We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too overpriced.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marina Lachen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lachen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has a great view but far too overpriced. We stayed there for two days and breakfast was average. May never stay there again. Stayed here at the instance of a friend who lived in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinalachen, Manager at Hotel Marina Lachen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear RNPai
Thank you very much for your stay at the Marina Lachen. With regret we have noted that we haven‘t been able to offer you a perfect stay with us. We attach great importance to quality and service therefore every feedback is very important for us. Thanks to these feedbacks we can continuously improve our services. Thank you for taking the time to rate us.
Kind regards, Bettina Römer, managing director Marina Lachen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the port of Lachen and the rooms offer a stunning view over lake of Zurich. Rather modern and stylish hotel. Room was nice and spacious amd best of all: has a balcony with view over the lake. They have three restaurants, we tried th italian one which was ok.
Staff is very friendly and attentive and you get an excellent breakfast with lots of local products, from the bread to cheese, meat and even eggs!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daebischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

... is it the decor? The colour of the wallpaper that you remember? The food? or is it the friendliness of the staff? Whatever is is, this Hotel ticks the boxes for everything!

I was travelling on a road trip from Croatia with two friends and after 12 hours of driving we stopped without knowing where we were to find somewhere to sleep. I found this hotel just by driving though the town by chance and saw the glow of the sign 'Marina Hotel' in the night sky.
Bleary eyed and exhausted, I made my way through the outside dining tables which were lively with young fashionable travellers and I walked through the glass doors into the modern, clean and bright reception area.

I was greeted by two of the friendliest hotel staff I've ever encountered, who listened to my story, and went to every effort to find me suitable accommodation despite the fact that I hadn't booked, and it was high season. I explained that there were three of us who were in need of a room, and the lady took me to the Junior Suite to see if it was suitable. It was more than suitable, it was beautiful. A huge bed, emperor sized at least and a sofa large enough to sleep on. Despite me saying that this was 'perfect', she then went that extra mile and found a single bed, complete with duvet, pillow and towels for us to put in the large room for the night so that all three of us would have a bed to sleep in.


What can I say about the room and service other than 'outstanding'!

Our short stay was only made better in the morning by taking a walk downstairs through the reception into the restaurant for a delicious breakfast, and the opportunity to take in the spectacular views of the lake for the first time.

Thank you Marina, and especially thank you to the young man and young lady who were working that night, who were simply amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonno_Hewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights, in a room with a balcony overlooking the Marina.
It was gorgeous and very relaxing.
Hotel personnel treated us as First Class.
Would highly recommend this facility.
However for USA folks beware of the sticker shock. Prices are about double in regards to food and lodging in Switzerland.
However, it was worth the investment for our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Top room with balcony overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Living around the corner from the Marina, I never spent a night there. But I do enjoy the variety it offers on a regular basis: the juicy steaks, the savory pizzas in the Osteria, the delicious asian-style food at the Ox. Or a drink or just a coffee in the nice bar. Of course, all of this is even greater on a sunny day or warm evening, overlooking lake Zurich and watching the sun go down. Staff is always friendly and welcoming even when they are very busy (as it tends to get on the sunny days).

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The view of Lake Zurich is magnificent. The rooms are large and well appointed with a beautiful shower and pleasant balcony overlooking the marina. It also has 4 outstanding restaurants with a variety of cuisines.

The hotel is conveniently located in the center or town and within easy walking distance of the bus and rail lines.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

What a beautiful place to stay, only stayed for 1 night but very good, good service, and a very good restaurant Steak House, had some nice seafood and fine wine.
We will definitely go to this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trine000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lachen
2.7 mi away
Sorell Hotel Speer
Sorell Hotel Speer
#1 of 3 in Rapperswil
169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seedamm Plaza
Seedamm Plaza
#1 of 2 in Pfaeffikon
282 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rossli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Jakob
Hotel Jakob
#2 of 3 in Rapperswil
28 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Rosslipost
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Lachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Lachen

Address: Hafenstrasse 4, Lachen 8853, Switzerland (Formerly Al Porto)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Lachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lachen
Price Range: £166 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Lachen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Lachen is the experience promenade and food court at the southernmost point of Lake Zurich. The hotel, three different restaurants and a lounge bar ensure relaxing moments right by the water. However, it is not only its variety and location that make Marina Lachen attractive. You can also enjoy the personal commitment of staff and the feeling of being far from everyday life, although you are only 20 minutes by car from the business metropolis of Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marina Lachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing