We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Chiasso”
Review of Hotel Garni Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Centro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chiasso
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Chiasso”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staying a few nights at the Garni Centro Hotel was a perfectly comfortable and relaxing experience! The newly renovated rooms are impeccably clean, modern, quiet and comfortable (air conditioning, high speed Internet access, comfortable bed).

The owner and his staff are warm and friendly and will make you feel very welcome and special. They will meet even the smallest request with grace and make your stay most pleasant. The breakfast is fresh and abundant, if you're used to italian style breakfast. You can enjoy your morning cappucino at the terrace in summer time. Great location with perfect service.

The hotel right in the centre of the town and easy to reach, just a few minutes from shops, railway station and highway exit. There's a direct coach service from Milan airport, which is very conveninent if you're not travelling by car. This is a good place to stop, whether you’re visiting Lugano or the Milan area, or just passing through on your way to Italy. I highly recommend this cozy bed and breakfast business travelers, families or anyone travelling in the area.

All the best to Matteo, Barbara and the other staff, keep up the excellent work!

Room Tip: All rooms have air conditioning. Ask for a room on the inside, if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjukka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
20
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Staying at the garni centro with my family for a few days was fantastic! Matteo the owner is an absolute gentleman, will go out of his way for you at any opportunity! He is also fantastic with kids and will make it his aim to ensure that your stay is as easy and enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The staff was excellent, the accommodations cozy & the delicious breakfast included. We have been here several times & plan to keep coming back. Air conditioning comfort is always appreciated during the summer!

Room Tip: The terrace rooms offer a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Matteo & Barbara made our stay in Chiasso the best stopover of our holiday. Both were so friendly and helpful and exceeded normal expectations to make our stay the best so far in Switzerland. Newly renovated rooms very clean, modern, quiet, comfortable and right in the centre of town. Matteo and Barbara even did our washing which was very much appreciated. We highly recommend this lovely hotel in Chiasso.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

There's nothing we didn't like about this hotel! Matteo & his staff were impeccably accomodating, respectful and kind with us. The recently renovated room where we stayed had simulated parquet floors, spotlessly clean, goose-down comforters & linens and was immaculately clean. Also included in your stay is a lovely breakfast buffet - with a wide variety of items to choose from. Everywhere we needed to go was within an 8-minute walk . . .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraAnne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I went to this hotel for business trip on May 2013. This is a very good hotel with good localisation ( 10 min from como lake ( by car) and 10 minutes from chiasso rail station (by foot), honnest price and moreover they reserve you a perfect welcome; All the team is nice and available for the customer. I especially thankx matteo ( the manager) for his welcome and his personality. Continue like this you re in the good way !! i warmly recomend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms which not givenon the streer are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenoitMaillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed at the Garni Centro Hotel for 5 nights in November 2012. This wonderful hotel is located in the center of Chiasso and 10-15 minutes from the train station. Directly from the veranda there is great overlooking the mountains on either side of the hotel. Inside the beautiful interior, clean and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and most important – very friendly staff (Matteo, you are the best!). In the future trips to Chiasso I will stay only at Matteo’s place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiasso
0.3 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Touring
2.8 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Conca Bella
Hotel Conca Bella
#1 of 1 in Vacallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Centro

Property: Hotel Garni Centro
Address: corso San Gottardo 80 | (ingresso da Via G. Verdi), Chiasso 6830, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Chiasso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chiasso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing