We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We saw this hotel a year ago on a previous trip to Switzerland when we were staying in a different area and decided to stay here this year. We were not disappointed! The hotel is in a delightful position and the staff very attentive and very helpful especially about where to go and what to see in this beautiful region. Excellent Monica transported us from the station and gave us many maps and timetables and much information. Marie-Therese in the restaurant and Sandro in reception were always cheerful along with all the other staff we met throughout our nine day stay. Our only observation would be that when there are conference delegates at the hotel, those later arrivals for breakfast may find that some items missing or in short supply.

Room Tip: A lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    56
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
127
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel reasonably late from Geneva and were met with a very warm welcome and shown to our room. The room itself, although of the cheaper variety and facing away from the lake was large and very well appointed. We ate dinner from the restaurant menu but in the bar. The lady who served us was incredibly lovely; genuinely warm and very helpful which seemed to be representative of all the staff we encountered during our stay. The food was fantastic. Our only criticism of the whole experience was that the very nifty and comfortable beds (which are electronic and move to sitting position) kept coming apart. We would rather have had an ordinary double allowing us to sleep together without falling through the crack! That said, I am aware this is often an issue in Europe and not unique to this hotel. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank llyurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for one night. It is perfect value for money. The room is great, spacious, bed very comfortable, internet very good. We had dinner at the hotel and loved the food. The service and the hospitality of the staff is superb. We stayed in a room with mountain view, it was quite good, even had a small view of the lake from the balcony. The location is also perfect. In the morning we walked to the marina in 10 minutes. There is a 2.2 km walking path around the lake with fantastic view, you should definitely do that walk (or run...)
The hotel has free parking. It also has a good indoor swimming pool. The breakfast was also very good and elegantly served. It has been a 5 star service!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZPinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very nice property in a great location overlooking Lake Thun. Small but well-appointed rooms, many with glorious lake views. Included breakfast was excellent. The tennis court and lap pool were welcome after a day in the mountains.

Some of the staff were a tad condescending (this was a little while ago and may have changed since then) but most were very friendly and gracious. Would absolutely stay again next time I'm in Switzerland, nicest hotel in the area that is this close to lake.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Eden is pleasantly located in Spiez, away from the touristy Interlaken and is only half an hour away by train.

Old school charm would describe the hotel pretty well.

One particular lady was outstanding, Monica Boss who was gentle in her ways and made us feel comfortable and saw to our requests for packed breakfast-to-go and a ride to the train station as we were pressed for time.

Thanks for the wonderful 2 nights there!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nerdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, super nice people and very good quality. The food was amazing and the room had a very nice view and super clean. Great swimming pool with warm water. Everything was great. Exceeded expectations :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaccH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spiez is one of the most beautiful places to stay if you are up to mountain viewing and panoramic experiences. The Eden Hotel is located perfectly. get a Lakeside room and you will feel the Alps, the Lake. Staff is very very friendly, all the way from the receptionist to the massage folks. However - for that price, you would think you get what you order ( we got duck instead of fish, espresso instead of capuccino), you would expect a decent wine card, you would want the sommeiler to serve from the right side, and you would not understand why wellness is open only after 3 pm .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 975manrey975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion V, Direktionsassistentin at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear 975manrey975

Thank you very much for taking time to write a constructive feedback. We are happy you were pleased with your hotel room and our friendly staff.

We apologize for serving the wrong dish by mistake and hope you enjoyed the offered drink. We are looking forward to your personal suggestions for wines to be added to our 27 pages wine card.

Our spa area is open daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Generally our guests use sauna and steambath in the afternoon and evening. Therefore and for environmental reasons we concentrate our sauna opening times from 3.30 p.m. to 10 p.m. Upon request we gladly open our sauna for our guests as we did for you.

We feel your passion for Spiez and would be very happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiez
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Seegarten Hotel Marina
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Hotel
#4 of 5 in Spiez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Seestrasse 58, Spiez 3700, Switzerland (Formerly Eden Swiss Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise! The Hotel Eden Spiez has a picturesque Location direclty on the Lake Thun. The fascintating mix of traditional and contemporary design make the hotel unique. The room and suites have been individually furnished, with great attention to detail. Relaxation is our motto! Live dreams. The rooms and suites have been individually furnished, with great attention to detail: bath rooms of Italian marble, hand-woven carpets, most comfortable armchairs and sofas. All guest rooms have balconies, most of them with wonderful view on the lake. Delicous dining! Our master of cooking art ist dedicated to twinkle your palate on the highest degree possible - either in the delightful Setting of our Restaurant, lake-side on the secluded terrace or in the ballroom. He re-invents the traditional and regional dishes over and over and draws his inspiration of fresh products on the market in every season. A pleasure experience is guaranteed whether you are tasting something new or familiar, traditional or exotic, far or near. Lovers of the good cuisine will be surprised yb the culinary discoveries. Sound Mind, Sound Body. Time for well-being and Relaxation. You decide if you want to energise yourself, snoothe yourself, unwind, or recharge your energy Levels. The spa at the Hotel Eden Spiez extends over an exclusive wellness world. Here you will find everything which your heart and body desires. The swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool encourage well-being, whilst the sun terrace treats guests to a unique view. Our magical Location. The Hotel Eden Spiez has a picturesque location directly on the Lake Thun. We lie in the heart of Switzerland with excellent links by car, Train and airplane. You can easily reach Berne (40km), Lucerne (85km), Lausanne (145km), Geneva (200km), Basel (130km) and Zurich (170km). Arrival by train: Direction Basel- or Zurich-Bern-Thun-Spiez-Lötschberg-Brig or Golden Pass Panorama train from Interlaken-Montreux. Arrival by car: Motorway A6 Berne-Thun-Interlaken, Exit 19 Spiez. Discover Spiez! A diverse range of leisure Options are available and guarantee active and Relaxing days in a magnificent Region featuring wonderful natural sights. Mighty Peaks alternate with charm lake scenery. To make our guest stay atmosphere more sweeten, we continuously create a colourful program with numerous Events. Our evens are always something Special. Enjoy the symbiosis of first-class cuisine, innovative event ideas and unique flair directly on the bay of Spiez. Spoil yourself and enjoy the spectacular view on the Lake Thun and the Panorama of the Alps of Bernese Oberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Swiss Quality Spiez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing