We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second year...twice as good.”
Review of Hotel Bergsonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bergsonne
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rigi Kaltbad
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is our second visit to Rigi Kaltbad and where else do you stay than with Willy and Dorly at Hotel Bergsonne? (see my prevous review from 2012... It's still all true).

In addition to everything I said from the last review, we were given an amazing room. If you have 3 or 4 people in your party, get room 31! Sleeps 4 in two rooms on the top floor AND (insert dramatic pause here) it has a private terrace! Easily the best room we have had in a long time.

The waitstaff have figured out a universal truth; "Make my kid happy. Make me happy." The first dinner at The Bergsonne, towards the end of the meal, the waitress took my 11 year old daughter into the kitchen. Upon returning, she had in her hand the largest ice cream sundae. She made my daughter feel great throughout both meals during she was working. The male waiter was great with my daughter, too. He just had a problem hearing the word "no". At the last dinner, we told him that my daughter just wanted the pasta and the dessert. We were a little surprised when scaled-down versions of the soup and the salad arrived. After dinner, he asked if we wanted to eat breakfast on the terrace. We replied that it would be too cold. He told us that it wouldn't be too cold and we would be just fine eating outside. We ate inside.

All-in-all a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Get room 31
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bergsonne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Paradise.
We have been returning to Hotel Bergsonne annually for over 20 years, and have been recommending it whenever a friend asks: " we have just three days in Switzerland , what do you recommend ? "
We originally discovered this hidden away gem when it was a member of Relais du Silence.
It is very quiet, and like other members, very unique and family owned and operated.
Several other Trip Advisor reviews mention the dining. It is truly gourmet. Very inventive. Elegant yet informal.

The views are spectacular. In a country with thousands of terrific viewpoints, we think the view from Hotel Bergsonne is the best. Over the Vierwaldstattersee ( lake of luzerne ), then to the highest peaks of the Berner Oberland- Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau.

If you are seeking a brand new hotel with a giant flat screen TV, iPads by the bed , this is not your place. It is genuine old authentic Swiss. But, it is very comfortable. Many rooms have balconies.

A new mineral spa near the hotel has everything you would expect from a famous architect in Switzerland.

The owners are charming , caring, and wonderful. Willy has an encyclopedic knowledge of the history of the Rigi. Dorly is one of the country's finest chefs. But never too busy cooking to help a guest.

In a word, this place is PARADISE. Indeed, National Geographic listed Rigi Kaltbad as one of 50 paradises on earth.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
8  Thank TourDeSuisseKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This charming old hotel is situated on the charming and historical mountain Rigi near Lucerne, Switzerland. At ca. 1500 meters above sealevel t is high enough to afford spectacular views of the Alps and Lake Lucerne below. Especially if it is foggy in the valley this makes of a pittoresque "sea of clouds" below you. The rooms are charming and old. The general feeling is rustic but comfortable. The breakfast room has a marvelous view of the Alps and lake below. The restaurant is over-priced for the quality but the room rates are not excessive for the location.

Room Tip: The higher the better but all rooms have views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_MnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What a disappointing experience. We drove for 2 hours on a beautiful day in august to have lunch at Bergsonne. At the foot of the mountain, we had to wait for 30 mins for the train to rigi kaltbad - meaning we were going to arrive at the restaurant a few minutes after 14:00 (the kitchen closing time). We called the restaurant to tell them and cancel our reservation, but they told us that we would find a solution once we got there, so there we went up the mountain. Once we got there at 14:10 though, we were told that we were too late ... The kitchen had closed 10 minutes ago.

We could only have a main course, the chef wanted to take his afternoon break. So we ordered the entrecote double from the menu ... And had to wait 45 minutes! Moreover, during these 45 minutes, we could not have a starter (not clear why - in spite of asking, even a simple salad seemed not to be possible?). The entrecote was ok at best, and our wine arrived midway during the main course.

All in all, a disappointing experience, especially for a restaurant with such a good gault millau rating.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

While it was one of the more expensive places we stayed (c'mon, you're in Switzerland...it is going to be expensive), it was easily the best all around hotel/b&b! With Dorly the genius in the kitchen and Willy out front being the consummate host, we were well fed (oh, my gosh...THE FOOD!) and welcome.

Dinners were an experience. Multi course and mind blowingly good. Dorly's soups were heaven. She made a curry soup and a tomato soup that could have been the whole meals and I would have been happy (AND they are willing to give out the recipes, too!)

The one negative actually turned into a customer service positive. Later one evening, Dorly and her kitchen staff were unwinding downstairs and a couple people were smoking. As it turns out, a good bit of smoke was making it upstairs. I came down and mentioned that is was a bit smoky upstairs and you would have thought their collective hair was on fire as quickly as they moved to put out their cigarettes!

One other thing that shows how great the service is... We had to catch a cable car down to the boat to go to the next city. We were a little short of time. Dorly insisted she drive us in the Bergsonne golf cart. Let's just say that if this chef stuff doesn't interest Dorly anymore, she could always fall back on Formula One racing! :-)

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the lake!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

good enough for repeat visits; beautiful views
(weather permitting) best food in the world!
Accommodations rather ancient but that's what
I love - quiet (except weekends). Lucern's best
kept secret.

Room Tip: mountain and lake views desirable
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schaffmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We found this hotel thanks to TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed at all!! From the moment we arrived it was incredible. The view from our rooms was absolutely spectacular. And to top it off Willy and his staff were fantastic.

Location is great...it's such a peaceful and quiet location, yet you are a train/boat ride away from Luzern and there is even a store within walking distance should you need it. Hiking trails that you can take right from the Hotel. We will definitely be back and have highly recommended Hotel Bergsonne.

Here are a couple examples of how accommodating Hotel Bergsonne is.

The airline lost all of our luggage and Willy took time to call the airline (during an extremely busy dinner service) and explain to them how they needed to get the bags to his hotel because you can't get there by car. We tried to tell them this 3 or 4 times but the cab driver didn't seem to understand you couldn't drive to the hotel so we got his number and Willy offered to call him and explain. When the bags finally arrived at 11pm via Gondola he had his staff pick them up at the Gondola and deliver them to his room.

Then on our last day our hike down to Vitznau was taking longer than expected so we called Willy and had him send out bags down on the cable car so that we could take the Boat we needed to get into Luzern in time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigi Kaltbad
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
SeeHotel Gotthard
SeeHotel Gotthard
#3 of 16 in Weggis
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#9 of 16 in Weggis
78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#11 of 16 in Weggis
419 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#4 of 16 in Weggis
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bergsonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bergsonne

Address: Fyrabigweg 1, Rigi Kaltbad 6356, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rigi Kaltbad
Price Range: £148 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bergsonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing