We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing vacation in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lenk im Simmental
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The most relaxing vacation in a long time”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went at the beginning of January, when we really needed a time-out. An boy, a time-out we got. The pampering at the spa, the food, the drinks, the room, and everywhere: The view... A really good way to recharge your batteries.

Despite the five stars and the Gault Millau, this place is not stuffy at all. The hotel has a really casual, family-friendly feel. At the same time, couples can easily have their romantic private time here as well. Everybody's friendly, peaceful, open. Congratulations to the staff for creating this atmosphere!

The only issue we really had was at check-in: It seemed like some of the less experienced staff had been left to their own devices and didn't really know what to do. It also looked like nobody was going to take care of our car. We first got worried, but soon noticed that this was a temporary glitch and we were taken care of as expected. Also, in the room there is no iPhone/iPod/iPad hook-up for music, which is a shame. Other than that: Full-hearted recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanStillerLenk, Geschäftsführer at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Lenkerhof guests

Many thanks for your kind and positive Feedback and the time you have put into writing your experiences. We are proud to read, that you felt very well treated and had some wonderful days at Lenkerhof. We are already looking forward to welcoming you soon back. Normally, there is an i-pod/i-phone/i-pad-docking station, directly connected with the TV Sound system, unfortunatly we are not able to reenact, why the docking station was missing in your room. Please be sure, that you will find next time the docking station in your room. All the best to you and by for now.

With our best regards
Jan Stiller & Heike Schmidt and the Lenkerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    66
    28
    9
    1
See reviews for
110
444
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My best friend and I spend a girly weekend in Lenk 2 weeks ago. Traveling by train, the shouttle came to collect us at the train station, good first impression!
After that, the pampering continued all the way; from the effective and nice check in (complimentary warm chai tea included), to the check out with the personal goodbyes from the General Managers Heike and Jan!
Unfortunately, during our stay all the ski lifts and restaurants in the village were closed but we actually found enough to do at the resort. We both booked spa treatments, which were worth every cent, we joined the pilates and yoga classes (it's not mentioned on the website but they actually give complimentary classes every day!) and we enjoyed the beautiful spa and the outdoor pool.
Furthermore I need to mention the dinner, it is definitely worth to book half pension! There are 15 courses and they change every day, but whats best about it, is that you can eat as many as you want! One evening we loved the desert so much that the waitor brought us a second one :-D
Our room was very spacious (a junior suite) and had a nice balcony, but I think the next time we will book one of the new suites - because we definitely will be back!

Room Tip: a new room like the "Senior Suite"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanStillerLenk, Geschäftsführer at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Lenkerhof guests

Many thanks for your spectacular travel report. We are glad to read, that you felt happy and well pampered at our resort. Thank you indeed, having taken the time to share your experiences on tripadvisor. We are already looking forward to welcome you soon back at Lenkerhof.

In the meantime all the best to you!

With our best regards
Jan Stiller & Heike Schmidt and the Lenkerhof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our trip to Lenk was quite random. We came to catch a couple days of the Lenk Alpkulture festival and see the area. The area appears to have a very nice ski hill(s) and lots of hiking opportunities, but we were only there a couple of days and it was shoulder season (fresh snow both nights).

Everyone at the Lenkerhof spoke very good english. Most businesses in town spoke english, and I'm certain the ones that didn't speak it, did understand. My German stinks, so I can't blame them for not wanting to talk to me. ;)

This was a 'couples' trip and we just wanted to spend some time together. The service at the Lenkerhof was top-notch, and the evening meal was excellent. If you have any reason to go to Lenk, this is a great top-end place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McIntosh_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanStillerLenk, Manager at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate it and thank you for having taken the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at the Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort.

We hope you stop by on your next trip in the Bernese Oberland.

Kind regards,

Jan Stiller & Heike Schmidt
and the Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This should be a 5***** Hotel as they say. The Director Mr. Stiller is quite friendly, but not a Hotelier. The room's are veeery small and the Service is typical Bern. When you go to Gstaad Palace you know what I mean with the difference. The food was very good, the SPA was nice. But the Service - the people - really strange. I stayed in a lot of 5***** Hotels all over the world, but this is really only a 4**** Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sammarste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanStillerLenk, Manager at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in our hotel.
We are sorry to read that you felt our service to be bad, we do pride ourselves on delivering only the best and most personalized service to our guests as you will see from the countless comments here on Tripadvisor so to read that we have failed on this occasion saddens us.
It is true that the Lenkerhof by nature differs in some ways from many of the more established 5 star hotels of the Bernese Oberland. At the Lenkerhof we and many of our regular guests feel this to be one of the charms of our hotel and our ability to provide something very unique amongst Switzerland 5 star hotels has won us many fans and regular guests over the years that the Lenkerhof has opened its doors as a hotel.
We were audited by "Hotellerie Suisse" this year. Again we met all the criteria and are classified 5 ***** superior. We would have liked to know what you are missing in our hotel? Maybe you were surprised by the spirit of our house. The young and relaxed atmosphere of our hotel is what makes the difference. This does not prevent us to provide our customers a superior service. Concerning the room size, our standard double rooms are 28m2, which is above average in our category and higher categories are up to 99 m2.
We think your expectations of a classical 5 stars hotel may have added to your disappointment and in reading your reference to your previous hotel stay, this being your hotel preference, the uncomplicted atmosphere may have counted against us. None the less, I am sorry that the Lenkerhof was not a match.
Whilst we can see that the other classical 5 stars hotels are your firm favourite we do hope that you will consider trying us on another occasion and sample a higher room category.
Once again, my sincere apologies for your disappointment and hope that your next visit to the Bernese Oberland finds a more satisfying experience.

Kind Regards

Jan Stiller & Heike Schmidt
and the Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We returned for the third time to this hotel and as always the welcome and service was top.
As it was the off season and the occupancy not so high, we felt there were savings made - for instance not one candle was lit in the evening in the lobby and bar area, although pretty cold weather outside, not fire was made in the bar. Du to this the atmosphere was not welcoming and we did not sit down as on previous occasions for an apero. We always enjoyed the food - but sadly not on this occasion. The food of the new chef Andreas Haseloh is surely creative, but far too playful and too stingy. When chicken is on the menu - one should find the chicken on the plate when served. We had to ask where is the chicken? And, we heard other clients asking the same. This is the same with most courses, you wait a long time for a dish, just to be presented with some tiny creation which is eaten in 2 minutes. The previous chef Jan Leimbach had the portioning perfectly under control and balanced. Still, the hotel is overall great and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerlan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Echo other reviews. It was one of the best weekends i have ever has staying at a resort:
The combination of the gourmet food (eat as many of the 15 courses you can fit in); amazing wellness area ;top notch staff; beautiful hiking and beautiful hotel.
Do not hesitate to treat yourself, it's worth every dollar! I would give it 10 out of 5 if i could.
They also upgraded us to a superior suite on arrival!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NazDak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

To start off the welcome was fantastic and the personnel charming. The room had everything you could wish for without being particularly luxurious. The food was amazing and beautifully presented. Breakfast was all you could wish for - lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, muesli, various breads, croissants, smoked salmon, meats, cheese - etc etc! The area is lovely - typically swiss with lots of chalets and farms. You could take tele-cabins up the mountains or as we did go from the hotel on a beautiful walk in the countryside and along the River Simme to the Simmenfälle waterfall - stunning. When you get back a massage or a lounge in or around the thermal pools is great! A really beautiful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank readytogoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenk im Simmental
6.5 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
819 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
398 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Simmenhof
Hotel Simmenhof
#3 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
78 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
527 reviews
7.9 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort

Property: Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Address: Badstrasse 20 | Postfach 241, Lenk im Simmental 3775, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Lenk im Simmental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
#1 Green Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
#1 Spa Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lenkerhof in Lenk close to Gstaad features a wide range of up-to-date wellness facilities including indoor and outdoor pools, saunas, steam baths and jacuzzis.You can unwind in the open-air sulphur pool, enjoy a massage, bathe in the music tub, or simply indulging in a beauty treatment.Fine à-la-carte Mediterranean or Swiss cuisine with a French touch is served in the restaurant. Combined with the stunning views from the winter garden you will enjoy a great dining experience. Wine tasting is offered from 18:00 to 18:30.The exclusively furnished rooms in the Lenkerhof Alpine Resort provide for a peaceful night's rest. The alcohol-free drinks at the minibar are free of charge.Private indoor parking is subject to a charge. Free parking outdoors is available as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenkerhof Alpine Hotel Lenk-Simmental
Lenkerhof Gourmet Spa Resort Switzerland/Lenk Im Simmental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing