We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice - highlight of our trip!”
Review of Boardercamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boardercamp
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Laax
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I was with a group of 6 who stayed at Boardercamp in mid March 09 for 3 nights. To be clear, Boardercamp has two lodging options: a hostel and a large group dormitory. We stayed in the hostel.

Djambo, the owner, was a very accommodating and knowledgeable host. He was an excellent correspondent via email prior to our trip. He provided rental skis to us for a reasonable price so all we had to rent at the mountain were boots. He also provided discounted multi-day lift tickets. We arrived late the first night and he still served us dinner. He requires electronic funds transfer to secure a reservation and that suprised me and worried me a little. But once we arrived and I got a feel for the place and for Djambo I had no worries at all and it worked out perfectly.

Mostly Germans were staying there and all the guests were extremely friendly and sociable. Hanging out in the common room was a very pleasant way to spend our evenings - which was nice b/c otherwise you'd have to drive about ten minutes to Laax to reach nightlife.

Breakfast was coffee/tea, cereal, meat, cheese, bread and some fruit. And yes you can make a sandwich or two for the slopes if you like.

All 3 dinners were excellent. They accommodated our vegetarian with a tasty option too. Dinner is served in a restaurant about a 5 minute walk from the hostel. Although one night for dinner we enjoyed cheese fondue in the hostel.

Free wireless internet so feel free to bring a laptop. Bedding is provided but you should bring your own towel if possible.

The hostel has 2 or 3 bathrooms so sometimes there is a wait for showers - par for the course with hostels. The bathrooms were very clean. We slept in bunk beds, a 4-bed room and a 2-bed room.

I can happily say that all 6 of us REALLY enjoyed this place and the people that we met there. If you enjoy hostelling, I highly recommend paying Djambo a visit at Boardercamp. It also didn't hurt our experience that the snow and ski conditions in Laax/Flims were amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnocchi_sorrentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2009

I arrived at BoarderCamp, not having a clue what it was all about. My girlfirend had been before, but at a different time of year (March).

6 of us had flown to Zurich from Luton, and trained it from the airport, to the local station of Rueun, which is about 30 metres from Boardercamp's front door. The journey was easy, as the Swiss train system is light years ahead of the English one, and is both clean, safe, and realitively cheap in comparison. Yes lugging all the gear can be tiresome, but made easier by the concise time and platform details printed out for you when you purchase your ticket. Obviously hiring a car is an option, and I was told Rueun is arount 1 hours from Zurich.

So we arrived, and what did we find? Yes, as you can imagine, we found a quiet little Swiss village a few miles from the slopes of Laax. This though is what we wanted. We were on a budget, and we knew it wouldn't be bright lights and nightclubs, so it was perfect for us.

Entering Boardercamp, we found it quiet, as we expected people, were out boarding or skiing. We were greeted with the smell of good cooking, and a very clean large house. We found Djambo who runs Boardercamp and he pointed us to our rooms. Here myself and my girlfriend struck lucky, and got a room with two very comfy single beds pushed together, wardrobe, sink, and balcony. The rest of the party got a room with bunks. The rooms seem to be mostly bunked, with two large upstairs rooms containing around 10 single beds. As Djambo says on his website 'don't expect luxury', which we didn't. What we got was very comfy and functional bedding, enough room to stash our gear, and cleanliness at all times, which was kept up by residence staying there. Boardercamp supplies pillows and clean sheets, but you are required to bring a sleeping bag or duvex.

So after unpacking our gear we joined Djambo in the main dining area, to introduce ourselves, and to buy 'beer cards'. The system in Boardercamp is to buy a card for 25CHF, and then take beer, cider, coke out of the well stocked fridge in the kitchen and mark off the value on the card. This is a trust system which worked for us, and everybody else from what I could see. Obviously theres the option to buy your own from the supermarket, but why bother when the fridge is permanantly stocked with cheap and very tasty German beer.

Dinner arrives 5 minutes after Djambo sounds the air-horn at around 18:00, and is very good food indeed. When you think what you have paid, its hard to see how such good food is served every night and morning. Dinner starts with a soup that changes everyday, followed by a small salad, followed by a main of meat and potatos, spagetti bol, curry, chilli or other good dishes. This is followed by a varied dessert. From our pack that included fussy eaters, vegetarians, and non-beef eaters, there wasn't a single moan. Says it all really!

After dinner, people either slip off for a shower, have a sleep, or go to their rooms, but usually return for a good social, and drink in the dining room. The other option is slip away to the sofa's, table football, or table tennis. All of which were in exceptional working order.

As this is a hostel, you can imagine that things go on quite late, and being the Christmas week they did. This was never a problem even at my grand age of 33. But it should be expected over the Christmas period. There was never any problems from what I could see, and nearly everyone of the 90-or-so residence got on or were respectful enough not to annoy others. All behaved in a very good manner, which wouldn't (I feel) be the same in the UK. After the new year things were more relaxed, as people had either burnt-out or had partied elsewhere before arriving.

On New Years Eve, Djambo and his team went to the effort of building a snow bar outside, supplied entertainment in the form of a fire dancer, and music, and also supplied Gluvine (mulled wine), which was very nice in the -15c temps. After this and as another extra we were given a very welcomed bowl of chilli! To make it even more perfect it snowed heavy at midnight - awesome!!

You think after a good drink and social most nights, there'd be walking wounded laying around the corridors the next day?!? Not a chance! People were up and moving around briskly at 8 am ready for a good breakfast. Breakfast consisted of freshly sliced bread, butter, jam, meats, cheese, cereal, tea, coffee, milkshake.... and more. All unlimited. You're even allowed to make your own lunch and bag it up for the slopes out of it.

The ride to the slopes was a coach, due I think to the shear numbers. This took around 10 minutes. It arrived at around 9am and either collected us at 16:30 or 17:00, which was arranged on the coach during the trip.

Ski or board all day on the fantastic slopes or parks, and repeat....

We never got bored of the camp, and its characters, in the 11 nights we stayed, and I doubt you will either.

Don't go there with a bad attitude though, and don't expected everybody to be British. The crowd is mixed, but is mostly German, who luckily were happy to converse in English with us. We met Swiss, Canadians, and New Zealanders though. It may help if you know a few polite'tisms though, like Hello, morning, and thanks in German. It helps.

Had a throughly enjoyable and brilliant time, meet some great people, and at a fraction of the cost of a hotel holiday in Laax.

Will return next year for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank London_Scotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank kampffisch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1893MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galeazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: im großen Haus (Rueun): Zimmer in der 1. Etage buchen, da es dort leiser ist im "kleinen"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laax hotels
6.6 mi away
Riders
Riders
#5 of 10 in Laax
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
rocksresort
rocksresort
#1 of 10 in Laax
149 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Bellaval
Hotel Bellaval
#2 of 10 in Laax
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Capricorn Hostel
Capricorn Hostel
#2 of 4 in Laax
21 reviews
6.4 mi away
signinahotel
signinahotel
#3 of 10 in Laax
158 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mountain Hostel
Mountain Hostel
#7 of 10 in Laax
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardercamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardercamp

Address: Rueun, Laax 7156, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Laax
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Laax
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel/Youth Hostel ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing