We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting...”
Review of Hotel Garni Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garni Centro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chiasso
Reviewed 26 October 2013

There aren't too many hotels in Chiasso, at least not too many reviewed in TA.
So, choosing from a very small pool and based on TA photos and reviews, we paid what we thought was a lot of money (for two elderly retirees) for a two night stay at the Hotel Garni Centro. Including city taxes, our bill was CH256, or E208. This included a light buffet breakfast and in-room WiFi.

On arrival in Chiasso it was dark and raining heavily, so even though the hotel was only a short walk away, we took a taxi. And then we saw it through the rain - a slightly dilapidated office block, with the hotel accommodation on one floor. There were vacant shops and offices along from the hotel entrance which added to a "run-down" look. Luckily it was not yet 7pm since that is when Reception formally closes. Check-in was smooth and a multilingual young man carried our bags to our room.

On opening the door, we were a little dismayed to find it did not look like the photos on TA. Specifically, there was no carpet on the floor, nor rugs. The lighting was a desk lamp, switchable from the door. There was only one bed-side table with a small reading lamp. The chairs and luggage support were plastic, and the TV was a small screen LCD model set for analog reception even though we found digital reception was available. There was an air-conditioner but no remote control - since we were warm enough we didn't follow this up. The en-suite was small but functional, with a panel heater near the shower recess which didn't seem to work on demand - it may have been programmed. The only power socket in the bathroom we discovered at the end of the fluorescent light fitting - this took my wife a while to find! Overall, everything was clean enough and the beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was a cold buffet, adequate but not a lot of choice. Again, the photos on TA flatter the room and its furnishings because to us, it was more like a school refectory than a hotel. In fact, given the limited opening hours of Reception, the hotel was more like an upmarket back-packers' hostel - apart from the price.

But it would be churlish of me not to point out the best aspect of the hotel , and that is the helpfulness of the staff. In fact, my wife damaged her knee while out walking and the manager very kindly offered to run us to the station in his car, an offer gratefully accepted.

So, summing up: While spartan, the room was clean and we did get a good night's sleep, and the staff and management were polite and helpful. But as an elderly retired couple, it wasn't what we were expecting for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnceBittenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Staying a few nights at the Garni Centro Hotel was a perfectly comfortable and relaxing experience! The newly renovated rooms are impeccably clean, modern, quiet and comfortable (air conditioning, high speed Internet access, comfortable bed).

The owner and his staff are warm and friendly and will make you feel very welcome and special. They will meet even the smallest request with grace and make your stay most pleasant. The breakfast is fresh and abundant, if you're used to italian style breakfast. You can enjoy your morning cappucino at the terrace in summer time. Great location with perfect service.

The hotel right in the centre of the town and easy to reach, just a few minutes from shops, railway station and highway exit. There's a direct coach service from Milan airport, which is very conveninent if you're not travelling by car. This is a good place to stop, whether you’re visiting Lugano or the Milan area, or just passing through on your way to Italy. I highly recommend this cozy bed and breakfast business travelers, families or anyone travelling in the area.

All the best to Matteo, Barbara and the other staff, keep up the excellent work!

Room Tip: All rooms have air conditioning. Ask for a room on the inside, if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marjukka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Staying at the garni centro with my family for a few days was fantastic! Matteo the owner is an absolute gentleman, will go out of his way for you at any opportunity! He is also fantastic with kids and will make it his aim to ensure that your stay is as easy and enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The staff was excellent, the accommodations cozy & the delicious breakfast included. We have been here several times & plan to keep coming back. Air conditioning comfort is always appreciated during the summer!

Room Tip: The terrace rooms offer a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Matteo & Barbara made our stay in Chiasso the best stopover of our holiday. Both were so friendly and helpful and exceeded normal expectations to make our stay the best so far in Switzerland. Newly renovated rooms very clean, modern, quiet, comfortable and right in the centre of town. Matteo and Barbara even did our washing which was very much appreciated. We highly recommend this lovely hotel in Chiasso.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

There's nothing we didn't like about this hotel! Matteo & his staff were impeccably accomodating, respectful and kind with us. The recently renovated room where we stayed had simulated parquet floors, spotlessly clean, goose-down comforters & linens and was immaculately clean. Also included in your stay is a lovely breakfast buffet - with a wide variety of items to choose from. Everywhere we needed to go was within an 8-minute walk . . .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraAnne888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I went to this hotel for business trip on May 2013. This is a very good hotel with good localisation ( 10 min from como lake ( by car) and 10 minutes from chiasso rail station (by foot), honnest price and moreover they reserve you a perfect welcome; All the team is nice and available for the customer. I especially thankx matteo ( the manager) for his welcome and his personality. Continue like this you re in the good way !! i warmly recomend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms which not givenon the streer are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenoitMaillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiasso
0.3 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Touring
0.9 mi away
Residenza XX Settembre
Residenza XX Settembre
#1 of 1 in Maslianico
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Borgo Vecchio
#1 of 2 in Chiasso
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bahnhof Haus
Bahnhof Haus
#1 of 2 in Chiasso
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Centro

Address: corso San Gottardo 80 | (ingresso da Via G. Verdi), Chiasso 6830, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Chiasso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chiasso
Price Range: £77 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing