We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run good value!”
Review of Hotel Roc et Neige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Roc et Neige
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well run good value!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Five star hotels don't exist in Chateau d'Oex so you are not looking at top end stuff here, but once you accept that, the staff at Roc et Neige cannot be faulted on their friendliness and willingness to help. The room was clean and comfy enough, the bathroom small but perfectly functional. Breakfast was buffet style and in line with expectations, certainly no need to go hungry. No restaurant, but drinks from the bar on demand. The view is drop dead gorgeous however!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, Gérant at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Rosemary R
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving us a great one! We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you come back and see us all soon.
Victoria Lowther and the team at Hotel Roc et Neige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    57
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
55
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here during the Balloon Festival and found the room comfortable and quiet. The breakfast had a great choice of breads and other items. The people were outstandingly helpful and friendly! Everyone went out of his way to make our stay memorable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyndygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, Manager at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Wyndygal
Thank you for your great review and comments. We are really pleased you had a great stay during the fantastic Balloon Festival!
Please come back for more fun and more breakfast very soon.
Warmest wishes from Switzerland
Vicki Lowther and the Team at Roc et Niege
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just back from a short break at hotel roc et neige, we were greeted warmly by Vicky the manager who came out to meet our bus as it arrived. The room was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. We had a modern flat screen tv with full satellite package in case we got fed up looking at the fantastic views from our room. The menu was really good and the food was absolutely delicious using locally produced cheeses and other products. My only problem was I didn't have more time there to explore the area. It really was a great value holiday and I would recommend it to anyone. It was lovely to see Vicky and her staff all turn out to wave us off at the end of our stay, even though the temperature was -8, they stayed and waved till we left.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, Manager at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Dorothy1973
Thank you for your 5 star review and lovely comments. We are really please you had a great stay and enjoyed your Holiday. Please come back again and see us soon.
With warmest wishes from a now +27 degrees Château d'Oex :-)
Vicki Lowther and all the team at Roc et Neige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bojnice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I love it .specially the village of rossinierr and it's kind people .I can't believe there is such a paradise on earth.I and my fiance are determined to go there for the next summer too because the prices are very logical and good.the hotel is the best place in château De aux.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lossiendeanett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, Manager at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lossiendeanett
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great stay in the hotel.
Please come back to visit our paradise soon.
With warmest wishes, Vicki Lowther and the team at Roc et Neige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hi
I cant believe we have been back from our wonderful Swiss Alpine Glories Holiday with Newmarket holidays
Myself and 5 friends.
We had a great time ,What a stunning country.
We stayed at the Hotel Roc de Neige in Chateau D-Oex. It was a very nice hotel, basic but traditional warm and comfortable.
The rooms were clean with nice bright bedding and very comfortable beds.and stunning views from out rooms
The staff were all lovely and friendly and Vicky the manager so helpful nothing was too much trouble for her .
The food was very good, lovely breakfasts with a good choice, 3 Course evening meals with 2 choices of main meals which were all excelent and freshly cooked. One evening we had Bernese sausages and I enjoyed them so much I asked Vicky where I could buy some and she ordered me some from her butcher, that's what I call excellent service.
One couple were celebrating their Golden wedding Anniversary and Vicky and her staff decorated their table and brought out a delicious cake for them as a suprise , How lovely was that.
I wouldnt hesitate to return , I would love to go again in the winter.

Kind regards
Sue Howard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, Manager at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Susan H
Thank you for your 5 star review, it was great to read it! We are really please you had a great Holiday and enjoyed our food and service. I hope the sausages tasted just as good at home too. Please come back and visit us and the mountains soon.
Warmest Swiss wishes, Vicki Lowther and the team at Roc et Neige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just returned from a five night break and our first experience of Newmarket Holidays to Hotel Roc et Neige. The general organisation and planning by Newmarket and execution by Roger was superb with a good range of excursions offered to very interesting locations.
The hotel was a delight with a traditional style of accommodation not luxurious as befits a 3 star rating but spotlessly clean and well maintained.

However the real stars of this experience were the staff who were always smiling and exceptionally helpful. Victoria, the manager, led by example and was a perfect role model for anybody wishing to make a career in the hospitality industry, she certainly charmed us.

The food was also a very pleasant surprise with substantial and wide ranging breakfast options to start the day but our evenings were really made by the the range of imaginative options created by the ever smiling and helpful Charlie the wonderful chef.

Newmarket will hopefully re-introduce this hotel to their future programmes.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer wonderful views of the village and surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, Manager at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear PeterDeasy
Thank you so much for your lovely review and especially nice comments about our team here. We will certainly pass your comments on to Roger and Newmarket Holidays too.
We hope to see you back in Château d'Oex soon. Warmest wishes from Switzerland.
Vicki Lowther and the team at Roc et Neige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just returned from our holiday this week. The hotel is a traditional chalet style with rooms connected by covered walkways.. Our room was on the top floor and had great views. The room was spacious and cosy. Everything was spotless. The bathroom was a bit dated but very clean and was fine for our needs. . The holiday which was arranged by Newmarket was excellent value for money as it included an evening meal and buffet breakfast. We would like to thank Charlie and her staff for the delicious home cooked food. The menu was varied and every night was a real treat for us. The staff at this hotel are so friendly and made you feel very welcome.
We had a lovely holiday and would like to thank Vicky and her staff for their hospitality. We would recommend this hotel for a comfortable and relaxing stay

Room Tip: the top floor rooms have great views.Very quiet location with cowbells to be heard in the fields nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinodog m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelR736, General Manager at Hotel Roc et Neige, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear dinodog m
Thank you for your 5 star review we are very grateful and glad you had a great time on Holiday here, and enjoyed chef Charlies food too! We hope you will come back and see us again.
Warmest Swiss wishes, Vicki and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-d'Oex
0.3 mi away
Ermitage
Ermitage
#5 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Ville
Hotel de Ville
#2 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rosaly
B&B Rosaly
#3 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#2 of 2 in Rossiniere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
6.3 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#17 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc et Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc et Neige

Property: Hotel Roc et Neige
Address: route des Monnaires 46, Chateau-d'Oex 1660, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chateau-d'Oex
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc et Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Roc et Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing