away
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
#1 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Oca Augas Santas Balneario & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de Diaz
Hotel Casa de Diaz
#2 of 2 in Samos
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de Sarria
La Casona de Sarria
#1 of 34 in Sarria
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oca Villa de Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oca Villa de Sarria

Address: Rua Benigno Quiroga 49, 27600 Sarria, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Sarria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sarria
Price Range: £30 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oca Villa de Sarria 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oca Villa de Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing